We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tiroran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2017

A considerable disappointment. Tiroran is overpriced and poor overall. We had booked months ago for 5 nights in June 2107 but could not leave early without having to make full payment for all booked nights. I was glad to leave. I had asked for a special welcome for my wife on her birthday, to which Mrs [--] had agreed at the time of booking, but nothing was said or offered on arrival.
The location is remote and not ideal for any holiday on the Isle of Mull, unless one is solely visiting the Ross of Mull peninsula.
The property is set out as a country house hotel with 2 large public rooms, supplementing a very small and inadequate dining room. Accommodation is in the main house and additional annexes. The rooms are reasonably furnished and comfortable, but could be better given the price.
Dinner and breakfast are simply not good. On our first night dinner was awful - the plates were cold and portions small. This for main courses priced at between £27 and £31. We asked for a replacement meal on hot plates – got the latter but only our half-eaten food back! Breakfast on Day 2 no better, with uncooked bacon & sausages.
The wine list is fairly extensive, with choice of wine by the glass. We abandoned dinner for the rest of our stay (no dinner offered on Sundays) but dined again on our last night – an improvement, but was that due to the presence that evening, of a food critic, as a guest?
Service at table is poor - staff do not notice guests' needs and so you have to ask for more butter, wine etc etc.
I did not feel appreciated as a guest but more a source of income to Laurence [--] as he develops the site further and establishes his Whitetail gin product.

Room Tip: Better in annexe as hotel rooms are above sitting and dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 321JMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017

We had a truly lovely 3 nights at Tiroran House. It was a perfect launching spot for our Mull adventures. Our West Room overlooked gardens on the side of the house and was large, quiet, with the most comfortable bed. Our host Laurence was wonderful and attentive. We truly enjoyed our time with our fellow guests, and breakfast and dinners were excellent, with thoughtful service. Thanks for such a great visit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NantucketPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

The Isle of Mull is more remote than we imagined & this place is even more remote. Be prepared for no cell service & very slow/no Internet. If you are looking for quiet & remote, this may be for you, although expect a minimum hour drive to other parts of the island on very narrow "B" and "weak" single track roads. Gorgeous scenery, but the long drives are tiring.

Enjoyed visiting with other guests before & after dinner in shared rooms. It was quiet for sleep and good sized bathroom. There is considerable iron in water.

We were disappointed with meals and dining service. It was the only place in 2 weeks of travel that did not offer salmon on breakfast or dinner menus. Quality of food was less than expected, and staff often could not answer simple questions/were inefficient. We even noticed them carry away someone's half finished drink when they were obviously planning to return to seat (coat & camera purposefully left).

A bit surprised they did not warn us about a closed road -- other guests also attempted to take a short cut road to reach inn faster & had to turn around, increasing the drive by an extra hour. When discussing this with host upon arrival, he knew the road was closed yet did not seem to think important to notify incoming guests. This place is trying to be upscale and prices reflect, however, really not up to par.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank mtnwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Note first of all that Tiroran is remote even by Mull standards, about 40 mins drive from the ferry. It's a country house hotel, with, I guess about 10 rooms. I imagine the rooms are all individual, but ours was very comfortable, and had a good size en suite with walk in shower. To be honest, the bed was a little soft for my liking, but that's personal taste, and it didn't affect my sleep.
The welcome was warm and friendly, and to get the most out of the stay, you need to enter into the country house atmosphere by joining other guests in the lounge for drinks before dinner. Given the small number of guests, it is reasonable to have to select your dinner options in advance. The meals were all perfect.

Breakfast was also among the best I have eaten. A cold buffet, lots of hot options cooked to order, and just the right amount of salt in the porridge.

There are a number of walks you can take from the house, and wild life such as otters and eagles may be seen. I took a walk in the nearby forest, and spotted deer close by on three occasions. Alternatively you can use this as a base for touring the island.

No Mobile phone signal, slow internet, couldn't even get radio 4 on the car radio. Who needs them?



Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nottoogrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiroran, Owner at Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review - there have been a couple of reviews recently that have stated about pre orders for dinner, I just want to let everyone know that we no longer need our guests to pre order dinner as we have flexible dining times between 6 and 8pm and people usually order with their pre dinner drinks - thank you again - your review is just so nice and gives us the chance to let everyone know this 2017 change - Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The hotel was in beautiful grounds with wonderful views. Our hosts were welcoming and and the accommodation cosy and in the Scottish style. Food delicious and great for people who like the outdoors. We visited the islands of Iona and Staffa. Plenty of wildlife including golden eagles, otters and Dolphins. Photographers dream. Greatly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms all have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank laneyrandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiroran
27.4 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
437 reviews
25.3 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
27.6 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
37.4 km away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
37.8 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Isle of Mull | Isle of Mull, Tiroran PA69 6ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tiroran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Price Range: $138 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning Gold 4 star Visit Scotland Country House Hotel & restaurant, nestling in one of the most stunning island locations - The only Country House Hotel on the Isle of Mull and equal distance to Tobermory and Iona - Alistair Sawday's Hotel of the Year 2016 -Scottish Country House hotel of the year 2 years running, 11 en suite bedrooms (most with loch views) -elegant yet relaxed country house dining with a new a la carte menu, and a comprehensive and interesting wine list, where a genuine house party atmosphere prevails. Flexible timings for dinner reservations, although we would strongly recommend that you lets know in advance should you require a quieter and more private table so that we can guide you to a suitable dining time. Restaurant serving real, honest Scottish, local and seasonal produce each day - 56 acres of extremely large well maintained gardens with private beach, tumbling garden river, waterfalls with woodlands and original Victorian gardens - beautifully comfortable and elegant hotel run exclusively by the owners and staff for the benefit of their guests - Tiroran House Hotel Isle of Mull nestles among some of the best land and seascapes of the British Isles with some of the most exciting wildlife sightings in the UK (White Tailed Sea Eagles nesting in the Tiroran Forest, otters on the shore, red deer, wild birds, sea birds and many, many more species to see!) Non resident diners welcome please telephone or email directly ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiroran House Hotel Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing