We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Trip.com
US$235
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/01/22
ZenHotels.com
US$245
View deal
Agoda.com
US$167
View deal
Destinia.comUS$261
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
54
167
110
36
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
167
110
36
32
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in October 2019

Pros

Restaurant staff were very helpful. I loved the restaurant layout and service. It is cosy and traditional without being at all intimidating.

The dinner buffet was excellent. I have read previous reviews and perhaps the quality has improved.

Our room had a beautiful view of the lake. We had a small Japanese style seating area which was great.

The fireworks are fantastic. Would love to see them again.

Cons

Room was smoking when I had messaged and asked for non smoking. I suspect the website contact us form may not have worked.

Room quite smelly due to the smoke.

Bathroom tiny. I could sit down but certainly not very attractive.

Breakfast was ok but not as good as dinner.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank V1110UBpaulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2019

I have been to stay at Lake Toya many years ago, and I have been looking forward to the hotel in Lake Toya. Check in at one pm,I didn't expect the hotel to give the Internet customer a poor and rating room 851. The room was not only very narrow and small, the carpet was worn out, the sofa was dirty, and the phone was an old-style rotary phone 20 years ago. It is hard to believe that such a dilapidated room would cost US$220. Ask the counter why the room is different from the photos on the Internet. The service staff answered that it was just a web photo. Seeking assistance from the hotel duty manager at 8/23 pm, the manager refused because he show did not understand English. It is hard to believe that the manager of a hotel does not understand English or deliberately pretends not to understand English? I am very grateful to a service person who speaks Chinese for his assistance in translation. After continuous communication with the counter, the counter later took out the key of Room 606 and told me that this was the type of room I originally ordered on the Internet. I don’t understand why the hotel was arranged at the beginning of the stay. What about the 851 room type? (The room in the west building is dilapidated, and the room in Dongdong is refurbished) In Japan, the price of a child under the age of 12 is cheaper, but the hotel charges the adult's expenses, which is really unreasonable! Although the hotel later let me upgrade the room type with the cost of adult and child , it has made me completely untrustworthy to this hotel! It is a pity that the beauty of Lake Toya is beautiful.
多年前也到過洞爺湖,對洞爺湖的飯店一直有所期待,下午一點Check in。沒想到飯店給網路訂房的客戶等級很差的房間851。房間不僅非常的窄小壓迫,地毯破舊,沙發骯髒,連電話都是20年前的舊式旋轉電話,很難相信這樣一個破舊的房間要美金$220。問櫃檯為什麼房間和網路上看到的照片不一樣,服務人員回答那只是網路照片而已⋯⋯
尋求8/23下午飯店值班經理協助,經理卻以他不懂英文而拒絕。很難相信一間飯店的經理竟然不懂英文或者故意裝作不懂英文?非常感謝有一位會講中文的服務人員協助做翻譯。
經過和櫃檯不斷地溝通,櫃檯後來拿出606房間的鑰匙告訴我,這間是我原本在網路上訂購的房型,那就不懂為何一開始在入住的時候,飯店是安排我入住等級非常差的851房型呢?
(飯店位於西棟的房間是破舊的,東棟的房間才是有重新裝潢過的)
在日本的飯店12歲以下小孩入住的價格較便宜,但是飯店卻收大人的費用,真的很不合理!
雖然飯店後來讓我用大人和小孩的費用加價升級房型,但是已經讓我對這間飯店完全無法信任!真的可惜了洞爺湖的美景。

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SEKWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2019

As in the title. The food was so-so, there were no numbers to call for room service, no hair dryer available and part of the wardrobe was stained in my mother's room. Would not recommend unless you are desperate for a decent view of lake toya.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Meijean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2019

The room was the dirtiest room I have seen in Japan. It was a Western style room, although we asked for Japanese style, and it was not lakeside. I wonder if this makes a difference. It was really dirty. If it had been a one-star hotel, I would have thought they could clean it better but ok; for a relatively expensive three star, it was really very dirty.

That being said, the onsen was very clean and the outdoor part had nice views of the lake. The dinner and breakfast were both good. I believe they have one dining area for Japanese and another for non-Japanese, and because we were with Japanese people, we ate in the Japanese section.

Room tip: maybe for an ocean view it would be worth it but the mountain view was dirty
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank an12an
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2019 via mobile

Choose this hotel for its absolutely spot on location right next to Toya Lake (Toyako in Japanese). It has a front and centre view of Nakanoshima Island which sits in the middle of the Lake Toya caldera as well as the spectacular Mount Yotei in the background (snow-clad even in late May).

The room we got faces the front car park and not the more expensive lake-facing ones, some of which come with balconies. Our room is styled in the traditional Japanese ryokan which means futon mattresses and floor level dining table and chairs sitting on tatami mats.

The hotel has a nice lobby to the extent that we felt that the hotel's renovation budget was primarily spent on this part of the hotel and not on the rooms.

The hotel has an Onsen at level 9 which offers a direct view of the lake. Those who are open to this experience can take the opportunity to shower there instead of taking a bath in the room's small bathroom / toilet.

Buffet-style meals (breakfast and dinner) are offered in a large banquet room at level 2. The dinner spread was reasonable and focused more on Japanese / Chinese fare. The breakfast offering covers both Asian and Western palates.

When we checked in on a Friday, there was a firework display which started at 8.45pm which lasted for about 20 minutes. The fireworks were launched from boats and floating platforms on the lake. The display takes place every night at 8.45pm.

There is a long and wide path running between the hotel and the lake which allows guests to take in the majestic natural vista that is Lake Toya.

This hotel is recommended for a no-frills stay at lakeside Toyako, well no-frills except for the daily fireworks display!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Andrew_Deep_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews