We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
361
90
22
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
90
22
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresidents loungeself cateringlake districtdrying roomwalkers barthe pubfour posterbar mealsred pikepacked lunchcomfortable hotellakeland hotelfine diningstunning locationwonderful hotelwi fidays walking
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

We checked in after our other local accommodation fell through. The staff were very helpful and flexible in setting us up with two rooms at short notice.
Rooms were well equipped and the shower had a good supply of hot water. Had on site parking which is important in Buttermere and was very convenient for starting walks.
Breakfast had a nice selection of alternatives from cooked to a meat/cheese selection. We also ate at the bar for our evening meal. Desserts in particular were great
Overall positive experience and would definitely stay there again

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Dear Neil P,

Many thanks for your impromptu visit and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Although you found us unintentionally, we were more than happy to arrange last minute accommodation for you and it is important to us that all our guests feel that we are as flexible and helpful as possible.

Thank you too for your kind words regarding our rooms and food - we aim to continually maintain and improve all aspects when needed and when we read complimentary reviews such as yours it encourages us to keep going!

I do hope you managed to try our popular Sticky Toffee Pudding whilst you were here - it’s very moreish!

Once again, thank you for your stay and we hope you have a safe homeward journey to the USA.

Warm wishes,

The Bidge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

The Bridge Hotel in Buttermere is without doubt one of the most peaceful places to stay in the Lake District. The rooms are comfortable if rather small, but the views and the quiet more than make up for the lack of size. The food is excellent served in a delightful dining room without unnecessary fuss but with an excellent wine list! The lounge in particularly comfortable with its huge sofas and armchairs, open fires and plenty to read. The bar is good to if you can drag yourself away from the comfort in the hotel. Just park your car and leave it there until you leave as there are easy and demanding walks aplenty that start directly outside the front door. Truly a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back with a view to the mountains
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Dear Chris H,

Thank you very much for your kind review of The Bridge during your recent stay.

We all enjoyed reading it and your complimentary words really are a great encouragement for us all here. We do believe we have the best guests in The Lakes as all our guests are so friendly it makes our job a lot easier! We are also very fortunate to be in a stunning location which really lends itself to one being able to truly relax and unwind from the distractions of modern life.

The Residents private lounge is another place where we find our guests are able to completely relax - and we have on occasion had to wake up a guest as we lock up!

Thank you once again for your kind words on our food, service and location - we hope to see you again soon.

Warm wishes,


The Bridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

The rooms, location and service are all excellent, set in one of the most beautiful locations anywhere in the world. We would have preferred our evening meal in the dining room, rather than pub area, but the food was really good. It's a treat to stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw had a view worth enjoying
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GeoffShutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Dear GeoffShutt,

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are so fortunate to be in this location, and Buttermere has to be one of the most majestic valleys in the UK.

Thank you too for your kind words regarding our rooms and service - we always try to keep everyone as happy as possible and we would love to serve you in our Dining Room if you stay again.

Warm wishes,

The Bridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Stayed here with my wife and son as a base to climb Haystacks. We received friendly service from the moment we checked in.We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but we were made to feel really welcome. We had lunch in the bar - followed by a six hour walk returning to the bar for fish and chips and a couple of pints. The location meant we didn't need to get back in the car and we walked along the shores of Buttermere before the climb to Haystacks. Really comfortable beds but top marks to all the staff we dealt with. thank you. I've added a few photos from Haystacks and one of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Dear bluesy,

Many thanks for your recent review and also for the fantastic photos you took of the Hotel and of Haystacks.

We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your room, food and service - I am sorry the room wasn’t ready early, as we often manage to have most rooms ready before our publicised 3pm arrival. Had it been, we would have been more than happy for you to check in early.

We have a great team here, and your kind comments go a long way in keeping us smiling, so thank you for your compliments.

We are so very fortunate to be located in an area where there are so many wonderful walks on our doorstep, negating the need to drive anywhere once here.

Once again, thank you very much for your review. We have a favour to ask of you if we may - the photo you took of the Hotel has really impressed us and we were wondering if we could use it on our web site, with your permission of course?

If so, please can you call us on 017687 70252 and speak with either John or Ray.

Warm wishes,

The Bridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We had stayed at the hotel before and decided to try one of the new self catering cottages this weekend - it was perfect. Beautifully set, underfloor heating in the five star bathroom, heated towel rail, great shower, airing cupboard for drying socks etc and a fantastically well equipped kitchen. The location is amazing, lots of Wainwrights favourite walks on the doorstep. We had an amazing stay and will be back as soon as we can, thank you.

Room Tip: Ground floor is ideal if you have a dog.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Dear Pam,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us in our dog friendly self-catering apartment.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed all the facilities it had to offer and thank you so much for your kind words - we are very proud of our self-catering units and 2015 is one of our busiest years to date.

It was fantastic to read that you want to come back soon (please check our web site as you can book online now for self-catering and we see that you Like our Facebook page too which carries offers on it!) and we will be delighted to welcome you back (and also to watch your crazy spaniel rush around in the self-catering apartments in the morning!).

Very warm wishes,

The Bridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews