We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$118
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$118
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
Orbitz.comUS$118
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,374)
Filter reviews
2,375 results
Traveller rating
595
749
438
256
337
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
595
749
438
256
337
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch awe an open mind single track road stunning views three nights passing places night stay remote location residents lounge short break relaxing break full scottish haggis apartment peat beatrice sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 2,375 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Just returned from a lovely relaxing stay in a one bedroom lodge. We loved the quiet, calm setting and view from our lodge. Our favourite part of the day was our early morning walks along the loch shore - sunset wasn’t at all bad either.
Staff at hotel were very friendly and couldn’t do enough to ensure our stay was excellent. There was a lot on offer from the hotel from their excellent eat in, eat on the terrace (with outdoor terrace heaters) or takeaway menu to fishing, boat trips and loads of helpful information about walking in the area.
We will return and would definitely recommend a stay here!

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stuartshelaghwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Thank you for your lovely review, I have past your comments on to the staff, as they really appreciate positive comments.
"Haste ye back"
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

We probably wouldn't have booked this if we had looked at reviews beforehand. We did look at a few before we went and our expectations weren't high.
There are good things about this hotel - the location is fantastic - right on the shore of Loch Awe - the views across the loch, particularly in the atmospheric autumn weather were beautiful.
Unfortunately, the disappointment starts when you check in - the receptionist was brusque with us. There is no lift so we had to carry our bags upstairs and the room was just about acceptable. One of the towels left out for us had a large stain on it and the towels themselves were rather small. The breakfast was fine but a bit disorganised - they ran out of tables on the first morning. We had to get a bowl or cup on the table changed each morning - we couldn't understand how you can lay a table with crockery that obviously isn't clean.
Access to the hotel is by a three mile single track road (with passing places) - the hotel itself doesn't seem worth it when you get there.
It seemed such a pity that it is like this - with a bit of TLC and better staff, this could be a wonderful place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank JonathanA0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Dear Jonathan,
Thank you for posting your review, I was very disappointed to read your review, and very surprised you did not receive a warm welcome, as reading all other reviews the majority praise our staff and state how friendly and welcoming they all are.
Unfortunately, we do not have a lift and due to Covid we are no longer able to offer help with your baggage. I am not sure what you mean by "ran out of tables" as we are no longer allowed to set table for breakfast, but bring your items to you once you are seated.
So pleased you enjoyed the location and appreciated our wonderful views.
I do hope if you are ever in the area again, you will re visit and allow me the opportunity to restore your confidence in Portsonachan
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2020

We arrived here on Monday for a few days and planned to go to a few different places on our break. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful and were always very pleasant. Despite having to deal with Covid restrictions, everything was well organised and the staff went out of their way to help with any request we had. Having read a lot of the reviews on Tripadvisor, I was a bit apprehensive but had no worries whatsoever. Would definitely return to Portsonachan and recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonmain1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, look forward to welcoming you back to Portsonachan in the near future
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2020 via mobile

We went here as a family of four, we purchased a voucher but was recommended to pay extra for a lodge, it was shocking, please see photos, dirty, in need of repair and uncomfortable beds. The area is spectacular and fantastic local towns with amazing scenery. We had to go shopping for food for breakfast as the basket that was delivered was not suitable the restaurant was poor quality food in tried and worn setting like the lodge ( ness). I could not recommend this place at all, I did speak to the lady on reception but felt sorry for her because someone else was complaining too. The staff reviews of working here we have since read and they too make for very poor reading.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Coronation11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Mrs Fox-Smith,
Below is the reply to the review your husband posted yesterday.


Dear Mr Fox-Smith
Thank you for posting you review of your recent stay at Portsonachan.
We provide all our self catering lodges or apartments with a cleaning basket, which is located under the sink, I did advise your wife, where she could find the basket. With regard breakfast, I again spoke to your wife, who informed me that she didn't like brown bread, had been to Marks and Spencers and no longer required a hamper. A hamper was sent the following morning but returned.
I am very sorry you would not stay at Portsonachan again, but please you enjoyed the area, as Argyll and Bute is a fantastic holiday destination
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2020 via mobile

We bought a voucher at the Cheshire Show which was terrific value and upgraded to a lakeside apartment.
The apartment was comfortable and the view spectacular. The hotel was a little tired and food ok

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank vince h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Hello Vince,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you thought the voucher was terrific value, enjoyed the apartment and found the view spectatcualr.

Kind Regards

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews