We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waipu Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strathaven(Waipu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
22
28
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
28
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful beachfree laundrystayed herewaipu covebed roomone bedroom unitshort walk to the beachheated poolthe kitchengreat spotdiannaspaunitsdishwasherfacilitiesfurnitureaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We were really pleased with the unit size at this motel and so well set out. Nice sitting area, the kitchen had all the equipment we needed, even a colander which you don't get in most places. The toilet and shower looked like it had been upgraded fairly recently and the bed room was roomy, bed comfortable. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and free washing and drying.
Only downside was our next door neighbour, both of whom smoked and this prevented us from sitting outside on the lovely patio. The smoke also drifted into our bedroom. Shame about this.
Very helpful having the convenience store next door!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank suesalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for your great review and my apologies for the smokers next door. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the pools and the location and maybe get to see you both again some time. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

waipu cove resort

We have been in waipu cove resort couple of time. Location is nice the restaurant over the road is amazing it's close to the beach and have a swimming pool.

The big downside is the cheep and nasty beds that are not appropriate to this cost of accommodation, the beds are what you expect when you go to a backpack
We have been in room 6 previously and last time at unit 10 that is a 2 bedroom

The quality of the beds in both rooms that we have been news on acceptable for this type of accommodation cost $280 per night.

The beds are having very cheap mattress that is extremely soft and uncomfortable. I and up sleeping on the couch
See photos.

The property manager Dianna Enckevort did try but failed to resolve the issue.

Base on that We would no be coming here anymore and wouldn't recommend for this stage unit the old beds will be upgraded

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Goren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hello Goren,
Thank you for your review and sorry the beds were unsuitable for you.
For your information Room 6 had and has a new medium motel super king bed when you stayed and no comment was made re comfort to us at that stage. A 2 week survey was put in place on the bed you found uncomfortable in the 2 bedroom apartment and the only comment made was that a larger bed would be nice, comfort passed. We also asked your wife who slept in it at the time and she said it was great for her.
A new Queen bed however was approved just prior Christmas and has been ordered and awaiting delivery to replace the double to obtain the larger size.
It is quite obvious you like to have a hard bed, and we only wish the beds were adjustable but alas are not.
Beds are a personal preference and always reminds me of Goldilocks and The Three Bears story. We find balancing hard and soft with a medium is all we are able to do.
The complex has replaced and is continuing to replace the older beds as we feel double beds are no longer acceptable.
As per pricing for a 2 Bedroom fully self contained apartment, partially serviced daily, FREE WIFI, FREE Guest Laundry, Heated Swimming Pool, Direct beach access, Cafe Bar Restaurant and Convenience store all within walking distance a cost of $280 in the high season, equating to $70 per person would not be called overpriced. We do not advertise ourselves as a Luxury Resort, which we have also never proclaimed to be.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

There were 7 of us. The rooms and beds were comfortable. We had a good time in the pool and spa. The dampener was the manager was not exactly welcoming. If you have more than two cars in the group it pays to check in advance if there will be secure parking for all the vehicles.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank stephenf545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Thank you for your review. The Resort can only park 1 vehicle per apartment and this is mentioned on all our booking sites and confirmations. However extra vehicles can be parked on the road verge which is generally secure. High occupancy is only through the peak summer season and the rest of year parking of more vehicles is not normally an issue, but should be checked with us first. We apologise that you took this as unwelcoming. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We had a great time in Waipu Cove Resort.
The appartments are super clean and very well equiped. Easy to make your own meals. Dishwasher and in our appartment (2 bedroom) and a landrymachine and dryer.
Very good shower.
There was no cleaning service when we stayed for 3 days. Every day towels and kitchen linen are refreshed and a filling of coffee and tea.
The appartments provide a wooden deck with chairs and a table and a BBQ surrounded by tropical plants.
The heated pool is gorgeous and there is a hot pool. Dianna (manager) is super sweet and very helpfull.
Waipu Cove is remote, but for relaxing and the beach perfect.
A good cafe/testaurant is close by.
Next door is a little store, limited in products and overprized.
Go to Mangawhai for groceryshopping and as I said before, well equiped to cook meals.
We loved this place and hope to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Thank you for your great review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes it is the perfect place for a relaxing get-away and only one & a half hours from Auckland City. Waipu Township also has a Four Square for groceries, but Magical Mangawhai is a great spot to visit. Would love to see you back again sometime. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Lovely place to recharge. Rooms were super. Manager was helpful and available. There is a spa and pool.
Resort is smallish and private. Very close to the beach. The beach is white sand all tides and huge.

Room Tip: We took a bigger apartment and that was great!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Thank you for your great review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are now pleased to advise the pool has heating to take away the chill and would love to see you back again. Wishing you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews