We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$245
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/22
Booking.com
US$164
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Hotels.comUS$174
PricelineUS$171
Destinia.comUS$306
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
54
167
110
36
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
167
110
36
32
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2019

I have been to stay at Lake Toya many years ago, and I have been looking forward to the hotel in Lake Toya. Check in at one pm,I didn't expect the hotel to give the Internet customer a poor and rating room 851. The room was not only very narrow and small, the carpet was worn out, the sofa was dirty, and the phone was an old-style rotary phone 20 years ago. It is hard to believe that such a dilapidated room would cost US$220. Ask the counter why the room is different from the photos on the Internet. The service staff answered that it was just a web photo. Seeking assistance from the hotel duty manager at 8/23 pm, the manager refused because he show did not understand English. It is hard to believe that the manager of a hotel does not understand English or deliberately pretends not to understand English? I am very grateful to a service person who speaks Chinese for his assistance in translation. After continuous communication with the counter, the counter later took out the key of Room 606 and told me that this was the type of room I originally ordered on the Internet. I don’t understand why the hotel was arranged at the beginning of the stay. What about the 851 room type? (The room in the west building is dilapidated, and the room in Dongdong is refurbished) In Japan, the price of a child under the age of 12 is cheaper, but the hotel charges the adult's expenses, which is really unreasonable! Although the hotel later let me upgrade the room type with the cost of adult and child , it has made me completely untrustworthy to this hotel! It is a pity that the beauty of Lake Toya is beautiful.
多年前也到過洞爺湖,對洞爺湖的飯店一直有所期待,下午一點Check in。沒想到飯店給網路訂房的客戶等級很差的房間851。房間不僅非常的窄小壓迫,地毯破舊,沙發骯髒,連電話都是20年前的舊式旋轉電話,很難相信這樣一個破舊的房間要美金$220。問櫃檯為什麼房間和網路上看到的照片不一樣,服務人員回答那只是網路照片而已⋯⋯
尋求8/23下午飯店值班經理協助,經理卻以他不懂英文而拒絕。很難相信一間飯店的經理竟然不懂英文或者故意裝作不懂英文?非常感謝有一位會講中文的服務人員協助做翻譯。
經過和櫃檯不斷地溝通,櫃檯後來拿出606房間的鑰匙告訴我,這間是我原本在網路上訂購的房型,那就不懂為何一開始在入住的時候,飯店是安排我入住等級非常差的851房型呢?
(飯店位於西棟的房間是破舊的,東棟的房間才是有重新裝潢過的)
在日本的飯店12歲以下小孩入住的價格較便宜,但是飯店卻收大人的費用,真的很不合理!
雖然飯店後來讓我用大人和小孩的費用加價升級房型,但是已經讓我對這間飯店完全無法信任!真的可惜了洞爺湖的美景。

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SEKWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2019

As in the title. The food was so-so, there were no numbers to call for room service, no hair dryer available and part of the wardrobe was stained in my mother's room. Would not recommend unless you are desperate for a decent view of lake toya.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meijean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2019

The room was the dirtiest room I have seen in Japan. It was a Western style room, although we asked for Japanese style, and it was not lakeside. I wonder if this makes a difference. It was really dirty. If it had been a one-star hotel, I would have thought they could clean it better but ok; for a relatively expensive three star, it was really very dirty.

That being said, the onsen was very clean and the outdoor part had nice views of the lake. The dinner and breakfast were both good. I believe they have one dining area for Japanese and another for non-Japanese, and because we were with Japanese people, we ate in the Japanese section.

Room tip: maybe for an ocean view it would be worth it but the mountain view was dirty
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank an12an
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2019 via mobile

Choose this hotel for its absolutely spot on location right next to Toya Lake (Toyako in Japanese). It has a front and centre view of Nakanoshima Island which sits in the middle of the Lake Toya caldera as well as the spectacular Mount Yotei in the background (snow-clad even in late May).

The room we got faces the front car park and not the more expensive lake-facing ones, some of which come with balconies. Our room is styled in the traditional Japanese ryokan which means futon mattresses and floor level dining table and chairs sitting on tatami mats.

The hotel has a nice lobby to the extent that we felt that the hotel's renovation budget was primarily spent on this part of the hotel and not on the rooms.

The hotel has an Onsen at level 9 which offers a direct view of the lake. Those who are open to this experience can take the opportunity to shower there instead of taking a bath in the room's small bathroom / toilet.

Buffet-style meals (breakfast and dinner) are offered in a large banquet room at level 2. The dinner spread was reasonable and focused more on Japanese / Chinese fare. The breakfast offering covers both Asian and Western palates.

When we checked in on a Friday, there was a firework display which started at 8.45pm which lasted for about 20 minutes. The fireworks were launched from boats and floating platforms on the lake. The display takes place every night at 8.45pm.

There is a long and wide path running between the hotel and the lake which allows guests to take in the majestic natural vista that is Lake Toya.

This hotel is recommended for a no-frills stay at lakeside Toyako, well no-frills except for the daily fireworks display!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Andrew_Deep_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2019

This hotel has received a number of negative reviews which do not bear out with the experience my family and I had last week. We stayed two nights. The Kohantei is a need of a little renovation, but overall, it is very well presented, very clean with impeccable staff. The cost per night does appear expensive - approx. 30,000 Yen per night for a family of four, however this includes breakfast and dinner and bus transfer from and too Sapporo Station or the New Chitose Airport.

I will discuss each aspect of the Kohantei experience in detail.

Bus transfer. We departed from Sapporo Station at 1.30pm and arrived in Toyako at approximate 4.30pm. It should be noted that in the height of winter, the bus is often only travelling at 40kmh with maybe a max speed of 60kmh. It is a long trip but very picturesque. The driver stops for one comfort break as there is no toilet on the bus. The return trip departs the Hotel at 9.45 am and arrives at Sapporo Station at approximately 12.45pm.

Arrival.
Hokkaido gets dark early in the winter and Toyako is no exception. So 4.30pm means the whole resort town is in late dusk. The front desk staff were courteous and professional. Most members could speak English. The staff advised on meal times and hotel and town diversions.

The Room.
We had a 14 tatami mat room overlooking the mountains. If possible, opt for the lake view. It is glorious as the mountain view is more the view of the side of snow bound land feature. The room fittings were a little frayed but overall in good order. A bottle of cold water was in the fridge and tea and rice crackles were waiting on the main room table. Yukata robes for four were in the robe. Note - kids size and extra large yukata are available in the lobby. Also available in the lobby are the colourful summer girls yukata with silk obi and zori sandles. Yukata are worn throughout the hotel. You wear them to the Onsen, you wear them to dinner, you wear them in the lobby. You wear them to sleep. They are very comfortable. The heating in the hotel is sufficient that you can wear the cotton yukata without a jacket. After you return from dinner on your first night, you will find the hotel staff have laid out the futons for sleeping. The linen is clean, fresh and crisp. We found that the 14 mat room was very roomy for a family of four.

Onsen.
The 9th floor of the hotel is the onsen floor. There are two - one for males, the other for women. The onsens are switched so the guests get a chance to experience both types of bath as they are different. Both have epic views over the lake. One though has its outdoor section under cover with two large round baths and a stone lined Rotenburo (outdoor natural pond style bath). The other onsen has a big outdoor area that is completely open to the world. It has a big round bath and three bathroom type baths on a deck as well as the Rotenburo. When we were staying, this outdoor area was covered in snow. Very beautiful and an amazing experience sitting in the 47C onsen water with snow falling on your hair. Both onsens have indoor baths as well, with a huge plate glass window separating the bather from the world and the magnificent view. The onsen facilities are spotless.

Dining
The room fee includes breakfast and dinner in a buffet restaurant. Contrary to the other reviews, we found the buffet to have a good selection of various Japanese dishes including fresh sashimi. Breakfast had both Japanese and western options available. The food was fresh, well made and presented. The house miso soup was an outstanding prawn/shrimp made broth packed with flavor. Soft drink, hot and cold tea and coffee is available on the buffet. Beer, sake and shochu is available, however is a little on the expensive side by Japanese standards, with a chu-jockey coming in at 650 Yen. A 2000 Yen drink package is available for one hour.

Hotel facilities.
There is a shop that sells a very good array of local products as souvenirs as well as array of minor groceries including alcohol. Prices are very reasonable with 500ml cans of Sapporo Classic selling for 310 Yen. Drinks purchased from the shop can be drank in the hotel lobby. The hotel bar was closed during our stay. There is a games room with karaoke booths, pool and table tennis. These can be paid for at reception.

Hopefully readers will find this review helpful. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kohantei and would recommend it to anyone.

Room tip: Ask for a view of the lake
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews