We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hide away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tiroran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2017

A lovely small inn tucked away on a cove. Beautiful grounds to walk on with hidden gardens and babbling brooks. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a well equipped bathroom. The sitting areas in the house were so comfortable for drinks before dinner. We had a great meal in the small dining area and then took our coffee and dessert in the sitting area where we could speak with other guests and the owner.
The staff were very personable and even mailed our sunglasses back tot he States after we left them behind

Room Tip: Beautiful room upstairs overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marthal166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

A hunting lodge from the 1850s is a small hotel now, with outbuildings turned into cottages. Am coming since 20 years, always a pleasure. The owner is doing a lot to please.
Rooms very agreeable and quiet. Food became better and better. Wine list could improve. Wifi slow due to British Telekom, but all hope for a miracle.
For me the best accomodation on Mull, one I rate much higher than many castle hotels on the main land. I am a very seasoned traveller, this place is a 100% recommendation.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Other reviews have said it already. Tiroran House is gracious, welcoming, comfortable - and set in gorgeous surroundings. Laurence is a great host and really ensures a country house party atmosphere. We ate well and loved exploring Mull. Definitely to be repeated!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Food, staff, setting, everything -- this place is perfection. I stayed at Tiroran for four days in July and couldn't have been happier. I turned up late my first night, off the ferry from Oban, and they'd kept the kitchen open and served me a magnificent dinner, all by myself, waited on by the head of house.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Traveling to Mull, one has to go into it expecting a lot of natural beauty, but also not seeking luxury or a lot of amenities. That said, we travel extensively, and we found Tiroran House to be warm and welcoming and friendly. Laurence was extremely welcoming and very accommodating, and went out of his way to be friendly to the children. He also assisted with booking a fantastic trip to Fingal's Cave and Staffa, which was the highlight of our trip to Scotland. Though we did not see him the morning we departed, and wished to say thank you, we simply paid the hostess at breakfast and left. We had two rooms and stayed for two nights. Meals were average, hit and miss, a little bit eccentric and included fish eggs of various types not described on the menu. Had a fabulous dinner the first night, the second night not so good. Langoustines cooked to perfection the first night, the second they were watery and inedible, which we mentioned politely at dinner, but no notice taken. The mushroom risotto I had the 3rd night was fabulous. Breakfast was average, not as good as we've had in the U.K. The fruit became less fresh each day, but one assumes it must be difficult to keep fresh fruit on Mull. Porridge was served in a crock pot, felt odd for an expensive lodge/restaurant. Took a great deal of effort to get coffee and water each morning for breakfast, though the hostess was very pleasant and we enjoyed talking with her each day. The dining room is very tight quarters, very chatty, so one benefit is you certainly get to know people quickly. Children's meals were kindly provided and were delicious, but you need to ask well in advance so it can be available. Ice cream for dessert was some of the best we've ever had, and was available in many flavors. Rooms were very clean, a tad quirky, with nice views of the grounds and water. With the window open, there was a lovely sound of the adjacent stream. Overall friendly place, very accommodating, clean rooms, though not as fancy as we've paid less for in other parts of Scotland, and a good location as a base to explore Mull.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank mpandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiroran
27.6 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
724 reviews
25.3 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
27.4 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
35.5 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
37.4 km away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Isle of Mull | Isle of Mull, Tiroran PA69 6ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tiroran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Price Range: $137 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning Gold 4 star Visit Scotland Country House Hotel & restaurant, nestling in one of the most stunning island locations - The only Country House Hotel on the Isle of Mull and equal distance to Tobermory and Iona - Alistair Sawday's Hotel of the Year 2016 -Scottish Country House hotel of the year 2 years running, 11 en suite bedrooms (most with loch views) -elegant yet relaxed country house dining with a new a la carte menu, and a comprehensive and interesting wine list, where a genuine house party atmosphere prevails. Flexible timings for dinner reservations, although we would strongly recommend that you lets know in advance should you require a quieter and more private table so that we can guide you to a suitable dining time. Restaurant serving real, honest Scottish, local and seasonal produce each day - 56 acres of extremely large well maintained gardens with private beach, tumbling garden river, waterfalls with woodlands and original Victorian gardens - beautifully comfortable and elegant hotel run exclusively by the owners and staff for the benefit of their guests - Tiroran House Hotel Isle of Mull nestles among some of the best land and seascapes of the British Isles with some of the most exciting wildlife sightings in the UK (White Tailed Sea Eagles nesting in the Tiroran Forest, otters on the shore, red deer, wild birds, sea birds and many, many more species to see!) Non resident diners welcome please telephone or email directly ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiroran House Hotel Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing