We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$118
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$118
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
Orbitz.comUS$118
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,396 results
Traveller rating
600
758
442
257
339
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
600
758
442
257
339
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch awe an open mind single track road stunning views three nights passing places night stay remote location residents lounge short break relaxing break full scottish haggis apartment peat beatrice sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,250 - 2,255 of 2,396 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed for 3 nights after booking a special deal at a travel show, A little concerned after reading previous reports on Trip Advisor but there was nothing to worry about. The staff were all very friendly, welcoming & helpful and service was pretty fast in both restaurants as we had an early meal before all the rush started. On arrival we were handed a letter stating that there was ongoing maintenance work & we were not advised to drink the water. It was okay to boil it but, after seeing the colour it came out of the taps, we used the bottled water they provided for both drinking & teeth brushing.
We paid extra for a loch view room & it was worth the extra for both the views, the size of the room and the lack of any noise. The plumbing left a lot to be desired as it took ages for the toilet to fill up after each flush and the shower pressure was very low. The bathroom had a huge bath but the wooden step up to it had a gap big enough to trap a small toe in between the bath & the step. During our stay our room was not cleaned until after 4.00 by which time we were back from our days out & did not want to be disturbed. There seemed to be one housekeeper doing all the rooms hence the slow service.
The restaurant food was of good quality & generous proportions but expensive. The bar menu was better value & seemed to be used by most of the guests. If we were in the area again we would stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanyabailey934
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This was our second visit, the first being 3 years ago, it was good then, its still very good!
The staff are attentive and very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The fabric of the building could do with a bit of TLC, but having said that this does not detract from the enjoyment of our visit, they are actively working on improving the decoration. We fully intend to visit again soon and will not leave it 3 years this time.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikem22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Booked this hotel on the £99 staying 4 May - 7 May offer and found it good value. Was slightly worried on arrival, as the main hotel in clearly in need of a little TLC. We stayed in the coach house and although we didnt have direct views of the loch - the room was very clean and perfect for our needs. We travelled with our dog and the hotel were very accomodating to him, providing bottled water (problem with tap water). I would not recommend the food (found a much better place up the road), as found everything was very overcooked and covered in fat!!!!

Although the hotel is in need of some money being spent on it, we have a very enjoyable time and found the staff very friendly and helpful - would deffo return. Its perfect for dog walking and with Oban and Inverary within a short drive, good to explore! For those taking dogs the jail allows dogs in and so does the George hotel next door!

Just up the road from the hotel we found the ardbrecknish, which did good value pub meals and again, allowed the dog into the pub (but not the rest). This hotel is in a very quiet location, with no shops etc around. Perfect for the dog walking a quiet time we were looking for.

All round I would recommend this hotel, as for the price we paid - it was good value and we would/will return!

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustwedLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Recently spent 3 days in one of the lodges.Its our 3rd return to the place,if it was that bad why would we return.All staff extremely friendly and helpful,Especially October,she even went and got us some scallops from the local fish supplier as we said we were going to get some..The cost of the accomodation is very reasonable,what do these people expecy for what they are paying for- The Ritz.! Would recommend Portsonachan to anyone,great place to relax and chill,perhaps thats what some of the bad reviewers have a problem doing

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrspirelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We booked this hotel at the CLA Gamefair last year, having read the reviews we were a bit alarmed! Yes they did have foreigners working there, but they were most polite and friendly and we had a few amusing sessions with them! There were also a lot of Scottish people working in the hotel. All were friendly and helpful. The room overlooking the loch was big and clean with an amazing view. Yes there were a few things that needed doing to the hotel but they were small things that were outside, not in. I'm sorry some people didn't like the hotel, I can only assume they are hard to please. On our journey through Scotland we stayed at 4 other hotels but we thought this one was the best. Heather,Charlie, Jackie and Robin from Kent.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DillyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews