We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Colonsay(Isle of Colonsay)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$161
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
306
43
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
306
43
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsbefore dinnerisle of mullremote locationwine listoff the beaten trackwhite tailed eaglesa special placewonderful visitbeautiful locationdrawing roomboth nightsloch scridainat short noticesmall hotelfantastic foodstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We had a truly lovely 3 nights at Tiroran House. It was a perfect launching spot for our Mull adventures. Our West Room overlooked gardens on the side of the house and was large, quiet, with the most comfortable bed. Our host Laurence was wonderful and attentive. We truly enjoyed our time with our fellow guests, and breakfast and dinners were excellent, with thoughtful service. Thanks for such a great visit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NantucketPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

The Isle of Mull is more remote than we imagined & this place is even more remote. Be prepared for no cell service & very slow/no Internet. If you are looking for quiet & remote, this may be for you, although expect a minimum hour drive to other parts of the island on very narrow "B" and "weak" single track roads. Gorgeous scenery, but the long drives are tiring.

Enjoyed visiting with other guests before & after dinner in shared rooms. It was quiet for sleep and good sized bathroom. There is considerable iron in water.

We were disappointed with meals and dining service. It was the only place in 2 weeks of travel that did not offer salmon on breakfast or dinner menus. Quality of food was less than expected, and staff often could not answer simple questions/were inefficient. We even noticed them carry away someone's half finished drink when they were obviously planning to return to seat (coat & camera purposefully left).

A bit surprised they did not warn us about a closed road -- other guests also attempted to take a short cut road to reach inn faster & had to turn around, increasing the drive by an extra hour. When discussing this with host upon arrival, he knew the road was closed yet did not seem to think important to notify incoming guests. This place is trying to be upscale and prices reflect, however, really not up to par.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank mtnwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Note first of all that Tiroran is remote even by Mull standards, about 40 mins drive from the ferry. It's a country house hotel, with, I guess about 10 rooms. I imagine the rooms are all individual, but ours was very comfortable, and had a good size en suite with walk in shower. To be honest, the bed was a little soft for my liking, but that's personal taste, and it didn't affect my sleep.
The welcome was warm and friendly, and to get the most out of the stay, you need to enter into the country house atmosphere by joining other guests in the lounge for drinks before dinner. Given the small number of guests, it is reasonable to have to select your dinner options in advance. The meals were all perfect.

Breakfast was also among the best I have eaten. A cold buffet, lots of hot options cooked to order, and just the right amount of salt in the porridge.

There are a number of walks you can take from the house, and wild life such as otters and eagles may be seen. I took a walk in the nearby forest, and spotted deer close by on three occasions. Alternatively you can use this as a base for touring the island.

No Mobile phone signal, slow internet, couldn't even get radio 4 on the car radio. Who needs them?



Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nottoogrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiroran, Owner at Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review - there have been a couple of reviews recently that have stated about pre orders for dinner, I just want to let everyone know that we no longer need our guests to pre order dinner as we have flexible dining times between 6 and 8pm and people usually order with their pre dinner drinks - thank you again - your review is just so nice and gives us the chance to let everyone know this 2017 change - Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The hotel was in beautiful grounds with wonderful views. Our hosts were welcoming and and the accommodation cosy and in the Scottish style. Food delicious and great for people who like the outdoors. We visited the islands of Iona and Staffa. Plenty of wildlife including golden eagles, otters and Dolphins. Photographers dream. Greatly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms all have a view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank laneyrandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Did not stay in the Hotel but visited the Restaurant on two occasions during our four night stay on Mull
The food was excellent and at a reasonable price.
The staff were cheerful and efficient.
I would gladly return and eat here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews