We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
307
43
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
307
43
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsbefore dinnerisle of mullremote locationwine listoff the beaten trackwhite tailed eaglesa special placebeautiful locationdrawing roomwonderful visitboth nightsloch scridainsmall hotelstayed longerpuddingvenison
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Tiroran House has a lovely country house feel. Guests meet together in the evenings, with a drink and a roaring fire in the background. The evening meal is very well prepared, if a touch expensive.There are no other options nearby so this is understandable.

What is really stunning here though is the location. The hotel has extensive gardens to wander in, whcih take you down to the water's edge. There are apparently sea eagles nearby at the right time of year. We didn't see them but did enjoy one of the great wildlife trips that Brian Rains organises, which the hotel can help you book

The bedrooms are well equipped and very comfortable and a bath is a great luxury after a day wandering around Mull, typically in the rain

And they make their own Whitetail gin

Its a great place to stay and very easy to recommend

Room Tip: There are a wide variety of rooms. Some have a loch view but all that we saw were very acceptable
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick101215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We loved Tiroran House Hotel, it’s more like staying in a private house than a hotel and Laurence made us so welcome. The weather was as you’d expect for mid October but the house was toasty warm with lovely log fires to sit by in the evenings, delicious Whitetail gin in hand, getting to know our fellow guests. Dinner and breakfast were superb (yes dinner is quite expensive but it’s worth every penny, when you’re somewhere so remote that’s to be expected).
We loved our huge room and comfy bed, such a treat to have a big sofa to collapse into too after a day looking for wildlife with the wonderfully knowledgeable Brian Rains.
If we ever get back to Mull this hotel would be our first choice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank MrsPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stopped on Mull for a few days before continuing on up to our holiday home in Fort Augustus, and could not have been more pleased with the days that we spent at this beautiful, quiet retreat. We stayed in the Woodland Room, a beautifully decorated room away from the main house that overlooks the grounds and loch. The room was spacious, quiet, comfortable, and had all of the amenities one needs for a restful retreat. No telephone, WiFi or mobile service, but being unplugged is not a bad thing at times! Those services were, however, available at the main house in the lounge and dining room. Laurence is an amazing host, and the food was just exquisite. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, and the evening meals were on par with some of the finest restaurants you would find in Edinburgh or Glasgow. I thoroughly enjoyed every meal here, as well,as the camaraderie and conversations between couples at other tables. It was a lovely way of meeting people and enjoying good conversation while discussing what others had seen and done that day. I definitely recommend this wonderful accommodation, and we will certainly be returning on our next visit to Mull.

Room Tip: Woodland Room was quiet, spacious, and had lovely views while being only a very short walk to the main house.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sekhmet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We planned a side trip on our Fall vacation to Scotland and picked Tiroran House Hotel, and we are so happy we did. The house is set way back in the hills and was wonderfully quiet. It is located on the southwest part of the island, about 30-40 minutes from both Craignure and Fionnphort. We stayed in the Woodland room, which is detached from the main house. It is quite spacious and wonderfully decorated. Please note, while the house has wifi, Woodland doesn't and there is no cell service. However, it was fine as we just went up to the main house and sat by the fire in the lounge.
The included breakfasts were great, with croissants that were still warm, and fresh eggs and sausage. But the evening meals were really something to write home about. I had both venison and lamb chops, both of which I loved.
The service was excellent and our hosts were very engaging.
We will definitely go back, the next tine we head to Mull.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank celticdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We had a very large and comfortable room with great bathroom in the main house overlooking the garden with beautiful views of the loch and hills beyond. The service was excellent but in an unobtrusive way. As guests we had a genuine sense that Laurence and his lovely staff really wanted us to have a relaxing and enjoyable time at Tiroran which we did! The estate is extensive going all the way down to the loch and around and we as we were there for a few days were able to take full advantage of pottering around locally some days, enjoying a great home cooked light lunch in the newly opened cafe in the grounds run by Katie, Laurence's wife and business partner. We also ventured further around the island using their very good local knowledge and contacts and making the most of the wonderful weather that mid September brought. Breakfasts were all one could have asked for and dinners excellent especially when preceded by one of their " historic" Whitetail gin and tonics whilst perhaps chatting with other guests in one of their two delightful sitting rooms. Only thing that may be a negative for some is its remoteness- but for us this and the great wildlife only added to its attraction!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Chrissyb903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews