We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have just got back from being evacuated from Cuba after hurricane Irma. We arrived here on Tuesday 5th September and the check in went really quick and smooth. We were taken to our room on a buggy and the driver pointed out all the local amenities. The room was spotless although we had a couple of issues. Our sink was blocked and a thick black mess kept coming up but I contacted reception and it was sorted within an hour. We also had a blocked air con drain (hubby knew the issue!) and again it was resolved pretty quick but we were left with a flooded bathroom and no maid came to clean it up.

We visited the buffet restaurant and the food was ok. It wasn't very hot and not a little bland but there was enough to eat and choose from (not sure if I would have felt the same after 2 weeks of eating it!)
The snack bar by the pool did a lovely thin crispy pizza and even did me a half of one as I couldn't eat a full one!

The pool was clean and plenty of sun beds. You don't need to get up at 6am to reserve a bed! The beach was amazing! Snow White sand and crystal clear water. Beautiful!

We didn't get the chance to try any restaurants on site as we were moved on Thursday 8th to Varadero with the hurricane approaching.

All the staff we encountered we really pleasant and we had no issues at all. It's not a 5star hotel so don't go expecting it but you wouldn't be disappointed! I am unsure how the hotel faired after the hurricane as I know it took a direct hit along with many hotels in the Cayo's. It's so sad to think of the destruction and devastating affect on locals as Cuba is a lovely country.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Anjella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 4,356 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its in a beautiful location the beaches are pristine. All restaurants are a la carte and they have full bars and nightclubs after 12am. The property is up to normal standards the rooms are clean. The service is ok.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is ok-ish at best but certainly doesn't deserved a 5* rating.

The room was fine, spacious and a confortable bed. However, it was neglected with humidity in the walls and lack of paint. You have everything included in the minibar but you are lucky if you find anything in it. We have to ask a couple of days for a new bottle of water since the empty one had not been replaced.

You get one set of beach towels for your whole stay that you need to carry around at all times and not loose since you need to get a paper back when you return them in order to not be charged at checkout.

Probably the worse part of the hotel is the food. The buffet which is basically the only place you will be able to eat is disgusting, the food is mostly reheated with little flavour and, in general, very oily. I got very sick during two of my days at this hotel with food poisoning. It always had huge lines and the tables are not well taken care off, although there is quite a bit of personnel they don't seem to have a grip on everything and when you ask for something it simply takes forever or no one knows who you should speak to.

Also the special restaurants are a mess, First, you only get one booking for a 3 night stay (2 for 5 days and three if you stay a week). However, most of the restaurants they have were closed so only four were available when we were there and of course they were sold out days in advance. We finally managed to get a reservation at the Asian restaurant, just one recommendation: avoid it at all costs!!! the food was horrible!!!

As in the rest of Cuba in order to have internet you have to buy connection cards (which are sold next to the reception). However, contrary to plazas and other spots in small or bigs towns, here the internet works randomly if you even manage to connect... a disaster!

The beach and water are beautiful, although the beach area where you can actually lay is extremely small (inexistent in the afternoon when the tide is high) and the bars at the beach run out of many of the drinks quite often.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Korphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

I used to love Meliá but I see their standards dropping more and more...the hotel is located in a gorgeous beach, no doubt about that. However facilities are not well maintained at all, giving you this feeling of decadent location.

But w worst part is by far their staff....not friendly especially if you don't tip, which I wasn't expecting on an all included 5 star hotel. Eg. Cook special dishes for people that tip, my catamaran ride was 15 min vs 1h with a tip....made us feel really second class. This requires urgent attention from management.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Just got back home from being evacuated from Cuba. Had a great stay at the hotel. Not sure why I read so many complaints. We had a great time and have really no complaints. When you go to Cuba you need to know that the people are great and very welcoming. You may not get the same service that you do in other places but they also do not have access to the resources. This is a four star resort and you definitely get that service. I would go back. Make sure you something to protect yourself from the flies. They can be bad at dusk. Overall excellent holiday.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BBugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
7.2 km away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,269 reviews
0.4 km away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,343 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,670 reviews
2.7 km away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,087 reviews
2.2 km away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Santa Maria

Address: Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: $200 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Cayo Santa Maria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the 5- star All-Inclusive Meliá Cayo Santa María hotel, especially designed for families, surrounded by beautiful beaches and lush tropical vegetation. This property (358 rooms) offers facilities for incentives groups and a special wedding and honeymoon program. A perfect complement for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Santa Maria Melia
Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Santa Maria Cuba
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing