We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$134
View deal
Hotels.comUS$134
CheapTicketsUS$134
Orbitz.comUS$134
TravelocityUS$134
TripadvisorUS$134
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,320)
Filter reviews
2,320 results
Traveller rating
580
732
427
252
329
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
580
732
427
252
329
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch awe an open mind single track road stunning views three nights passing places night stay remote location residents lounge short break relaxing break full scottish haggis apartment peat beatrice sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 2,320 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2021

Avoid this place like the plague. Dirty and very dated accommodation.

We had no heating or hot water for 2 days and ended up leaving a day earlier due to the diabolical service.

When we asked about the heating the staff kept lying to us and we asked to speak to the manager, he was even worse, we didn't even get an apology and in fact he was a very rude, horrible man.

Purchased this product at a running show, please don't be duped in to doing the same. Check the reviews, all the bad ones are more accurate.

The place should be condemned!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susano175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsonachan Hotel Reception, Owner at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. During youjr stay we did try and rectify the problem and offered to move you which you declined and you also acted in an intimidating and threatening manner to our Reception staff.

We have taken note of your comments.

Kind regards


Tracey - Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2021

My husband and I are both active duty military and purchased tickets at a travel fair.
The trip didn't end up happening due to work schedules and try to reschedule and eventually tried to cancel. I provided a request via email and formal written request. The hotel staff would ask questions as though they were working it, but eventually we stopped receiving responses and altogether ignored. These seems to be the common theme with other reviews I've read. They are stealing people's money and should be put out of business.

Date of stay: May 2020
1  Thank NatalieBtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith Parker, Owner at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Hello Natalie
I am sorry you felt our offer is a scam. I would like to point out that you purchased a discounted hotel stay in 2019 (March) a whole year before lockdown, we have also extended your voucher up to the end of 2022 allowing you over 3 years to use your purchase.
You were aware of the T + C when you purchased the voucher and I feel we have been more than flexible, and we have definitely not ignored you
Kind Regards
Liz Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

Very unhelpful and will only extend our trip instead of providing us a refund. They are not providing a Service but still hold onto our money when we cannot go and have the right to a full refund. Very disappointing service

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 573rachelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2021

Good Morning,
Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor, I would like to clarify the situation regarding refunds, you have purchased a discounted hotel accommodation voucher which is still valid for use up to the end of December 2021 - If you purchased hotel accommodation direct with the hotel and not on a promotional voucher then you have a choice either postpone your trip or receive a refund. Please contact the hotel to discuss your situation further
Kind Regards
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020

Our two bed lodge was a little out dated & could do with a spruce up & unfortunately our dishwasher flooded the kitchen but all in all it was a great stay!! The beds were comfy, staff so friendly, scenery was beautiful, sauna lovely & so relaxing!!
Would highly recommend a visit!!

Date of stay: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020

We stayed at Portsonachan for 3 nights at the end of Sept having purchased the holiday at a Food Fair the previous year. We upgraded in order to have a room with a view over the beautiful Loch Awe. During our 2 week holiday in Scotland (where we originate from) we stayed in 6 different hotels. Portsonachan was the the best but also the worst. It was the best for location - stunning views, magnificent mountains, lovely walks, plus the sighting of a red squirrel - good food, good coffee, excellent homemade shortbread and friendly staff. Unfortunately, due to the following experiences, it was the worst hotel out of the 6 we stayed in - crumpled/creased bedding (wouldn't offer our own guests a bed looking so dishevelled (in fact we doubted if it had actually been changed, however after a discussion with the receptionist this was rectified while we were at dinner); served a bottle of warm white wine and dirty wine glass on our first night; final morning at breakfast encountered congealed yoghurt container lid, sticky apricots container, empty mussel shell evident on floor obviously from previous evening. The last three begs the questions - is thorough cleaning carried out at all? Is there a staff issue? Surely in these current times it is even more important than ever that deep cleaning is done. May we also suggest that less casual (stained in places) attire, but of a higher standard, is worn by the waitresses in line with such a calibre of hotel? Despite their friendliness they would have benefitted hugely by wearing such a 'uniform'. Simple things like that assist in maintaining a hotel's high standard and encourages visitors to return. Perhaps it wouldn't go amiss to train the waiting staff in types of wine as on our first night the waiter thought our request for a bottle of New Zealand Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc was for a bottle of Merlot!! Also white wine does in fact need to be well chilled. In defence of the bar person he ensured that we enjoyed an exceedingly chilled Sauvignon Blanc with our second dinner.
However, having said all of the above, we would consider returning in the future in the hope that a bit of TLC has been carried out to include clearing the gutterings of grass, fern etc. The shortcomings of the hotel was outweighed by the wonderful location and equally wonderful weather!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R520XTfionak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel Wragg, Guest Services / Front Office at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Portsonachan,

I have spoken to our restaurant manager, and can assure you that re-training has now taken place, I can only apologise, as the service you received, is not our normal standard that we provide.

Our, yearly maintenance programme has been delayed, due to circumstances, we hope to be back on track by the end of November, so apologies for the gutters.

I am very pleased you enjoyed our stunning location and wildlife, and look forward to welcoming you back .

Kind Regards

Liz


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews