We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Fraichette(Honfleur)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Chaumiere(Honfleur)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monet(Honfleur)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel l'Ecrin(Honfleur)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
366
143
52
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
143
52
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreadrelaxing hotelrestaurant with roomsdinner one nightcountry inntwo nightswet roomtranquil settingsmall hotelwe loved our stayminute drivelovely gardenmain buildingferme stwalk in showera great place to staysole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is a remote site yet only 10-12 minutes from Honefleur. We stayed in a superior room and were very pleased with the charm. the staff was fairly friendly and helpful. One day we took a nice walk thru the woods and apple groves. Can easily recommend tis place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonomaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I have never given a bad review before and it takes a lot to upset me. My husband and I traveled through Europe to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary starting in Scotland and working our way down "landing" in Normandy, which was to be the icing on the cake for us since it has been a place my husband longed to visit. I researched and planned the entire trip but when it came to Normandy there was not a lot on the subject of transportation so I was at the mercy of the concierge of the hotel. Unfortunately this would be the man responsible for our lasting impression of France. Mind you we traveled all through Europe without any indifference until arriving here.
I inquired if there were any tours that we could take while staying at Auberge de la Source. Xavier the concierge gave me 4 options of transportation and description of what to expect (description is as follows)
" A private Guide is the best way to understand more of a country, and you can decide on place with the Guide, before departure, which sites you could visit: (The Landing Beaches and the different sites of World War Two, or Le Mont Saint Michel, or Caen and the Memorial Museum, or Rouen and its old town with the Cathedral, Etretat and its beautiful cliffs, or the small villages of Le Pays d'Auge, distilleries of Calvados and ciders, or whatever..)"
So as anyone reading this would expect you could "decide on place with the Guide" we instead were shuffled off by a young man in a hurry to get going. When we mentioned we would like to know where we were heading he said we would discuss en route. It was soon discovered we were not to go where we wanted but on a wine and cheese tour!? The young man immediately phoned and deferred to Xavier (who we had yet to meet) and was instructed to take us to the landing beaches and "wing it". At this point that was the only option we had but expected we would not be charged the very high price tag of $900.00! We literally spent the day in a hot van on the highway making two pit stops for a total of 2hrs. and were charged $900.00 dollars! Xavier was unsympathetic and more concerned of his innocence and excepted no responsibility what so ever. This was a slap in the face on top of being robbed of our money and most importantly our experience. It has been a week since this horrible experience and it is still making us sick. I hope my review will help divert others from these criminals.
As for the property it is delightful but in the middle of now where so if you are hungry or are in need of a store you will need to prepare for this ahead of time since it is an expensive taxi ride to and fro and there is nothing on premise. The room looks much nicer on line. The bathroom is a very tight quarter, no air conditioner so open windows invited lots of mosquitoes, only french TV, no books and wifi wouldn't work in our room, and ex large spiders are everywhere (check your luggage) The breakfasts were wonderful but dinner was only good one of the two evenings. This property could be so much more if they looked after and fostered their guests instead of being money grubbers.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank jill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is your small hotel dream. Set in a traditional Norman home with beautiful gardens you feel relaxed as soon as you walk into the hotel. Rooms, restaurant and the public areas are beautifully designed with a rustic edge but a wonderful eye for detail - even down to the beautiful wicker basket that was provided for our Irish Terrier, Bella. Service is exemplary - nothing is too much trouble and the food gets better each time we stay. This is a young chef on the rise who has a clever but sensitive feel for how to use the wonderful local produce. A true gem.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are quiet but can be warm so the ability to have open windows is a bonus
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cleavecopse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed in an interesting, comfortable family room in the Auberge de la Source. It's a converted mill outbuilding, now very swish, with an upstairs room for the children containing two single beds and a downstairs room containing a lovely double bed and a wet room. It's fabulous for a family or romantic stay. Breakfast was perfect and the setting is superb, with what were mill pools full of fish and a variety of interesting buildings done up to the nines. Stay here - it's heavenly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carlrobertwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel with our dog back in July. Sometimes you don't realise just how much you enjoyed a place until a few weeks after - but as time elapses I find myself thinking back to our two nights there with an increasingly warm glow!

The grounds and garden were beautiful - especially if the sun was shining, you can sip a glass of wine sitting next to the pond watching the fish.

Our room was large and very nicely decorated - no shower, just a bath with a shower attachment (a minor niggle).

And the food was delicious! We had dinner one night and felt it was better than the meal we enjoyed in Honfleur. The staff were also extremely nice and very helpful, pointing out places to visit, describing nice woodland walks for exercising the dog, etc.

And the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Honfleur, which we really liked - it exceeded our expectations.

All in all, I would recommend it highly - and if we find ourselves back in the area we will definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenKG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews