We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$166
View deal
Booking.com
US$156
View deal
FindHotel
US$140
View deal
Hotels.comUS$166
eDreamsUS$156
PricelineUS$166
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveller rating
621
143
42
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
621
143
42
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood platter langoustines pier house loch linnhe cullen skink lismore island excellent seafood passenger ferry stunning location local seafood west coast of scotland wonderful hotel sea view cooked to perfection wine list dining room warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 837 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2021

This place is such a find. It has gone straight to the top of my favourite place to go list. The staff were all so friendly and knowledgable. The room was just lovely, although the rooms with view had all gone, it really didn’t matter. When you are in the restaurant or lounge areas the views are just amazing. It really is a piece of heaven in earth. The food was exceptional, from the seafood platter to the breakfast. Hats off to everyone there, they are all masters! We had our 11 year old with us and she loved everything too. We will be back for sure. Thank you all.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alice76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Hi Alice 76

Wow, what a fabulous review, thank you so much. We hope you don't leave it too long before you come back to see us!

Best regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2021

Very warm and friendly attentive staff with a great professional attitude and a willingness to have a chat with all guests. The restaurant food is simply outstanding and the langoustines are caught nearby and landed straight from the boat to the kitchens. Try the cheese soufflé too!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lurganbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Hello lurganbob

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Pierhouse. Thank you leaving this great review for us.

As you say we do try to source all of our produce as locally as we can, and the langoustine are provided by Eoghan Black from the waters right outside the hotel. That's about as local as you can get!

Kind regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2021

We booked for Lunch and what a perfect location. this is a hidden gem right on the beach where you can get a ferry to the other islands. Bright airy restaurant with a lovely cosy bar and real fire.

The Menu is mouth watering. We had scallops to start which were delicious. Lemon Sole and Salmon for main again delicious I could eat here every day. Glass of Wine and beer and the bill was reasonable under £100.00 and worth every penny. Service was friendly. Toilet clean as a whistle.

Those with mobility issues would be fine here
Will return

Room tip: We had Lunch so could not comment on the Hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missdcrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Hi missdcrippin

Thank you for this lovely review. We are so very lucky with our location and have the pier for the ferry to Lismore right outside our door.

We have just introduced a new menu so if you're considering taking another trip this winter then do bear us in mind (we have some winter packages for accommodation available too!).

Best wishes

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021

Four of us had booked a lunch (essential) and were all blown away by the service, quality of food and taste. This is a seafood restaurant and while we were offered a vegetarian menu and there were a couple of meat options, you go here for fish. All four of us had scallops as a starter and the sauce was so good we asked for extra bread so we could mop it up. (the bread was also above average). A combination of fish and chips, salmon steak and I had lemon sole with clams were our mains. No room for deserts. We have not had a meal of that quality in many years if ever. Staff were fantastic as was the view. Visit please, you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Hi Simon W

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this feedback for us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Pierhouse.

Although our main focus is on seafood, as you mention, we do try to offer as balanced a choice as we can to enable us to cater to most tastes. We have just introduced a new menu for the winter so you'll maybe have to visit us again soon to see what's changed!

Kind regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

Stopped in for lunch on a visit to Port Appin while I was working on Lismore. I had promised myself a birthday lobster when I turned 50 during lockdown and this was the first opportunity which presented itself. So fresh and delicious! I'm fairly sure I saw my lunch coming out of the seafood locker on the pier as I waited...

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tink802
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona McLean, General Manager at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Hi Tink802

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review for us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Many congratulations on your special birthday - perhaps you should make it an annual visit (at least!) to come and see us.

Kind regards

Fiona McLean
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews