We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean plus package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We had a wonderful 5-night stay at the resort. We booked the Ocean Plus package and man, what a steal! The villa is superb - spacious, clean, and comfortable with a nice private pool facing the ocean. It is a soothing experience to sleep under the sounds of the ocean waves every night. The island itself is lush, and the beaches and lagoon are beautiful, though I guess this is what you would expect from most resorts in Maldives.

The greatest value of the package lies in the fact that it includes all food and drinks in any of the hotel restaurants and bars (including room service). The breakfast in the buffet restaurant was so-so, nothing to write home about. We ended up ordering room service for breakfast in 3 of the 5 mornings, which was better than the buffet breakfast. In all 5 days, we had lunch at the Sand Coast restaurant. The a-la-carte menu offered a good variety of dishes, and with the exception of pizzas, most of the dishes we tried were very good, especially BBQ chicken. We were fortunate that they changed the menu in the middle of our stay, and so we were able to try dishes from both menus. The new menu included more luxurious dishes like lobster thermidor (very delicious) – which meant we got even better value out of the package. For dinner we went to the Sea Salt twice. This restaurant was where we got the package's worth, with luxurious dishes like lobsters, Angus steaks, foie gras etc, all cooked to perfection. Even though we were very full at the end of every meal, we could not resist the delicious mouth-watering desserts at both the Sand Coast and Sea Salt (especially the latter). The Thai restaurant was superb too, though we went there only once. As a matter of personal taste, we were not much into Thai food, but if you like Thai food you will have another great choice here. We also had in-villa BBQ one night. Though the food in the BBQ set menu was hit-and-miss, it was a wonderful experience to cook ourselves under the stars, in front of the ocean in a private villa. Throughout the day, the pool bar provided unlimited snacks and an impressive variety of cocktails, which we ordered numerous times.

As for the things to do, the package included one activity per day. We took the dolphin sunset cruise once, sunset fishing once, and the massage in the spa 3 times. Another option was reef snorkeling, but we were not good swimmers and decided not to choose it. The dolphin sunset cruise was great fun. We had bad luck at the sunset fishing and were not able to catch any fish. Among the included activities, we think that the spa, located on its own island, gave us the best value. We were so satisfied with the service that we decided to go there 3 times, rather than testing our luck again at fishing. At other times, we did canoeing (also included in the package), relaxed in our private pool, swam in the common pool, watched shark feeding at the beach, or just laid on one of the comfortable beds near the bar, watching the beautiful sunset, eating and drinking... The time passed very quickly and we felt we did not stay long enough.

There were some minor issues though. We had a late departure flight at 11pm the last day and were granted late checkout till 3pm. On the night before the last day, we went to lobby front desk and asked if as part of the ocean plus package, we could have dinner after we checked out the last day. We were told that the ocean plus package only lasted until noon and we would need to pay for any food we ordered after noon. We explained that since we arrived at 11pm and did not take dinner the first day, we would be at a disadvantage if the package only lasted till noon, but the staff member insisted that it was hotel policy that the package ended at the normal checkout time, no matter what time we arrived. Then on the morning the last day, we decided to ask again, and this time, to our relief a second staff member told us that we could have complimentary buffet dinner at the Feast restaurant. Then later, after we had lunch at the Sand Coast (we had to hurry to order everything before noon), we went to ask again, and a third staff member told us that we could enjoy all benefits of the package until we left, so we could dine at any restaurant that night. We could not understand why we got 3 different answers from 3 staff members, and we did not know whom to trust. In the end we decided to just take the buffet, since we did not want to be charged unexpectedly at the other restaurants. I think it was not a problem of the staff since they all answered our questions politely, but the management should have told all the staff the precise policy for customers who had late arrival and departure flights.

Another issue was the buffet dinner at the Feast restaurant. The food variety was lacking and the quality was underwhelming. It was more like the standard of a poor 3-star hotel at 5-star pricing, and did not live up to the 5-star standard of the other restaurants. It was not a big issue for us, since we only took the buffet the last day and it was complimentary. But for other customers who paid full board with other rooms, which would only allow them to take meals at the Feast, I could imagine them disgruntled at the food.

Overall, I strongly recommend the ocean plus package at this resort. If you have an unlimited amount of money to spend, there are likely more extravagant choices elsewhere; but for an all-inclusive deal, this is probably the best you can find in the Maldives. It is the definition of value-for-money; if you choose the right restaurants (avoid the Feast) and order cocktails and snacks from the pool bar at will, you will certainly get your money's worth.

Room Tip: ocean villa with ocean plus package
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Hello and thank you for sharing your Sheraton holiday experience - it's great to read that you have enjoyed your vacation with us and our Ocean Plus package.

The Ocean Plus is a terrific package that as you say, offers all food & drinks included across all our restaurants.

Regarding your check-out - you were told the correct hotel policy on the first occassion.

Again, thanks for choosing to stay at Sheraton Maldives - we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Sunny regards, Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,281 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

Very mixed feelings after our 4d-3 night stay. To put the review in context, we are frequent travelers, SPG Platinum, and usually stay at 3-5 star hotels. This was our 1st visit to the Maldives and the 2nd resort of the trip. I apologize in advance for the length of this review.

Service
- The purpose of this trip was to celebrate a milestone birthday, and my husband mentioned this to the front desk on check-in and again during our stay. On final checkout at 4pm, he asked again if the hotel does anything special to celebrate birthdays, such as sending a piece of cake. He was told that they do, but that they would not do anything since the actual day of my birthday was at midnight that day and we were leaving the hotel at 9pm to catch our flight back home. This was a necessity as my birthday was on a Sunday, I had to work Monday, and our flight home was 30 hrs. We found that to be splitting hairs, but decided not to make a fuss because it wasn't a huge deal. We had already given them 3 reminders, and felt they did not want to do anything for my birthday if they could get away with not doing anything extra. It says a lot about how this hotel treats its guests.
- We called the front desk to request to borrow 2 spoons, and they said it would be 10 US dollars. The next day, we argued this at the front desk, and were finally given the 2 spoons without charge as a one-time favor.
- On one day, the electricity went out suddenly. We called the front desk to report this, and they said it was a scheduled outage from 12pm-4pm and we should have gotten a letter explaining this. We had received no letter.
- Room service was poor in the beachfront deluxe rm. Beach towels were cleared but no replacement towels given. Our two dirty cups were left undisturbed, and the eaten welcome platter was not cleared. We brought these things outside to the room service since they were still only a couple doors down. They said they would bring replacement cups. This never happened. Room service however was excellent in the overwater bungalow.
- Internet is supposed to be complimentary for SPG platinum. It was broken in both rooms that we stayed in. We were able to call in someone to fix it both times.
- Bring a laptop if you want internet. The business center computers are slow. While waiting for our room internet to get fixed, I spent 23 min trying to look up resort restaurant recs from tripadvisor reviews, and in all that time was only able to get google.com and one tripadvisor page to load. Wifi seemed ok though.
- Another SPG platinum perk is guaranteed late checkout at 4pm if available. We requested this the morning before, and were told to come back later. At 4 pm, we went back to ask, and were told to ask again at 6 pm. At 6pm, we were told to ask again at 9pm. At 9 pm, we called one final time and were told that we could have a late checkout. We understand needing to wait until occupancy could be confirmed, but this has never been so difficult elsewhere.

- Lastly, the staff. 60% were great. The big standouts were Derek and the rest of the team at Sea Salt, and Aslam, who worked to clean the overwater bungalows. These people were Four Seasons quality and went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome, constantly trying to improve every guest's experience- we felt like friends by the end of the trip.
- The remaining 40% were somewhat unfriendly and unhelpful. The employee at the water sports center was rude to everyone for no reason.

The Rooms
As SPG Platinum, we are guaranteed an upgrade to overwater bungalow if available. On the first night, we were told no upgrades were available. On the 2nd aftn, we asked again, and were told to ask again at 4pm. At 4pm, we asked again and were able to upgrade.
- Beachfront deluxe rm: Tastefully appointed and very spacious. The bathroom was beautiful but had poor ventilation and a very bad smell. The view was disappointing, mainly of the backs of the overwater bungalows. There was some sand and weeds on the floor when we arrived, but we figured that is to be expected in a beach setting. There were also some ants, but when we took away what they were after, they disappeared.
- Overwater bungalow: Luxurious, beautiful, and clean. The only things were the doorknob to the bathroom kept falling off, and the shower tends to overflow. The room was so beautiful though that we didn't mind. Others have commented that there is an island directly in front with a dock area and some construction. Although this makes the view less beautiful than the view from other islands, it is still quite a beautiful view.

Food
- Sea Salt was incredible and stunningly beautiful. We were blown away by the service at Sea Salt and at the Anchorage Bar. Food is pricey (i.e. mains start at $20s at the cheapest resort restaurant), but it's because they work hard to give guests the freshest ingredients, sometimes needing to fly in the foods.
- Bring snacks to help offset the cost of food. The rooms that we stayed in came with a hot water boiler and stirrers (no utensils).

Grounds/Activities
- The grounds are beautiful. Anchorage bar was a favorite spot with a spectacular sunset, daily shark feeding, and a game collection (chess, cards, scrabble).
- A dive center is on site and everyone was friendly and very knowledgeable. No whale sharks in this part of the Maldives, but many beautiful dive sites.
- Wide variety of water activities/tours available.
- Didn't see any bugs, but somehow got 30 small bites. I am someone who mosquitoes love though.
- Not much of a house reef for snorkeling. However, it's still the Maldives, and we were able to see some reef sharks, sea snakes, baby fish including a baby lionfish, and even a school of 8-10 stingrays under the water bungalows. There are also snorkeling tours.
- There was trash in the water (boxes, water bottles, plastic lids, plastic bags, a tarp). Not so much that the water seemed dirty. Sitting on our deck, we only saw about 1 piece of trash float by every 2 hrs.
- Coral is mainly dead. The water is very shallow and we saw many tourists walking all the way out to the buoys with snorkel masks on rather than swimming. I wish the hotel would have some policy against this as this tramples and kills what little coral there is.

Altogether, beautiful resort and great restaurants, but many little kinks. This is not a hotel that will go out of its way for you. Every little thing required effort on the part of the guest, leaving us with a bad feeling as we did not want to be a bother.

Room Tip: Go for the overwater bungalow- the interior alone is much nicer than the beachfront deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pairofsocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Hello . .

Firstly, congruatulations on your SPG - Platinum. Thank you for sharing your comments / feedback from your stay with us, I am sorry to read that we have not met your expectations in all areas.

The team and I will be reviewing your comments together.

Sunny regards, Ursula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

stay in water bungalow for 5 day in oct 2011 , it is better stay in water bungalow cos just below the bungalow there are more species of fish ,water more clear, then the beach cottage.
want to advise people must be careful when the baby shark swimming with the pack of small fish. i was stand in the beach half submerge in water, sunddenly the baby shark want to eat the small fish ,dont know why the baby beat on my leg. i later tell the receptionist to advice people stay away from the baby shark, he dont believe me, until i show him the shark beat mark on my leg, and also not offer any help.
the food also expensive, the sea salt buffet is us$85 , the nice food is bbq chicken ,bbq fish, bbq prawn . but don't provide free drink, veg and fruit...

got people review go for fishing and pay $20 for the fish. but it is quite hard to catch large fish. i caught on a small fish, if want to eat must pay $20x2person = $40 for the small fish..

the room is not equip with snorkeling equipment must borrow from diving center for free. but i can only borrow 10am-5pm and must return everyday. 6am-10am is the perfect time to snorkeling but dont have snorkeling equipment to use...
i think snorkeling equipment should to available for all room.

the resort room is cheap and scenery is beauty , is worth for budget couples

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2011

Hello ..

Thank you for your comments and feedback - we appreciate hearing from you.

I am sorry to hear about your encouter with the wildlife - We have not heard of this before, so will look into your comments.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay at Sheraton .. Regards, Ursula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This trip needed to be special, more than special as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. While I did have the opportunity to dive and experience the magic that makes the Maldives so amazing, I can attest there is so much more than just diving. Well certainly at the Sheraton Full Moon & Spa Resort.

After deciding on the Maldives, we started to research which accommodations would best suit our needs; you’ll find there are a significant number of resorts to choose from. One of the primary reasons we choose the Sheraton was its close proximity to Male. To be honest after multiple flights to get there the last thing I wanted to do was jump into another plane (albeit a seaplane) for one more flight. The 15 minute speed boat ride to Furanafushi Island seemed like an ideal solution.

From the minute we entered, the island’s harbor we knew we had made the right choice. Not only was the setting unbelievable, but we were greeted by waving staff, welcoming us, if you will “setting the stage” for what would become a truly fantastic experience.

Just for a second, forget the static elements of your stay; things like your room, amenities and a property’s facilities. I truly believe it’s the people and how they interact with you that really create an unforgettable (or forgettable) stay experience. Hand to heart, the staff at the Sheraton, understand this completely! Everyone we met during our 9 day stay was pleasant, caring and committed to delivering exceptional guest service. Regardless of what their role happened to be, they made us feel welcome and even more, they wanted to engage us to ensure they were doing all that could do to deliver an incredible stay experience.

Being from the service industry, I can absolutely say that this culture needs to start at the top if it’s going to be successful. We commend the GM, the management team and the entire staff for embracing this philosophy; it truly makes a difference! Thanks to all of you for a fantastic experience. You have turned guests into repeat guests!!

With respect to the “static elements” of the resort, huge kudos to the team there too! The layout of the resort was great and everything was close but not too close. We still felt that we had the ability to have one to one time without feeling that people were on intruding on our personal space. Tough to do when you’re on a small island!

We had the good fortune of staying in an “Ocean Villa”, not much to say except its paradise. Truly a couples sanctuary; from the incredible ocean views to your private infinitely pool or the fantastically appointed guest room everything was designed to enhance your vacation experience in and outside the villa. Nothing better than finishing an evening off with a midnight dip with champagne poolside! (I warn you it makes coming home tough.)

The spa facilities located on the adjunct island; literally connect by a 100 foot wooden bridge. The location created a sense of isolation while providing welcome relief to our weary bodies. Nothing like 19 hours of plane time to beat one’s self up! If you can, we recommend you take to time to enjoy one of the treatments (we did several) to help rejuvenate yourself.
I
guess our biggest surprise was the food and the quality that we experienced. We knew it was going to be expensive; everything has to be brought in (except coconuts, bananas and watermelon) so we knew that was going to impact the price. I was surprised to read that others were shocked by this fact. The raw food is one thing, but the culinary skill of the chefs was outstanding. Their creativity, presentation and passion made the difference and gave us a dining experience every time. A special shout out to Chef Ravinadra for his excellent work. He also conducted a cooking class, which we took and highly recommend to all of you that like to cook! Great value and best of all you get access to this cooking genius; he’s patience and willing to answer all of your questions. A true gentleman in the kitchen!

I guess if you have read this novel (sorry for the long review) you can gather that we truly enjoyed our stay. More over our experience has converted us into believers and we’ll be back to the Maldives and to the Sheraton!

Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Hello and thank you for sharing your Sheraton Maldives holiday experience here on Trip Advisor.

It's great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. I know that the team will be equally as thrilled as I to read your comments.

Regards, Ursula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had only a long weekend, so the close location from the Male airport was key to our decision to stay at the Sheraton Full Moon. It's literally a 15-minute boat ride from the airport, so we were able to get there in no time and begin our vacation. We took a red-eye flight from Dubai and arrived at the resort around 9AM. We were thrilled that they were able to accommodate such an early check-in (and two days later our late check-out request) and we checked right in to our over-water bungalow and kicked back.

Having the ocean access right at our door was money well spent. We went snorkeling frequently throughout the day and saw black-tip reef sharks, rays, and all variety of fish--it was amazing!

I don't think anywhere in the Maldives can really be billed as a "value" vacation...but if you just relax and enjoy the brief time in paradise it's absolutely incredible.

We enjoyed the hotel breakfast, the Thai restaurant and the fish and chips in particular. The service was extraordinary--attentive but not invasive, which is my preferred style since we were really just looking to get away.

Also, had a great experience with the dive center at the resort. Extremely knowledgeable, prudent and thorough.

Would recommend this for anyone who wants to enjoy the oceans of the Maldives without too much hassle--it really was a weekend in paradise!

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade for an over-water bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcjmray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrsulaSchoefl, General Manager at Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Hi and thank you for taking the time to share your Sheraton Maldives holiday experience.

It's great to read that you had such a wonderful break - I will share your comments with the team from our restaurants and the dive centre, I know they will be equally thrilled as I to read your comments.

Now that you know we are so close to you in Dubai, we look forward to welcoming you to our water paradise whenever you need to escape your desert!

Sunny regards, Ursula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furanafushi Island
39.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,563 reviews
3.6 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,851 reviews
4.3 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,197 reviews
29.8 km away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,496 reviews
13.4 km away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa

Address: 20-15
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > Furanafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Furanafushi Island
Price Range: S$539 - S$1,671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa is situated on it's own private island surrounded by tropical landscaping and turquoise lagoons. With 176 guest rooms reflecting the tropical destination featuring the Sheraton Signature Bed. Facing the sunrise with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean are 20 Ocean Villas offer large bathrooms, comfortable living spaces and luxurious outdoor living areas complete with infinity edge plunge pools.Sheraton Maldives is just a 20-minute boat ride from Velena International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Hotel North Male Atoll
Full Moon Maldives
Full Moon Hotel Maldives
Full Moon Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing