We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agriturismo Podere Casella(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Aiole(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Bindozzino(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Grossola(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo IL Noce(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Il poderuccio(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Agriturismo la Paciarella(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Agriturismo La Valle del Sole(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Agriturismo Le Case(Castiglione D'Orcia)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
128
38
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
38
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsan quiricowonderful vacationthe ownerpathcountrysidenaturemontepulcianovaltrattoriacoopwinehousedeercommunicationtuscanysunset
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Il Tigliolo is a holidayhome with 6 apartments situated in the hart of the beautiful Val d'Orcia.
With a breathtaking view over the valley and Montalcino.
The apartments are comfortable there is a very nice and large garden, swimming pool and several play options for the children.
Ideal for families with children.
In the immediate vicinity are beautiful towns such as San Quirico d'Orcia, Pienza and Montalcino as well the thermal baths of Bagno Vignoni and Bagno San Filippo.
For the past 11 years i enjoyed my stay here very much.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank pienzacuiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful property nestled in the rolling hills of San Quirico d'Orcia, Tuscany. Amidst olive trees and grape vines is this small family-run hotel. The epic views and quaint decor make for an authentic Tuscan experience far removed from the beaten, tourist-laden path.

The property has strong wifi but NO television -- which was surprisingly refreshing; igniting great conversation, laughs and bonding with family and new friends/neighbors.

The room came equipped with all the kitchen essentials, even a complimentary bottle of local wine and a stack of spaghetti, pomodoro sauce and coffee.

The room and accommodations were clean and convenient.The rustic decor provides an authentic, country feeling with epic panoramic views of the Tuscany hillsides at every turn.

Paolo was a great host, always with prompt communication. Would certainly recommend for couples and families alike, and anyone looking to have an authentic Tuscan adventure.

Tip: When staying here, go out to the neighboring center city of San Quirico d'Orcia in the mid-morning. Have a hearty lunch at any of the great local cafes, trattorias and gelaterias/pasticcerias around town. Then visit the COOP market and stock up on wine, cheese, pasta (and more wine) before heading back to the property. After a nice afternoon nap on the hammock, prepare a simple yet delicious home meal in the hotel and enjoy it in the outside dining table.

Room Tip: The unpaved, unlit windy road from town to the property is best driven during the day light hours.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IamPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Be sure to visit Paolo’s place while you are in Tuscany. The atmosphere of the apartment and the scenery were incredible, breath taking! We will definitely come again very soon! If you want Tuscan perfection go to Il Tigliolo!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We came across Il Tigliolo just three weeks before we arrived through a chance find on the internet and how pleased we were that we did.

To begin with, Il Tigliolo is situated in a magical part of Tuscany about an hour south of Siena. The Val D'Orcia (a UNESCO World Heritage area) is full of marvellous towns such as San Quirico, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza and other smaller places such as Bagno Vignoni. They rival Florence, Siena and Pisa but whereas the larger cities are absolutely thronging with tourists the towns of the Val D'Orcia are quieter and a joy both to the eye and to walk around, eat and shop.

Il Tigliolo is about 6km from the delightful town of San Quirico. Much has been made of the approach to it along a 'white road', essentially an unmade gravel track. Do not be put off by this as it is perfectly passable with even the smallest hire car (which we had) and actually only about 15 minutes to town. It is in a simply beautiful area surrounded by low hills on which are perched extensive vineyards and olive groves. The area is full of wildlife and we saw wild boar, foxes, deer, hare, bats and a number of bird species.

So to Il Tigliolo itself. You are met by the owner, Paulo Falsetti, a delightful man for whom nothing is too much trouble. We had the apartment Salcio which was simply but comfortably furnished with a small terrace area outside on which to sit, eat and enjoy the view over the valley. There is a pool attached which is shared by all of the six apartments. We used it everyday and it was never full or crowded.

So peaceful and tranquil is Il Tigliolo that you could easily spend two weeks just sitting on the terrace or relaxing in the pool. If you are wine lover - and this is a great wine producing area - Paulo regularly organises wine tastings at the local vineyards, some of which are free and some at a very small cost. He also informs you of local events through WhatsApp.

There is so much to say about Il Tigliolo and the surrounding area that a short review cannot do it justice, so please do look at my reviews of Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, Bagno Vignoni and other local delights. Similarly there are several great places to eat - we particularly enjoyed the Trattoria Osenna in San Quirico.

To conclude, absolutely no hesitation whatsoever in recommending It Tigliolo very highly indeed. Several of Paulo's guests have been returning for years and we would have no hesitation either in going back. I would only give you one word of warning which is that if you are sensitive to biting insects do take some mosquito repellant and anti-histamine. They are not a problem inside the apartments (which are fitted with mesh on the windows) but were a problem to my wife and son after sunset.

Thank you Paulo for a memorable holiday. It was a real pleasure to meet you, your family and some of your regular guests such as Sante, we will see you again I am sure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

I have spent here my second wonderful vacation! I have found it thanks to my italian boyfriend. I felt in love in Il Tigliolo from the first sight. The amazing panorama of the creator - Nature - me inspired in the mornings and in the evenings. There are everything for all our senses - beautiful landscapes and colors for eyes, music of birds, water and the trees for our ears, profumes of flowers, countryside, sheep, hot terra and weather for our noses to smell, and all that give inspiration to feel love, joyfulness adn beauty of Life. Very good energy in the house. I liked very much the interior style of the room Ligustro - which is rustic and naive, and made with heart to ancient times. All together with swimming pool, places to play, the road to reach, San Quirico d'Orcia, friendly people, friendly host fo the house Paolo - recharge batteries of good energy. It is good to stay with your sweetheart, with your children, friends, family and alone.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vigailė K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews