We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,982)
Filter reviews
2,983 results
Traveller rating
2,108
523
224
80
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,108
523
224
80
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showersunset beachlos caribesbuena vistaroyal servicemain beachbutler servicepool barmiddle beachbreakfast restaurantother resortspillow menusunset ceremonypizzafishsmall resortwalk in closet
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 2,983 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We stayed here for 6 nights during our holiday, beautiful setting. Very spacious, comfortable rooms, more like an apartment, enjoyed the outdoor private shower. Staff very accommodating, nothing too much trouble. Lester the Bar tender particularly stood out, very friendly and served up some excellent cocktails. Very relaxed setting particularly as it was adults only, beaches beautiful and food in the three restaurants was very tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank imw86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia_Buenavista, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear imw86,

First and foremost, thank you very much for taking your time to post your kind comments about your recent stay with us.

At Melia Buenavista we aim at making our guests feel at home by offering a warm and caring service, and we are so thrilled, proud and grateful for your comments regarding to the great service provided by our staff, who were very attentive toward your needs and make you all feel like you deserves. Thank you for letting us know how much you loved every single detail and aspect of your stay.

We’ll be looking forward to welcome you again in the near future and offer you another remarkable experience!

Kind Regards,

Ángel Pereira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

I spent recently 9 days at this Hotel and I have not enough words to express my gratitude to everyone working there!
This was my second stay and if the first one was excellent, this was just superb!
I was treated as a king by each and everyone from the Gardeners to the Managers!
Thank you very much to you all!

Room Tip: Beautiful and large Ocean View rooms! Excellent for couples.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Antonio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia_Buenavista, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear avidal1957,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your experience in Melia Buenavista.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience. We will transmit your lines with our staff team.

I will be happy to share your comments with the members of our team and look forward to welcoming you again to the Melia Buenavista!

Angel Pereira.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

This is my husband and I second visit to the Buena Vista and it just gets better and better! We got to know the staff very well, especially Miguel who is the food and beverage manager. He made sure every detail was taken care and nothing was too much trouble to accommodate. Thanks MIGUEL! We also had an opportunity to meet the resort manager, Miguel who was very friendly and approachable and caring of our stay. There was many great staff but especially Saylis in the lobby bar. The pool waiters and bartenders Orestes, Osmany, and Lester. I wish I could take you all home with me. It would make me the most popular house in the city!!! I love this resort, not just for the peace and quiet it provides but the wonderful staff that do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pathfinder704410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia_Buenavista, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your kind comments about your recent stay with us.

At Melia Buenavista we aim at making our guests feel at home by offering a warm and caring service, and we are so thrilled, proud and grateful for your comments regarding to the great service provided by our staff, who were very attentive toward your needs and make you all feel like you deserves. Thank you for letting us know how much you loved every single detail and aspect of your stay.We will transmit your recognition to our staff.

We’ll be looking forward to welcome you again in the near future and offer you another remarkable experience!

Sincerely yours,

Ángel Pereira.
Director General.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We spent one week at this fab hotel this month after a round trip around the country. This hotel has everything you need from A to Z. Great weather all week.

Rooms were amazing located with a beautiful sea front view modern design and well equiped. Outdoor shower is a must. Does it has 3 beaches for different stages and needs best one is sunset beach and central one for snorkelling. Food just fill expectatives and service Otdaniel is very professional over standard make you feel special. Drinks are great with a full list of mixes and cocktails. The best is the staff impossible to mention all of them.

Room Tip: Room 2422 great sea front view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank pulieminnie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia_Buenavista, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear pulieminnie,

Thank you very much for choosing the Melia Buenavista. We value your comments since they allow us to improve every day. We have taken note of your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future to offer you a better experience.

Sincerely,

Ángel Pereira.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We would like to thank MBV people for going above and beyond the call of duty in making every effort to please us and create great conditions for a wonderful vacation. I will name only a few, however, every MBV employee deserves kudos for their work, from the moment the bus stopped to drop us off till the moment we left. We enjoyed coffee and drinks at piano bar, thanks Saily. She was quick with the drinks and always met us with a big smile. Similarly at the beach bar, the bartender, I think his name is Orestes, was very friendly and swift, he always greeted us and served promptly. We were very pleased with a la carte restaurants, thanks to Odlanier and Luis, all was good and on time. Wonderful experience, all over.

This was our fifth time to Cuba, before this trip we went to Paradisus Princesa del Mar, Iberostar, Paradisus and Blau, all in Varadero. We had some concerns about the weather, possible rains or hurricanes, high temperature, mosquitos, food, and distance from the airport. It takes about 90 minutes, we didn’t like it but we were prepared for it and the ride was not too bad. Long term forecast was completely wrong, weather was excellent, there was some rain during night time, and wind was minimal and pleasant. Outside temperature was high but there was always some breeze coming from the sea. The breeze cools beach sand enough to walk around without any problems. Beach bartender was constantly strolling and offering refreshments. The beach is beautiful, clean, and not busy. Plenty of shade and places to dwell all the time, and to have some privacy too. We spent most of the time in the water. This was the best beach time we had so far in Cuba. We mostly stayed on the main beach, other two are much smaller.

We didn’t have troubles with mosquitos or other bugs, there were none in the room, there were few in the evening while sitting outside of the piano bar. They did fumigate hotel area every day. We had repellant spray but we didn’t use it at all. Lobby, restaurants and bar are closed spaces and constantly air conditioned. No sparrows, other birds or bugs helping themselves there, unlike other places in Cuba we’ve been so far.

The room was spacious and nice, clean and well maintained, air condition worked flawlessly and we had control over temperature settings. The fridge was always refilled with water and beer and we had enough coffee all the time. We especially liked the outside shower, very practical all day long. Our maid did great job keeping everything clean and out concierge Armando arranged restaurant events and order logistics.

We can go long on food and restaurants, overall we are satisfied, but having more a la carte restaurants would be definitely better. We found both a la carte restaurants to be good, once we realized that we have some vouchers for better wine we started using them. We liked the main restaurant too; it is combination of a buffet for starters and a la carte for the main course. It is surrounded by trees and tropical plants and connected with a walkway to main beach. It is clean, well-supplied, food is good and service is prompt. There was always enough space to sit. Pleasant atmosphere, convenient location, good food and service.

We liked evening entertainment, well, most of the time. As much as we liked the live music with minimal electronic assistance outside of the piano bar (there was a fantastic traditional five man band) and in the main restaurant more so we disliked karaoke and other electronically assisted and amplified sounds. It was loud, low quality, distorted and not in proportion to the space and people attending. And not in tune with the overall atmosphere of the hotel. This place projects tranquility and certain level of refinement and this type of entertainment simply doesn’t go with it, in our view. This is matter of personal preference but we thought it would be right to give accurate account on it from our perspective.

On the way back to the airport we talked with our fellow travelers and all of them were sharing similar views about the hotel and service. When we returned home we summarized our experiences one more time and concluded that this was the best Cuba vacation so far. We recommended hotel to all our friends and our kids too and we plan of coming back once we finish exploring other Cuban destinations. The next one is Holguin and then we will see. We have nothing more to say except to thank everybody at MBV one more time. Great work.

Milena & Blagoje
Windsor, Canada

Room Tip: 2nd floor to avoid potential noise from above
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blagoje C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia_Buenavista, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Dear milan_toplica,

Thank you very much for your rating of 5 stars!! We strive continually to ensure a memorable stay for our guests and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed it too. We also appreciate your feedback which allows us to focus on developing actions to improve the experience of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Angel Pereira.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews