We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Home Saint Jean
Nearby Hotels
US$22
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Jumia Travel
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
31
55
14
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
55
14
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterper nightdouble roomlake kivua great place to staybunk bedsfishgreat viewhotel viewmy home away from homehill overlooking the lakelounge chairsgenocide memorialguest houseother hotelsrooms are cleanbeautiful place
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was expecting more of a hostel for the budget price, but this stone guest house with rooms and dorms set up on a hill overlooking the lake, with restaurant on site, was great. You can have a beer on the patio and watching the big electrical storms up in the mountains, go for a walk around town. If you're a fussy, fancy hotel person, you won't like this place, but if you just want a good place to stay, give Home Saint jean a shot. I was happy I did.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great place for the price. I think this is one of the best value for money places in Kibuye. The food is also very tasty and cheaper (with bigger portions) than most other places around. The frustrating thing is trying to get hold of them, so you can book a room. I therefore got hold of their telephone number. If you want to find out if they have space and you want to book a room, try calling this number +250784725107.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We didn't stay here, so really cannot say anything about service, prices, etc. but we walked over to see the place and were wowed by the view - amazing! The place sits out on a promontory overlooking Lake Kivu. The view doesn't get better. The room we looked at had that view, was neat, clean, with good bathroom facilities. Very lovely. Folks staying there all looked happy.
We will stay here if we ever return to Kibuye.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view if one is available
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Hummingbird5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Extraordinary view ! Good price, worth every penny. Rooms are ok.
Catholic place - so don't worry if you are asked if being married
if you come as a couple - best choice is to confirm politely...
Food (even breakfast) can take far more than one hour preparation time,
so order in advance or relax/forget about urgent dates...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A great place to stay if you've come to the Lake for a few days from the big city, or stay longer if you don't need to be anywhere. We came for one night, but ended up staying for 2 because it was very relaxing and romantic. Dorm rooms are a great deal if you're alone or wanting to save money, but if you splurge for a private room overlooking the gardens and lake it would be well worth it.

The town is an easy 15 minute walk away and quite pleasant, perhaps you'll run into some locals like we did. You can also have the desk call for some Motos and they'll zip you around the peninsula giving you a great view from the back of the bike. In hindsight I would have hired a couple of them for a few hours to drive around and stop at what some good view points to take pictures and such. Stroll past town towards the lake, go past the church and head to where a lot of fishing canoes/outriggers are stored for some interesting photos and perhaps encounters.

Only complaint about our room was that the toilet had very little flushing power, so it took a few tanks full of water to get it down, which is an unfortunate waste of water.

Food is ok, drinks were a good price though overall.

Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews