We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$221
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/07/22
Expedia.com
US$219
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Agoda.com
US$211
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Hotels.comUS$219
PricelineUS$230
TravelocityUS$219
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
7
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
7
7
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel bath facilities dinner onsen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2019 via mobile

WE Hotel Experience
We wanted to view the architecture of this pretty new hotel which seemed to be located in the middle of no where in Toya. We were lost off track several times and ended up in areas which was snow everywhere as we cannot see any defined roads. WE Hotel is designed by the same architect who did the new Tokyo Olympic Stadium. On arrival in the thick of winter, after much ado, as we got lost a few times even though we had GPS assistance, we were greeted with a special ambience in the hotel. If you are visiting fir the first time, you would be "wowed" by all that you see. Especially the interior design treatment of the EZO Restaurant and the Bar area, decked with barrels on ceiling and bottom of bar counter. Room was interesting - you need to experience it to enjoy it. Description cannot convey the enjoyment felt. It was simple indulgence just soaking in the wooden bath tub in my room balcony, overlooking the pretty wintry scenery of Lake Toya.
However, the hotel dinner is far too expensive - LACKED VALUE FOR MONEY!!! The food served was tacky and unrefined. It also lacked refinement in taste and skill.
For this amount of money spent (EZO Restaurant mid-priced course set dinner @ 18,000 yen per pax before tax), I could get a lovely French course set dinner in Hirafu's Kamimura, which served one of the best French fine dine. The food served was simply heavenly and this is what value for money is. You must enjoy what you pay for!
The management is also lacking in details as its outdoor onsen was soo cold we could not use it. Being experienced onsen users, we were surprised by this low level glitch. After feedback, then only did the staff realise that the outdoor onsen was far too cold. Thus, we lost the night time slot to soak and rejuvenate in the outdoor onsen after dinner. We only realised how wonderful the outdoor onsen was the next morning but there was little time left for us to enjoy it and bask in its 'hot' water.
Such a shame!
Breakfast buffet spread was small but acceptable. Their pastries were delicious, as in all of Hokkaido, with land flowing with good milk and butter.
The WE Hotel explerience would fave been even better if they had strong FB support and a team who cares about details.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ANG-POHAIMIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2019

Hotel is new with spacious room, lake view, but the rate is a bit pricey. With this room rate, food is no surprise. Set dinner, Chinese style, shrimp and scallop are the appetizer and main course, no other food choice nor wagyu beef, buffet breakfast, more like western style.

If you are expecting Chinese Chef, Onsen hotel other than the traditional Japanese style, tired about the Japanese Hot Spring bath decoration (eg. woods, stones etc) and want to try something new, you can have a try.

Staff are nice and warm welcoming, they can speak Japanese, Putonghua, English and Cantonese as well.

Room tip: All rooms face to Lake Toya
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2019

The hotel is beautiful, well designed and it makes you feel really luxurious once you stepped inside the lobby. They provided high-graded amenties in your room, and they have coffee maker in your room so you can have ur coffee anytime that you like. And the view of Lake Toya from the room is really exceptional. So if you like a hotel that can provided a beautiful view, various of facilities that you can experience (the onsen, the bar, game room etc.) and the best of sleeping quality, WE Hotel Toya is really a place for you.

The only thing that I didn't like is the location. Even though the hotel is located in quiet area of Lake Toya but it's very far from the place they have the fireworks display. We had to drive around 20 mins for the fireworks so if you don't have a car it might be a bit difficult to watch the fireworks

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunvaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2019 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a beautiful location. The hotel itself is in a quiet village overlooking Lake Toya, rather than in the busier town of Lake Toya Onsen. I think this is better than being in the town as it’s very quiet and suits this style of retreat hotel. Only downside of this is that if you go out for dinner it’s a 20 minute drive into town.
The building has been exquisitely fitted out with polished concrete and bare wood, it feels quite Scandinavian and very modern.
The room was really spacious and had the beautiful view of the lake, really a lovely space to spend time.
The staff are very helpful, almost too much for me as I prefer a more hands off approach, but it’s probably normal for a hotel of this level.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2019

Great hotel. Beautifully designed.
Location is somewhat distant. The view on the lake however is beautiful.
The rooms is super spacious and very nice. All details are thought off and matched on the design of the hotel. We loved the bath on the balcony.
Breakfast was really great. A wide variety of asian and western choices.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WE_Hotel_Toya, Kyle Oh Reception Supervisor at WE Hotel Toya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2019

Dear Jvdv Greetings from WE Hotel Toya Thank you very much for staying at WE Hotel Toya and taking the time to write a review about your experience. It was our great honor to have you here as our valued guest. We are delighted to read your compliments about our facilities and to know that you enjoy the design. Thank you once again for your recent stay with us and we hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews