We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third trip this year”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tiroran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017

You don't come to the Isle of Mull for the weather or the amusements. If you like wildlife, walking, photography or just the solitude and stunning scenery this is the place to come and Tiroran House Hotel is "the" place to stay. Stunning location, large rooms and comfy beds, food to die for and Laurence and Katie the owners make you feel very welcome and certainly look after you during your stay....and if you think things couldn't get better they do with their new coffee shop is now selling an assortment of cakes and pastries plus the new rather smooth "Whitetail Gin"........

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Tiroran House has a lovely country house feel. Guests meet together in the evenings, with a drink and a roaring fire in the background. The evening meal is very well prepared, if a touch expensive.There are no other options nearby so this is understandable.

What is really stunning here though is the location. The hotel has extensive gardens to wander in, whcih take you down to the water's edge. There are apparently sea eagles nearby at the right time of year. We didn't see them but did enjoy one of the great wildlife trips that Brian Rains organises, which the hotel can help you book

The bedrooms are well equipped and very comfortable and a bath is a great luxury after a day wandering around Mull, typically in the rain

And they make their own Whitetail gin

Its a great place to stay and very easy to recommend

Room Tip: There are a wide variety of rooms. Some have a loch view but all that we saw were very acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick101215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We loved Tiroran House Hotel, it’s more like staying in a private house than a hotel and Laurence made us so welcome. The weather was as you’d expect for mid October but the house was toasty warm with lovely log fires to sit by in the evenings, delicious Whitetail gin in hand, getting to know our fellow guests. Dinner and breakfast were superb (yes dinner is quite expensive but it’s worth every penny, when you’re somewhere so remote that’s to be expected).
We loved our huge room and comfy bed, such a treat to have a big sofa to collapse into too after a day looking for wildlife with the wonderfully knowledgeable Brian Rains.
If we ever get back to Mull this hotel would be our first choice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank MrsPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stopped on Mull for a few days before continuing on up to our holiday home in Fort Augustus, and could not have been more pleased with the days that we spent at this beautiful, quiet retreat. We stayed in the Woodland Room, a beautifully decorated room away from the main house that overlooks the grounds and loch. The room was spacious, quiet, comfortable, and had all of the amenities one needs for a restful retreat. No telephone, WiFi or mobile service, but being unplugged is not a bad thing at times! Those services were, however, available at the main house in the lounge and dining room. Laurence is an amazing host, and the food was just exquisite. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, and the evening meals were on par with some of the finest restaurants you would find in Edinburgh or Glasgow. I thoroughly enjoyed every meal here, as well,as the camaraderie and conversations between couples at other tables. It was a lovely way of meeting people and enjoying good conversation while discussing what others had seen and done that day. I definitely recommend this wonderful accommodation, and we will certainly be returning on our next visit to Mull.

Room Tip: Woodland Room was quiet, spacious, and had lovely views while being only a very short walk to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sekhmet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We planned a side trip on our Fall vacation to Scotland and picked Tiroran House Hotel, and we are so happy we did. The house is set way back in the hills and was wonderfully quiet. It is located on the southwest part of the island, about 30-40 minutes from both Craignure and Fionnphort. We stayed in the Woodland room, which is detached from the main house. It is quite spacious and wonderfully decorated. Please note, while the house has wifi, Woodland doesn't and there is no cell service. However, it was fine as we just went up to the main house and sat by the fire in the lounge.
The included breakfasts were great, with croissants that were still warm, and fresh eggs and sausage. But the evening meals were really something to write home about. I had both venison and lamb chops, both of which I loved.
The service was excellent and our hosts were very engaging.
We will definitely go back, the next tine we head to Mull.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank celticdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiroran
27.4 km away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
436 reviews
25.3 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
27.6 km away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
37.4 km away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
37.8 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Isle of Mull | Isle of Mull, Tiroran PA69 6ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tiroran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Price Range: $138 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning Gold 4 star Visit Scotland Country House Hotel & restaurant, nestling in one of the most stunning island locations - The only Country House Hotel on the Isle of Mull and equal distance to Tobermory and Iona - Alistair Sawday's Hotel of the Year 2016 -Scottish Country House hotel of the year 2 years running, 11 en suite bedrooms (most with loch views) -elegant yet relaxed country house dining with a new a la carte menu, and a comprehensive and interesting wine list, where a genuine house party atmosphere prevails. Flexible timings for dinner reservations, although we would strongly recommend that you lets know in advance should you require a quieter and more private table so that we can guide you to a suitable dining time. Restaurant serving real, honest Scottish, local and seasonal produce each day - 56 acres of extremely large well maintained gardens with private beach, tumbling garden river, waterfalls with woodlands and original Victorian gardens - beautifully comfortable and elegant hotel run exclusively by the owners and staff for the benefit of their guests - Tiroran House Hotel Isle of Mull nestles among some of the best land and seascapes of the British Isles with some of the most exciting wildlife sightings in the UK (White Tailed Sea Eagles nesting in the Tiroran Forest, otters on the shore, red deer, wild birds, sea birds and many, many more species to see!) Non resident diners welcome please telephone or email directly ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiroran House Hotel Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing