We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but somewhat overpriced”
Review of Horizon Blu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Blu
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The resort is relatively new (2014) and is located right across from the Kalamata boardwalk, with easy access to the sea (and with its own swimming pool, of course). Some of the rooms have their own private swimming pools. The breakfast was a bit lacking for a 5-star restaurant - the selection can be much nicer. But overall the staff is extremely helpful, and the rooms are nice and modern. 4 out of 5 stars as it is overpriced for its location in the south of Peloponnese but with a relative lack of similar resorts in this part of Greece, would probably stay here again if given a choice. Excellent dinner at the hotel restaurant - delicious choices such as watermelon with goat cheese, or risotto with squid ink.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tewin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

This was olur first trip to Kalamata and we were looking for a place to rest and enjoy. The breakfast wAs perfect, the room we stayed was perfect, room services, beach and bar services were also great. If we ever go back to Kalamata this will be the place for us again. Thanks for everything.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Drufukbasoglusonmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I have stayed at a few hotels in Kalamata over the last two years and I can easily say this is the best hotel along the strip. I think the communication and service from the staff have improved significantly from my last trip last year and the cleanliness and attention to detail is to be commended.

I had a pool room which was quite expensive but I did book late for Aug 2017, there were better deals to be had if I would have booked earlier in the year. The room was very homely, with a bath and a shower with high quality toiletries. An abundance of towels and bedding was available; with a mini fridge and flat screen tv.

A special mention has to be raised for the bed, which was extremely soft and comfortable, an absolute joy to pass out on every evening. When I say extremely comfortable, “I mean very very soft topper and pillows” this maybe an issue for some guest?

Having your own personal plunge pool is a luxury everyone should experience at least once, it’s just so nice to cool down in a pool 5 steps away from your bed – the height of indulgence.

Salmon burger, Beef/bacon burger, Any salad, The fruit cocktail, Chocolate soufflé & ice cream, A la Carte Menu, Italian night, just to list a few of the superb offerings from the pretty limited menu but fabulously tasty, and that’s not including the Greek dishes which are obviously fantastic. In fact everywhere we sat down to eat in Kalamata, the food was incredible.

The views from all the venues’ we visited are also breath taking, whether you’re on the beach looking up, or in the mountains looking down into the bay.

On the whole, Kalamata is where the Greek people go on holiday, and if it’s good enough for them, it’s good enough for me and you too…

Room Tip: The private pool rooms are pricey but very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mar3cus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We went to the Horizon Blue earlier in August at a very busy time for the area but we never felt pressed or hurried either in the hotel or the beach.
The rooms are very tasteful (we had a standard room) and all have very good views and a spacious balcony. The bed and pillows were very comfy and the cupboard space plentiful with a good safe
The bathroom had a bathtub and a separate shower. The latter was a bit enclosed and had a slight musty smell but water pressure was excellent. Toiletries were good but not 5-star standard
Air-conditioning was superb
The dining area is at the front towards the beach but right on the main road which makes it a bit noisy (same holds for the bar area)
Breakfast was nice but not superb
The bar was very nice and drinks reasonably priced and well made.
The beach was surprisingly nice with good service for drinks and snacks. Towels were provided and were good. I would have liked slightly larger umbrellas for better shading.Despite being on the main road the beach is relaxed and the water very clean and refreshing.
Wifi was very good in the rooms and reasonable in public places even on the beach.

The hotel is about 10Km from the local airport and has loads of parking spaces. It is very well located for the many excursion options in Messinia and beyond

I would happily recommend this lovely hotel and I would definitely stay again. It just needs a few more touches to make it a true 5-star experience

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so just go for it. Some rooms have small private swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

An amazing stay. The room was large and airy, and really clean as the maids cleaned it twice a day. It was really close to the sea as well as Kalamata town. The staff was really polite and helpful and made our stay very pleasant. The tv was excellent as well and had all the main Greek channels as well as a lot of foreign language ones. The breakfast, lunch, and dinners in the hotel were also great. Overall, would definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank CassiopeiaBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
0.6 km away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
450 reviews
1.2 km away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
408 reviews
3.5 km away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#9 of 21 in Kalamata
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Pharae Palace
Pharae Palace
#2 of 21 in Kalamata
284 reviews
4.2 km away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
5.1 km away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Blu

Address: 1 217 Navarinou Str & P.Karakousi | Karakousi 1, Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Price Range: $125 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Horizon Blu 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel on the waterfront promenade of vibrant Kalamata, Horizon Blu 5*, combines a great location, contemporary design, exquisite services and a wealth of facilities suitable for all travellers, business or pleasure. This unique "city resort" is the ideal year-round base for one to explore the marvels of the unspoiltMessinia region, conduct a business meeting or just unwind by one of the pools of the complex. The low-rise architecture is based on the water element, blending the sea views with an array of free flow water features, cascades and a large fresh water pool taking advantage of the ever-present greek sunny skies. The hotel's array of indoor or outdoor lounges and sundecks is limitless for everyone to find his personal corner to relax. Sunbeds and umbrellas are available by the pools and on the sandy beach. All 38 spacious rooms and suites are elegantly designed to give a "laid-back resort" feeling and are equipped with every facility to make the guests stay comfortable. Some of the rooms have their own private pools and all feature large open balconies or terraces with superb sea views. All room types feature: Balcony or terrace with views and outdoor furniture, Modern Bath with Bathtub and Shower, Sitting area, Plush duvets &contoured natural Cocomatmattresses, choice of pillows, individually controlled temperature A/C, Direct dial telephone, HD LED TV with Satellite and Music channels, Mini bar, Safe deposit box (can hold laptop), Tea & Coffee making facilities, luxury toiletries, bathrobes & slippers, magnifying mirror, hairdryer, complimentary WIFI A wealthy but healthy breakfast is served daily in the breakfast lounge overlooking the bay, based on the local produce and a warm "kalimera" from attentive staff. For a quick sip of coffee, a juicy cocktail by the sea or pool, for snacks or late drinks, guests have the choice of the Lobby Cafe or the Pool Bar. Lunch by the sea or a more elaborate ala carte dinner is served by the pool in the Beach Restaurant. The menu is carefully prepared to include all quality local and Mediterranean delicacies with a twist of creativity by our chefs, overseen and signed by the well-awarded Chef EttoreBotrini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Horizon Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing