We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Church, People and Music”

Paroisse Saint Pierre-Celestin Church
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Vaitape
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 13 September 2017

French/Tahitian Mass offered at 9:30am on Sunday was beautiful. Such joyous singing and colorful atmosphere.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank jzfuerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lovely stained glass"
in 2 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 2 reviews
"bora bora"
in 4 reviews
"mass"
in 4 reviews
"congregation"
in 2 reviews
"prayer"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017

While spending the day in Bora Bora we visited the lovely church , very hot outside but quite cool inside which was lovely.
Behind the altar there is a lovely stained glass window and looking through it you look straight at the mountain behind the church, very nice , most likely the church was built here to capture that effect.
The statue in wood of Jesus on the cross really catches your eye as the eyes of Jesus are of glass or maybe shell and are both very different, it would be interesting to know the significance of that .
Found this church interesting , intriguing , go have a look

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank roy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Attended Sunday mass while staying at the St. Regis. The congregation was very welcoming, shaking hands, patting on the back, etc. Everyone had flowers behind their ears or in their hair. Very festive. One of the ushers asked if we spoke only English. The priest then greeted the parishoners in French, as expected, but also greeted all the English speaking tourists in English. Nice. Music was energetic and passionate.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Scuba_Divers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We only had 1 sunday in Bora are so thankful to have been able to attend mass in such a loving and friendly church! It was emotional as the minister was leaving and someone else was going to replace him. It was lovely to see all the locals come sing along in their local dialect and we could join along in French as it was displayed on a large screen.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Edna_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016

It's not that I am a religious person but I really love to explore this kind of places. The things that I saw here looked very interesting for me. I really learned new things. Loved the experience!

Date of experience: December 2015
1  Thank dafinakajtazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paroisse Saint Pierre-Celestin Church also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Paroisse Saint Pierre-Celestin Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing