We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth at an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Reviewed 19 October 2007

We spent 6 nights at Full Moon as part of our honeymoon. We chose this resort after extensive research and concluding that we wanted to spend at least part of our time in a deluxe over- water bungalow (the signature accomodation of the Maldives) without having to pay the exuberant prices offered by other hotels. Full Moon didn't disappoint.

The most amazing feature for us was the landscape (see attached photos) - all those images of tropical islands which you see on travel shows and postcards are truly realised here. The waters are truly warm, clear and turquoise, the sand is truly white and fine and there is plenty of vegetation including lush palm trees decorating almost the entire island. There is also the sense of space where frequently we had the entire beach to ourselves.

As for the rooms, we spent half of our time in the beach bungalows. Our only compaint here was that it was dimly lit but otherwise the room was new and beautiful with a large bed and clean furniture. The outdoor shower and bath certainly add to the island feel. There is an decent collection of satellite tv channels almost all in English for when it rains. The balcony opens up near the beach but bear in mind that the majority of the bungalows (including ours) do not open directly onto the beach.

The remaining half of our time was spent in the water bungalows. This is definitely a higher level of luxury. There is a large king size four poster bed facing panoramic views of uninterupted turquoise ocean. The bathtub has similar views. Banana chairs are provided on the balcony where you can step directly into the ocean. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the coral is quite sharp here so we chose to swim on the other side which is only a minute's walk away.

We chose the bed and breakfast option. Breakfast offered an extensive buffet. We had small meals at the Anchorage Bar for lunch whilst sitting next to the ocean feeding the amazing collection of tropical fish which approach the shallow waters. The sting rays, eels and reef sharks are fed by staff at 6pm every evening.

We tried the Full Moon, Ban Thai, Sand Coast and Atoll Grill restaurants for dinner. All are priced similar to what you would expect at any city restaurant in Australia even when you include the 10% surcharge that most people talk about. The food is decent but our favourite was the Sand Coast cafe where we had the Maldivian lobster curry with massive chunks of real lobster for only $21.

All sports must be paid for except for table tennis and the gym (which is new and well equipped). We were disappointed that even non motorised sports like canoeing and wind surfing incured a cost. But don't let that deter you. This must be one of the best places in the world to try wind surfing if you're a beginner like us - calm, wide open blue waters with only a gentle breeze to carry you along.

The resort offers a spa and massage place on a separate island which is connected to the main island by a small walkway. We thought the price here was in fact cheaper based on the length of the massage compared to what is available in Australia.

The staff at the resort are generally very nice although the service is not always fast and efficient - this is afterall an island and things are very casual and relaxed. We aimed to let little things like this not detract from our honeymoon.

In summary, we truly had an amazing honeymoon here. It really is a paradise island at an affordable price. Enjoy the pics.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank ddwcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,484 - 1,488 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2007

My family and I have just returned from a 5 days stay at the Full Moon and have to say that we all (including my 5 year old daughter) totally enjoyed it. From the moment we were met at the airport by the hotel until the time we left we were looked after with lots of smiles and friendly staff. We stayed in a beach cottage and had the best location (room 212) right on the beach and the outside bathroom was the best, well worth paying the extra instead of a deluxe room. The hotel has 5 restaurants, we tried the Thai (good value for money) and the Sand coast cafe (good selection & children's selection). As there is no convenience store if you like your snacks or have small children it is wise to take cartons, crisps etc with you. There is not much to do on the island but we didn't expect there to be as we were going there to relax but there are plenty of trips to go on. We went on the glass bottom boat and of course the sunset dolphin cruise which was awesome! Apart from the trips you can spend your time snorkelling (best on the water bungalow side), sunbathing / relaxing around the large pool or on the beach or even pamper yourself at the spa! All in all we had a fantastic stay the only downside is that food and drink on the island (apparently in all the islands in the maldives) it is very pricey!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RuthDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

4 star, value for money. water sports is cheap, fun boat at US30 and 1hr catamaran sailing with snorkelling US30 per person. food is average. stayed at water bungalow, toilet is very small and squeezy. but overall everything is fine. do not expect much. just good enough. sun, sea, bed, everything is fine and clean. staff is friendly. prices in souvenir shop is reasonable. can buy. dlx cottage bchfront will be a better choice than water bungalow. :)
can stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ah_jing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

We stayed at Full Moon for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon in November 2006. The room was excellent and service as well! It was a big and luxurious bungalow. There were more than one restaurant to choose from although the ones that were not in the price for Half Board were quite expensive considering the value money has in the country, which we realised when we took the trip to Male. We saw dozens of dolphins at the other trip and thousands of multicoloured fish at another trip to the "banana reef".

It was just a perfect honeymoon even though the wheather was not optimal . Most days it was raining for a few hours but it was warm so that one could stay out, even take a shower in the outdoor shower (it may sound funny but it was awesome!). The spa was also above average and you can have massages at the same time with your friend.

The water was blue but, of course, Greece has better beaches and waters !! I heard that some hotels that are not that close to Male have better beaches, but after a long flight it is really not that necessary to go too far. The beach was picturesque!

Don't be afraid of little sharks that swim next to you... They are more afraid than you!

We decided to go back on our 5th anniversary, even with kids ! so I recommend this hotel to anyone who needs relaxation.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank elisot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

What a fabulous resort Full Moon is! We travelled there for one week with our 9 month old daughter and were obviously a little apprehensive given that there aren’t any convenience stores at the resort, however we packed everything we could possibly need for our daughter and had a super time. The staff were amazing with us and with our baby.

We had booked a beachfront cottage right on the shore line, it was stunning. We spent every evening eating and drinking on our terrace whilst our daughter slept soundly inside the room, therefore enabling us to have fabulous meals (they provided us with the menus from each of the restaurants – so we weren’t limited just to the room service menu) and were served by the room service guys on our own private terrace on the sea – truly amazing, we couldn’t have asked for more. We did manage to get a babysitter one night (noone was available on the other night we wished to go out, which was unfortunate) and we went to the Thai restaurant (the food was okay, the ambiance was lacking) followed by the Anchorage Bar with live entertainment with was great fun. How anyone can not have a fabulous holiday at this resort is beyond me – its heavenly. The staff, the location (a short 15 min speedboat trip from the airport) and the room was superb.

We went to view the water bungalows and the main water suite but to be truthful, the water bungalows were smaller than our beachfront cottage and you are quite isolated, although if you are going on your honeymoon, I guess that would be perfect! The main water suite was fabulous – it has an infinity bath – have you ever heard of such a thing?!? I would have loved to stay there but with a baby and on our budget it just wasn’t doable! I would wholeheartedly recommend anyone stayed at this resort, it’s a short distance from Male and has everything I believe anyone would be looking for in an island holiday. We went to the Seychelles previously and found it very expensive at the resort, the cost of food and beverages in Full Moon however was reasonable (Dubai/London bar/restaurant prices). The other resorts may be bigger in the Maldives, but that wasn’t what we were looking for in our island holiday. We hoped for paradise, and we weren’t disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Stratterspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furanafushi Island
39.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,548 reviews
3.6 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,799 reviews
4.3 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,161 reviews
29.8 km away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,334 reviews
18.6 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range: $566 - $1,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Signature Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 20-minute boat ride from Velena International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing