We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value hotel with heaps of potential”
Review of Hotel La cheneraie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La cheneraie
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Greoux les Bains
Reviewed 21 June 2017

The hotel is terrific value BUT it is a fair way from town so you will probably have to drive if you want an evening meal, OR you can eat there IF you order when you check in AND do not want a relaxing, romantic meal. The food was fair to good but served so quickly that it is hard to enjoy. (It appears the dining service is for 1 hour only). The room has a good view, is large and with a few extras could be lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank percycasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

We were travelling on a budget, and found La Cheneraie to be a great base for the Verdon/ Haute Provence. Quiet location on the edge of Greoux - yes, apartments at the front, but fields at the back. Not the Ritz - what do you want for $55/ night for a good basic room and fantastic (included) continental breakfast for two? The front desk has limited hours, as with most family operations; but helpful owner also operates the restaurant. Which has excellent value gourmet dinners (choice from set menus, but very good French cuisine). It's only a few minutes from the historic town center - if you're in Greoux you need a car anyway - and our room had a view out over red tile roofs to the old castle on the hill, floodlit at night. Aaaahh. Note to Americans: traditional French bathrooms have a deep, big tub and hand-held showers. And AC isn't customary in hotels. This hotel has free WiFi, free parking, good food and good prices. :)

Room Tip: View from west rooms are over old town & castle. Parking is outdoor, and limited - arrive early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrassValleyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I left my wallet on my bed side table one day and it got stolen! What kind of mediocre service is this? Beware of your belongings!!! Never had I ever had to deal with theft in hotels by the staff itself! So disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xenia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

During our trip from Avingnon to Nice we decided to have a stop. The local directory told us that this hotel is a gem in the heart of Provence. It wasn't, unfortunately. It really was a rather old fashioned hotel with nearly no guests. Probably it was low season in May. The restaurant was closed. The lady behind the reception desk was quite polite and offered us a bottle of good rose vine and a cheese platter. We jumped in a pool and spent some quite moments. I will recommend this place for a person who looks for some very very very quite place in the middle of nowhere.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PavelKurzaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We went there to relax and have so calm in France, but the standards didn't met our expectations at all, the rooms are old and not really clean, the furniture is almost absent and the beds need to be changed! The wifi wasn't working at all, the manager knows it but doesn't do anything to change it, the food is awful, we had mashed potatoes and sausages on a sunday, which is a special day for french people normally when you 're supposed to eat better then the other days. We will never go there again, and I advise you not to go, it's not worth the price at all. It has already lost a mark on three but will lose the others soon for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georges O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greoux les Bains hotels
2.5 km away
Club Domaine de Chateau Laval
Club Domaine de Chateau Laval
#8 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
225 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel des Colonnes
Hotel des Colonnes
#4 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
221 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#2 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
203 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Lou Paradou
Hotel Lou Paradou
#3 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
181 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Verdon
Le Verdon
#6 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La cheneraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La cheneraie

Address: BP 32 - Chemin des Collines | Residence Les Chenes Blancs, 04800 Greoux les Bains, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Greoux les Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Greoux les Bains
Price Range: $58 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La cheneraie 3*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing