We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Nearby Hotels
US$182
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Memories Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
US$200
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
Reviews (4,611)
Filter reviews
4,611 results
Traveller rating
1,846
1,502
692
354
217
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,846
1,502
692
354
217
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach restaurantjuan carlosthe bussnack barfisha la carte restaurantspizzacalamaribuffet restaurantday bedtai chientertainment staffthe grillair transatsanta mariawater pressurewater polo
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 4,611 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Its in a beautiful location the beaches are pristine. All restaurants are a la carte and they have full bars and nightclubs after 12am. The property is up to normal standards the rooms are clean. The service is ok.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The hotel is ok-ish at best but certainly doesn't deserved a 5* rating.

The room was fine, spacious and a confortable bed. However, it was neglected with humidity in the walls and lack of paint. You have everything included in the minibar but you are lucky if you find anything in it. We have to ask a couple of days for a new bottle of water since the empty one had not been replaced.

You get one set of beach towels for your whole stay that you need to carry around at all times and not loose since you need to get a paper back when you return them in order to not be charged at checkout.

Probably the worse part of the hotel is the food. The buffet which is basically the only place you will be able to eat is disgusting, the food is mostly reheated with little flavour and, in general, very oily. I got very sick during two of my days at this hotel with food poisoning. It always had huge lines and the tables are not well taken care off, although there is quite a bit of personnel they don't seem to have a grip on everything and when you ask for something it simply takes forever or no one knows who you should speak to.

Also the special restaurants are a mess, First, you only get one booking for a 3 night stay (2 for 5 days and three if you stay a week). However, most of the restaurants they have were closed so only four were available when we were there and of course they were sold out days in advance. We finally managed to get a reservation at the Asian restaurant, just one recommendation: avoid it at all costs!!! the food was horrible!!!

As in the rest of Cuba in order to have internet you have to buy connection cards (which are sold next to the reception). However, contrary to plazas and other spots in small or bigs towns, here the internet works randomly if you even manage to connect... a disaster!

The beach and water are beautiful, although the beach area where you can actually lay is extremely small (inexistent in the afternoon when the tide is high) and the bars at the beach run out of many of the drinks quite often.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Korphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

I used to love Meliá but I see their standards dropping more and more...the hotel is located in a gorgeous beach, no doubt about that. However facilities are not well maintained at all, giving you this feeling of decadent location.

But w worst part is by far their staff....not friendly especially if you don't tip, which I wasn't expecting on an all included 5 star hotel. Eg. Cook special dishes for people that tip, my catamaran ride was 15 min vs 1h with a tip....made us feel really second class. This requires urgent attention from management.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Just got back home from being evacuated from Cuba. Had a great stay at the hotel. Not sure why I read so many complaints. We had a great time and have really no complaints. When you go to Cuba you need to know that the people are great and very welcoming. You may not get the same service that you do in other places but they also do not have access to the resources. This is a four star resort and you definitely get that service. I would go back. Make sure you something to protect yourself from the flies. They can be bad at dusk. Overall excellent holiday.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BBugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The staff and management are great people at this resort. The dining room staff will look after needs just make sure you always go the same sitting area. The front deck are very helpful But most of all the management are just super that is why we have gone back there 4 times and we plan on returning hopefully in Nov.2017 and we are looking forward to the trip back. Thank you to all the staff & management at Melia Cayo Santa Maria.

Room Tip: Take some every day needs for the staff, they do not make a lot of money
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews