We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Rakuten Travel
US$97
View deal
Booking.comUS$102
PricelineUS$113
Agoda.comUS$104
Trip.comUS$164
Vio.comUS$113
eDreamsUS$102
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
18
59
42
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
59
42
14
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Guest needs to be aware that this is a very traditional Japanese style hotel, and the room also traditional style, no bed, just (fold-able) mattress on tatami. Mostly sat on the floor. We stayed in a family room the size is just like an average size double room, so with four mattresses spread out there was little room left.The staff.
This is an onsen hotel but the onsen quality is average. It provides very comfortable resting lounge... internet only in the lounge. Only some of the staff speak limited Englsih (manageble). The breakfast is inclusve in the room rate but mostly Japanese style. Free marking on site, but need to pay onsen tax 600 yen for the one night use. One downside of the room is when you flush the toilet it generated thunderous noise that will wake up everybody in the room! Location is ok as it is easily accessible and there is a small convenient shop. A number of restaurants nearby.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanmalaysia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We stayed at this hotel with a group of friends and unfortunately it was not a good experience compared to the other places we stayed during our trip to Hokkaido.
Due to a booking mix up we did not get rooms with lakeside views. Those that we did get were in need of renovation due to very worn tatami mats, worn and grubby curtains and shoji screens that had many holes in them. The rooms also smelled strongly of cigarette smoke even though we had specifically booked non-smoking rooms.
The dining room had great views over Lake Toya but the food was just average and the tables had old plastic table cloths on them. The overall impression that we took away was that this had once been a very nice hotel but it was now badly in need of an upgrade and renovation if it is ever to return to its past glory.

Room tip: Try to get a genuine non-smoking room with lake views.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26waynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We have never been to a ryokan before so can't compare it to others, but we had a brilliant stay that was a highlight of our trip. It was great value half-board, the room was extremely spacious compared to everywhere else we stayed in Japan, the staff were very friendly, courteous and professional and the onsen was lovely. The food was presented beautifully (we had dinner and breakfast in our room both days) - mostly it was fantastic (in particular the nabe and noodle soup), however the sashimi was a little disappointing. The drinks seemed relatively expensive, however there was a fridge in the room which we stocked with beers from the 7/11 a couple of minutes down the road. We had a partial lake view - we watched the fireworks from our room on the first night but found that the view was better watching from the waterfront. The beds are traditional futons with hard beany pillows which we found a little uncomfortable, but we slept fine by doubling the futon thickness with a spare from the cupboard, and using chair cushions instead of the pillow! Overall we had a fantastic time and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank han2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

While this place is not at the waterfront, it has fewer tourists that comes by the bus loads. We got a room at the 6th floor and it has a nice partial lake view that we could see the fireworks.

Good price for 1/2 board and it wasn't buffet like the others. We got food served in the room.

Can't fault this place.

Date of stay: July 2015
1  Thank 74salt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

Hotel is very clean and the staff are super friendly and nice.

The room is typical Japanese style and bathroom is a bit small but you will be doing that in the onsen spa area so don't worry.

Food was excellent and the staff were super nice. Free beer set every dinner meal. The one guy even gave us extra sake as ours wasn't enough as he thought.

downfalls: hard thin pillows filled with massage plastics (typical Japanese style though). No juices available for breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jinesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews