We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True ski mountain lodge experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buustamons Fjallgard
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Are
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location, and is only accessible by ski or scooter. The rooms are very nice and we're extremely clean. The only slight issue is that they are not ensuite but the communal facilities are kept very clean. The spa area is wonderful after a days skiing with a sauna and hot outdoor baths. Also the food at the restaurant is fantastic, the reindeer and burger are stand out dishes. Wonderful place with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

I loved staying at Buustamons Fjällgård, if only for just one night and a conference. Up in the mountains, this cozy hotel and restaurant can be reached by tracked vehicle during the winter. The rooms are small but comfortable and very clean and the hotel consists of a main house and two other cabins.

I shared a double room with a colleague and we slept in very comfortable bunk beds. Clean towels, bathrobes and slippers included. The view from the room was outstanding!

Staying there for a conference, our meals were included so I had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the restaurant. Great food, cozy atmosphere and attentive service. The breakfast buffet consisted of all sorts of bread, butter, ham and cheese, fresh tomatoes and cucumber slices, jams, cereals of all kinds, milk, yoghurt, coffee, tea, apple and orange juice, delicious oatmeal, eggs and more, so pretty much a great start for the day.

Underneath the main cabin there is a distillery, you share the bathroom with the other visitors and there is also a spacious relaxing sauna and an outdoor hot tub, which is great fun in the winter. The bravest will get warm in the tub first and then roll around in the snow.
My only small complaint would be that the heat isn't always on so the rooms may get cold at times. Even if the staff will kindly ask you to save on the energy, you can naturally turn it up yourself if you feel cold and there are warm blankets in the room.

Apart from the beautiful views and very pleasant atmosphere, where you can walk around in warm socks, what I really appreciated was the fact that I could order a glass of alcohol-free wine for dinner. Not too many places offer that alternative and I was very pleased to find out that Buustamon does. Big thumbs up for that!

I would definitely stay there again and I can recommend this hotel for both business and leisure trips. Åre town can easily be reached, either by a short walk plus taxi ride from the Buustamon parking lot or tracked vehicle and taxi. It's a perfect choice for a romantic getaway in the mountains or a fun trip with friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristinablendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Hanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maaritfriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Are hotels
8.9 km away
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
3.8 km away
Holiday Club Are
Holiday Club Are
#2 of 9 in Are
469 reviews
3.8 km away
Granen Hotel
Granen Hotel
#6 of 9 in Are
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Fjallgarden Hotel
Fjallgarden Hotel
#5 of 9 in Are
99 reviews
4 km away
Tott Hotel Are
Tott Hotel Are
#3 of 9 in Are
333 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Aregarden
Hotel Aregarden
#4 of 9 in Are
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buustamons Fjallgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buustamons Fjallgard

Address: 142 Buustamon, Are 830 13, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Are
Price Range: $300 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buustamons Fjallgard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Buustamon's Fjallgard. You will find us in the middle of the slopes, in a truly genuine and charming environment, 732 meters above the sea. Our kitchen finds inspiration in the local products and the restaurant is often mentioned as one of the very best in Are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Buustamons Fjallgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing