We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$215
View deal
Expedia.com
US$228
View deal
FindHotel
US$190
View deal
Hotels.comUS$228
eDreamsUS$215
ZenHotels.comUS$245
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
618
143
41
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
618
143
41
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood platter langoustines pier house loch linnhe cullen skink lismore island excellent seafood passenger ferry stunning location local seafood west coast of scotland wonderful hotel sea view cooked to perfection wine list dining room warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2021

This was our second visit to The Pierhouse, our first being 7/8 years ago. We stayed for 1 night on our way to Skye. Sadly, due to Covid, for us the rooms had lost some of their charm and felt a little clinical. That said the room was comfortable and provided all that we needed for an overnight stay. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice.
The views across the loch are stunning and sitting outside with a pre-dinner drink was a joy!
We decided to share the Seafood platter for our evening meal and enjoyed the array of seafood it provided - a;; beautifully cooked and presented.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2021

Hello 75AT

Thank you for taking the team to leave this review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

We do hope that you will come back and see us again - hopefully a little sooner than in 7-8 years!

Kind regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2021

We stayed at the Pierhouse Hotel for 4 nights at the end of a journey along the west coast of Scotland. Port Appin is a lovely spot with a passenger ferry to the island of Lismore right by the hotel and stunning views over Loch Linnhe to the hills beyond.

We really liked the hotel which is characterful and cosy with woodburning stoves on the go in several spots. Our room was delightful with great views, comfortable armchairs to relax in and an excellent bathroom. The room benefitted from its own door leading out to the front which made unloading luggage very easy and a good place to remove muddy boots after a day's walk

All the hotel staff were super - friendly, helpful and attentive. The food is excellent with an emphasis on locally sourced fish, seafood and meat. The dining room also has beautiful views - a great spot to enjoy a leisurely breakfast.

The Pierhouse is perfectly placed for local walks, a hop over to explore Lismore, or a trip to Oban which is a busy ferry port for Mull and other islands. If we return to Argyll at some point, we will definitely stay at the hotel again and recommend it without any hesitation.

Room tip: We had a superior room with sea views.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocketveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2021

Hi Rocketveg

What a lovely review - thank you so much for leaving it for us! We are so pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us recently.

As you say, we are ideally placed for a visit to the Isle of Lismore and bikes (electric or pure pedal power) can be hired locally to enjoy the island. And with the excellent local larder on our doorstep we are ideally placed to showcase the amazing produce from the area.

We hope to see you here again soon!

Kind regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2021

Loved a recent weekend spent at the Pierhouse hotel, Port Appin. Food was amazing - fish platter was delicious. Comfortable room and first class restaurant and bar team. Friendly, fun and helpful. Definitely worth a return visit.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annelaw2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2021

Hi annelaw2018

Thank you for leaving this lovely review for us - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay. Hopefully we'll see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2021

Just back from 3 days staying at this gem of a hotel. A great young friendly but professional team. Food is interesting but not fussy, a joy for seafood lovers. Welcoming woodburners in the lounge and bar create a good atmpsphere. This hotel is linked to the Three Chimneys in Skye - I can thoroughly recommend both. Jenny

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaside275901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Dear Seaside275901

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review for us. We are very proud of all our team members, and are so pleased that you were made to feel welcome.

The Three Chimneys is our sister hotel on the Isle of Skye - lucky you for being able to have spent time there too!!

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Pierhouse again soon.

Best regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2021 via mobile

Wonderful place, location excellent,scenery, charming. The hotel staff worked in harmony with each other which made us feel very welcome. Restaurant food very good, small menu but all fresh seafood. Delicious!!…Covid rules applied and maintained. Well done all,, and thank you. We will be back.

Room tip: Weather permitting sit outside and listen to the subtle lapping of the water.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 127AnnE127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Hello 127AnnE127

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review for us.

We do have a limited menu in place at the moment due to the social distancing that we are still following in the kitchen. However our kitchen brigade have an amazing local larder to choose from, and they work with it to present it at its best.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Pierhouse in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews