We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$118
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$118
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
Orbitz.comUS$118
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveller rating
598
757
442
257
339
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
598
757
442
257
339
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch awe an open mind single track road stunning views three nights passing places night stay remote location residents lounge short break relaxing break full scottish haggis apartment peat beatrice sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2020

We arrived here on Monday for a few days and planned to go to a few different places on our break. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful and were always very pleasant. Despite having to deal with Covid restrictions, everything was well organised and the staff went out of their way to help with any request we had. Having read a lot of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I was a bit apprehensive but had no worries whatsoever. Would definitely return to Portsonachan and recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonmain1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, look forward to welcoming you back to Portsonachan in the near future
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

We went here as a family of four, we purchased a voucher but was recommended to pay extra for a lodge, it was shocking, please see photos, dirty, in need of repair and uncomfortable beds. The area is spectacular and fantastic local towns with amazing scenery. We had to go shopping for food for breakfast as the basket that was delivered was not suitable the restaurant was poor quality food in tried and worn setting like the lodge ( ness). I could not recommend this place at all, I did speak to the lady on reception but felt sorry for her because someone else was complaining too. The staff reviews of working here we have since read and they too make for very poor reading.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Coronation11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Mrs Fox-Smith,
Below is the reply to the review your husband posted yesterday.


Dear Mr Fox-Smith
Thank you for posting you review of your recent stay at Portsonachan.
We provide all our self catering lodges or apartments with a cleaning basket, which is located under the sink, I did advise your wife, where she could find the basket. With regard breakfast, I again spoke to your wife, who informed me that she didn't like brown bread, had been to Marks and Spencers and no longer required a hamper. A hamper was sent the following morning but returned.
I am very sorry you would not stay at Portsonachan again, but please you enjoyed the area, as Argyll and Bute is a fantastic holiday destination
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020 via mobile

We bought a voucher at the Cheshire Show which was terrific value and upgraded to a lakeside apartment.
The apartment was comfortable and the view spectacular. The hotel was a little tired and food ok

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank vince h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Hello Vince,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you thought the voucher was terrific value, enjoyed the apartment and found the view spectatcualr.

Kind Regards

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Stayed at one of the Portsonachan Lodges, lodge was great (Stirling) with loch views, well appointed with hot tub, sauna and modern kitchen. We were self catering but dined at the hotel one evening, food good and despite the Covid regs with no booze with the meal it was fine and staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good base to explore nearby Ben Cruachan and not too far from Oban. Kilchurn Castle worth a visit.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 151stuarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review, I am pleased the Covid Regs did not spoil your holiday and you enjoyed your time in the lodge.

Kind Regards

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Booked a weekend away through booking.com. The booking was pay on arrival however 10 days before the date of arrival the property took over £700 from my bank account. I called the property to try and resolve this but found the lady at reception to be extremely unhelpful, she said on that she was unable to help however would get someone who could to call me back. After not receiving a call in over 24 hours I asked to be past through to management or someone who could help and the receptionist threatened to terminate the call. The customer service is nothing short of terrible and based on that alone I wouldn't recommend going here.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank memomcgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Ms McGranaghan,
Thank you for your review, you purchased a non refundable special break via booking.com payable on booking. You then tried to cancel at very short notice, when the receptionist politely tried to explain this, you became verbally abusive.
I am not sure how many reviews you wish to post as everyone will be able to read a similar review from sophierN4869KF "Terrible customer service"
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews