We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Vio.com
Destinia.com
Algotels
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveller rating
325
239
91
37
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
325
239
91
37
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area sister hotel hotel guests an adult sea club main pool snack bar relaxing holiday low key entertainment sea view small supermarket quiet resort plenty of choice hotel bar half board at lunchtime short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 721 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

1 With all these complaints about the pool area etc, why does the manager always reply in more or less the same manner and how can he ‘hope to see us again soon’
2 Jet 2 do state that the main pool is open to the public and there is an area for all inclusive customers, what they don’t mention is the state of it. I for one wouldn’t spend 5 minutes in there.
3 Why can’t the snack bar be used all day? Is it because we are not paying cash?
4 it has been an expensive weeks holiday, paid in excess of £2000

Finally, Mr manager, I think you should get your act together and address these problems and you will not be seeing us again soon

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank John01623
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

It’s great for a relaxing quiet holiday, beautiful views and spotlessly clean, not much going on though and only 2 small shops close by.

The hotel was very impressive, beautiful rooms and sea views. The staff were very helpful, except on one occasion when we were having breakfast, we returned to the table to find our drinks cutlery etc had been cleared and the table re set for the evening meal, the waitress abruptly came over and quickly removed the place settings, we hadn’t finished our breakfast and we felt this was quite rude. I had to go back for more tea and drinks as she had taken them away. No apology was given to us and we felt like we had done something wrong. It’s a buffet breakfast and you can go up as many times as you like.

We were charged 26€ on arrival for tax so be aware of this.

2 pools available which were both fantastic, we paid 10€ each for the luxury Sun beds one day and we got a free bottle of water and they had comfortable leather cushions but we were also happy with the free beds and there were enough available.

Luxury hotel towels are available for use around the pool for 10€ deposit which is returned and they can be changed for clean ones as many times as you like.

2 choices of restaurant, either the hotel or one other restaurant so consider all inclusive. We didn’t as we originally wanted to explore restaurants and eat out but there was only 1 other restaurant.
Both offer lovely fresh food and the hotel restaurant has a great variety on offer.

Only use hotel transfer if going away from the hotel as transport on the island is a nightmare, taxis are not regularly available and very hard to get. There’s only one taxi company on the whole island. They were quick to take us to the beach but it was a nightmare trying to get back. It Took us 4hours in total and we were only 15mins away! We waited an hour and a half for a taxi and then after calling the hotel for help they suggested getting a bus into St Lois (small town 15mins inland) and calling a taxi from there, however we waited another hour and a half there. We ended up getting another bus back to the hotel, (buses were only every 2hours) 4 hours in total to get back to the hotel. We couldn’t walk as my friend has recently had a knee op.

I wouldn’t trust the hotel safe as we had some euros go missing from 3 different places in the safe. Although we can’t prove anything the hotel strongly denied anyone else could have access to the safe.

I had a massage at the hotel which was amazing and well worth it. There is a spa and jacuzzi but we didn’t use it.

Try the pomada slush cocktail, it’s lovely and you get an edible straw

Overall the positives out weighed the negatives so we would return having learned from our experiences, we hope we can help others too

Room tip: Hire a car or use hotel transfers, only 1 taxi company on the whole island
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Javier Ferrando, General Manager at AluaSoul Menorca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Good Morning, Dear Mrs Julie.
On behalf of all the staff and the management, we would like to really appreciate your beautiful commments about the hotel.
It is a real pleasure to know that your vacation has been to your liking.
Your satisfacion it is our priority
We are looking forward to seeing you very soon

Kind Regards
Javier Ferrando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2022

Very nice place to relax and unwind. The staff are wonderful , food extremely good and rooms well kept.
The main pool can be used by non residents for a fee, but there is a nice pool for residents only which maintains the adult only theme.
There is no real beach here, but you can swim from the rocks and there are stairs to get in and out, but there is a beautiful sandy cove ( Alcoulfar ) within a 15 min walk along the shore. Transport is not very frequent but taxis are quite reasonably priced ( 25 euros from hotel to airport )
All in all a lovely stay

Room tip: if you pay more there are rooms with a small pool.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank striiare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Javier Ferrando, General Manager at AluaSoul Menorca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2022

Good Morning, Dear Mrs Striiare,
On behalf of all the satff and the management, we would like to appreciate your really nice comments about the hotel.
Your satisfaction it is our priority
We are looking forward to seeing you very soon

Kind Regards
Javier Ferrando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2022 via mobile

I have stayed here twice in the last couple of months.
First time in May with my husband and the second time in July with a friend.
I have been coming to this hotel off and on for the past fifty years so I probably don’t need to say in a review what I think..the fact that I have returned so many times speaks for itself.
I absolutely love it..S’Algar is a beautiful little place .. quiet and safe on the island of Menorca.
If you want noise and nightlife it is not for you but if you want to chill and relax and forget the world for a week or two then it so definitely is.
The food is good (Carman in the restaurant is amazing as are her staff). Javier .. the main man is always about and very approachable and informative.
There are quiet places to sit and people watch or just sit and be at peace. To me..and I have been to many places in the world .. it is my go-to place when I am stressed or in need of some calm.
I will be back.. thank you Alua Soul.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Welshflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Javier Ferrando, General Manager at AluaSoul Menorca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2022

Good afternoon, Dear Mr & Mrs Welshflower.
On behalf of all the staff and the management, we would like to appreciate your really nice comments about the hotel.
Your satisfaction it is our priority.
It a pleasure and a honor to know that you really enjoyed your holidays.
We are looking forward to seeing you very soon

Kind Regards
Javier Ferrando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

This Hotel has been our 'Happy Place' since 1982. We have seen changes over the years mainly for the better. The Sintes family had great pride in the Hotel and the surrounding area. Not having been for 2 years (C19) we were keen to see what changes, if any had been made since Alua Hotels took it over. Lots of positives - the rooms have had a very tasteful makeover, the staff are amazing (we have known some of them for a very long time). The breakfasts were lovely although prefer to be served with tea/coffee at the table and missed my glass of morning Cava! Dinner was mediocre and we think there is room for improvement all round. Our main grouse is the swimming pool area. Why is is called Kentia Beach Club - is it not part of the hotel any more? The sun bed area for hotel guests is cramped, mainly due to the fact that there is a hefty charge for the beds around the big pool. In our view there is no need for the fancy sunbeds around the main pool. It is also tricky for the disabled as the guests area is the furthest away from the snack bar and hotel. On the plus side we did have a conversation with the Manager Javier and his assistant Laura. They listened to our views and were very understanding. S'Algar itself has died, probably due over the past few years of the introduction of all inclusive. The restaurants in the square are fabulous but a lot quieter. The supermarket is still there and stocks literally everything. If they haven't got it they'll get it for you. Javier you are doing a great job but we think there is more to do. We will be back - we don't appear to be able to stay away!!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kath I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Javier Ferrando, General Manager at AluaSoul Menorca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2022

Good afternoon, Dear Mrs Kath.
On behalf of all the staff and the management, we would like to really appreciate your beautiful comments about the hotel.
We take note of all yuour comments for improve our service.
Your satisfaction it is our priority.
We are looking forward to seeing you very soon
Always at your service

Kind Regards
Javier Ferrando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews