We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
45
35
17
12
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
35
17
12
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busbrac islanda great weekhotel beachstar hotelsmall hotelbeach shoesour honeymoonsun loungershigh seasonclean roomsmirabalconysplitbosniacerealmidnight
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Before we arrived, we were a little concerned about the negative reviews we had read on Tripadvisor but we needn't have been: we were really happy with our four night stay at Hotel Sunce. Our room on the first floor was clean, functional and average-sized with fabulous views out to sea and towards the island of Brac. The breakfast had a good range of food and plenty of it (especially given the fact that we turned up to eat half an hour before the end of the serving time). The hotel is situated right on the beach with plenty of space and sun beds for all of the guests and a nice little beach bar. Previous reviewers are right in saying that perhaps the beach bar is a little under-staffed but it didn't impact us particularly. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and working really hard to make sure the guests have a good stay. A special mention must go to Ana who responded quickly to all my emails prior to arrival and arranged a fabulous white water rafting adventure for us on the Cetina river and to Veronica who was really helpful too. The only down-side for us was that Podstrana didn't have many restaurents to choose from. However, Split isn't too far away (about 20 minutes by taxi) and the city must be visited both for exploration and dinner.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank GenevieveJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

If you want a quiet classy place by the beach, away from the Split city chaos, Hotel Sunce is the right choice.
Located in Podstrana, about 30 mins drive from Split, the Hotel offers a great location with the beach accessible just by climbing down the stairs. There are regular buses to-fro from Split city center or else taxi is another option.
There are a few nice eat outs nearby, but Sunce itself has a diner where they arrange the breakfast too. The tables in the outer verandah give a nice feel in the evening for candle lit type dinners. Food was good, breakfast was very nice but like most restaurants in Europe the menu was quite repetitive. Loved the grilled veggies.
There was some confusion about our booking initially when we reached, some miscommunication with the booking agent, but was sorted out quickly. We didnt get the beach facing room though which we had booked for. That was one major setback for us.

Room Tip: Ensure a beach facing room
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swapnil_Agaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We booked our holiday asking for a suite, 2 beds and a sea view.... We got a very warm welcome from the lovely Veronica - she seems to do several jobs, and the work of a dozen people! - giving us a positive impression at the outset. However.....the room - whilst it was a 'suite' - was not what we'd booked. We had a bed in one room, and sofa in the other, and an en suite bathroom. The bathroom was lovely. In both rooms, the air conditioning was appalling - hardly working, unless you stood right next to it. The second bed we requested turned out to be the sofa (a sofa bed) which was soooo uncomfortable! On seeking the sea view, we opened the curtains and found....a wall.... From one room (the one with the sofa bed thingy) you could see the sea - if you stuck your head out far enough and looked to the left! We spoke to the staff and said this wasn't what we had asked for; we were offered a 'topper' for the sofa bed! On our second day, a twin room beside ours became available - we asked if we could have that instead? Even though it wasn't a suite, we were happy to move. Told we couldn't have it - someone else had booked it. The hotel owner was brought in for the discussion - she didn't speak English (though she clearly understood us well enough) and we don't speak German, so she spoke in Croatian to Veronica who translated. We were told that this wasn't the hotel's problem, it was Expedia's (we booked through them) and that we should take up our complaint with them - they did not provide an accurate description, according to the 'boss'. We said this wasn't what we had booked, and could we have the vacant twin room? No, we couldn't. After much discussion (no heated argument from us, just polite enquiry) we were told we could have the twin room for 3 nights but would have to move back to our original room then - and there would be an extra charge on the room! We naturally said that was not acceptable (re the charge) but given the sofa bed situation, we would take the twin for the 3 nights. The owner then said she would let us know that afternoon (this was about 10am) as she wanted to see if she would get another booking before then??? So - we called Expedia. The guy my friend spoke with - Kobe - was AMAZING! It took over an hour and a half, but he managed the whole process sooo well - and the following day, we moved to the most gorgeous hotel in Split. So much else happened at Sunce once it became clear we were leaving - on our final night there, the owner sent a young waitress to our room late in the evening to tell us we hadn't paid the 50 kunas we owed for some fries?? We paid for everything as we went and didn't charge anything to our room at any point.... We said we'd sort it the next morning as we were leaving. The waitress left - eventually. A short while later, someone else knocked on our door.... We didn't answer, as it was late at night and we were trying to sleep? The next morning, we packed up and went to check out - were kept waiting for an extraordinary long time, despite asking directly if we could check out and settle our account. We eventually did so - with a lot of hostility from the management. We didn't argue the 50 kunas, just paid it along with the relevant taxes and then were charged for 3 days usage of beach towels (even though this was 10.30 am and clearly we weren't going to the beach - and the fact that the previous day was spent in discussion/contention with the hotel so we didn't get to the beach then either!). In addition, the owner was screeching at a member of staff to charge us for a bottle of water which she said we took from the mini bar - we didn't - and at that point, our taxi thankfully turned up and we got away from that place with great relief. Utterly horrible, awful experience, and nothing on this earth would persuade me to stay there ever again - even if it were totally free!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't even bother requesting a specific room - you won't get it!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sam-Q-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely small quiet hotel on the beach. Room very comfortable with wonderful sea view. Very nicely decorated and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was good also snacks mid day. Service good and staff made us feel very welcome, especially Veronica. Really couldn't find any fault would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lindyloocardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

What a great week! 4 of us stayed in family room (2 adults, 2 kids) which was a good size. The air con was really good and definitely needed with the hot weather.

The food was decent. Breakfast was freshly made pancakes, fruit or sausage and eggs all as a buffet. There is a small restaurant on the ground floor for salads, sandwiches etc which was perfect for lunch and then a dinner menu for evenings. The main restaurant has views out to sea.

Although the hotel is nice you are paying for the location which is 3 steps out onto the beach. We were there end June. I counted 40 sun loungers on the Hotel's beach and only around half were in use at any one time. This was with 30 degree weather too.

Also need to say how amazing the staff were, really lovely people who made us feel so welcome. The owner is quiet but once you talk to her she was lively too. For the price of the place I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews