We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
US$221
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$254
US$205
View deal
SAVE US$49
Hotels.com
US$254
US$204
View deal
SAVE US$50
Booking.comUS$221
getaroom.comUS$254
eDreamsUS$221
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,837)
Filter reviews
4,839 results
Traveller rating
2,945
1,255
372
138
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,945
1,255
372
138
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water bungalow main bar sun island resort our waiter shark feeding italian restaurant superior beach bungalow fish coffee shop water sports standard beach our honeymoon per day table tennis room boy half board hired bikes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 4,839 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We find in this resort a lot of entertainment and sports water
This resort is a nice place
It Have a good service team
And every night have a nice show in main bar with snoop the fitness instructor and he do the evening entertainment light show and fire show and dj belz amazing music
Nice restaurant nice place lovely people
Sure I will come again

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AymanS1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Island Maldives, Marketing at Sun Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear AymanS1270,

Greetings from Sun Island Resort!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives. We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that our team has taken good care of you. It will be our pleasure to share your compliments with Snoop and DJ Belz who will be happy to know their efforts have been recognized. You can always be assured of a warm welcome whenever you wish to return to stay at Sun Island Resort.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we hope to have you with us again on your next visit to the Maldives.

Best regards,
Sun Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very horrible experience. No proper communication regarding Water bunglows. They treat Indians like we are servant. When I made complaint about it, no response. I recommend Indians not to visit Sun Island ever if you are planning for Maldives.

Room tip: If you are Indian avoid visiting this resort. No respect, no attention.
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank isiddhesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Island Maldives, Marketing at Sun Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear isiddhesh,

Greetings from Sun Island Resort, Maldives!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination. We are very sorry that your experience was not up to expectations, however would like to highlight that every guest is welcome at Sun Island regardless of gender, race, health challenges, ethnicity, nationality, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, or other discrimination factors.

You can always be assured of a warm welcome whenever you wish to return to stay at Sun Island Resort.

Thank you for your review and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to the Maldives.

Best regards,
Sun Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here May 10 to 23, 2021. The flight Minsk-Istanbul-Male. Upon arrival we were met by a hotel representative and conducted on an internal flight. After landing, buses were waiting for us, on which we got to the pier, were a boat was waiting, which took us to the hotel. Yes, the rooms are not newly renovated, but it corresponds to the cost. In front of the previous rooms there is a scene that obscures the view of the water, but it did not interfere with us to contemplate all the beauty. There are not two steps to the water here, but you can watch lizards, birds, crabs, flying foxes and there is a shadow, which means there are mosquitoes (not many, but there are), and ants.The water here is bright turquoise, almost without fragments of coral underfoot, but not transparent. At low tide, it is quite shallow, which is good for children, and for an adult to be more than chest-high, you will have to move far from the coast. Transparent water was on the other side of the island (for example, on a sand spit (be careful, there is a very strong current and sharp drops in depth) near the center of water activities and water villas). The pool in the hotel had a bleach smell, the kids pool looked dirty due to the sand at the bottom (thanks to the holidaymakers).
Meals - in the restaurant you have a table and a waiter assigned to you, there are chairs for children (without an attached table) and chairs for older children.The buffet is no frills, but it is quite varied, there are Indian dishes, there is no separate "children's" menu.
Entertainment - watch the poster in the restaurant near the pool. The star of almost all events is Snoop, the dragon man) His fire show will appeal to everyone! You will definitely get hot) The light show performed by him is also not worth missing. He is also a fitness instructor. Loves to talk and speaks good Russian).
The staff is friendly and helpful. There are Russian speakers.Wearing masks is mandatory in any crowded places: near a buffet in a restaurant, in shops, feeding sharks and stingrays.
P.S. Tipping is appreciated!)

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank N1863HT_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Island Maldives, Marketing at Sun Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear N1863HT_,

Greetings from Sun Island Resort!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives. We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that our team has taken good care of you. It will be our pleasure to share your compliments with Snoop who will be happy to know his efforts have been recognized. You can always be assured of a warm welcome whenever you wish to return to stay at Sun Island Resort.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we hope to have you with us again on your next visit to the Maldives.

Best regards,
Sun Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was an unforgettable vacation.
From the moment we arrived until the farewell all the staff was incredible with an enormous desire to make us feel welcomed.
The rooms are beautiful, the beaches are breathtaking, and the food, besides being very tasty, has a huge variety and most importantly a huge quality.
It is indeed a heavenly place that I recommend to everyone.
But what impressed me most was the entertainer who was at the bar, since a light show at least incredible, his interaction with the audience is a master on stage, at the level of the best in the world.
His work is really impressive, from breathtaking fire shows to his fitness classes, he was one of the best surprises he could have had.
Point out the name of this young man who will still be playing cards all over the world Snoop.
Believe me it makes you want to come back if only to see another show again ...

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CoriolanoFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Island Maldives, Marketing at Sun Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear CoriolanoFerreira,

Greetings from Sun Island Resort!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives. We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that our team has taken good care of you. It will be our pleasure to share your compliments with Snoop who will be happy to know his efforts have been recognized. You can always be assured of a warm welcome whenever you wish to return to stay at Sun Island Resort.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we hope to have you with us again on your next visit to the Maldives.

Best regards,
Sun Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks to Sun Island for the great vacation for our family. It was a great time I spent. Nice room numbers, service, Island and animation! The fire show and lights show were great, thanks for Snoop! I started to do sports watching on his performance, that guy is really motivating.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank izhuhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Island Maldives, Marketing at Sun Island Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear izhuhan,

Greetings from Sun Island Resort!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives. We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that our team has taken good care of you. It will be our pleasure to share your compliments with Snoop who will be happy to know his efforts have been recognized. You can always be assured of a warm welcome whenever you wish to return to stay at Sun Island Resort.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we hope to have you with us again on your next visit to the Maldives.

Best regards,
Sun Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews