We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$101
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$101
CheapTickets
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (2,430)
Filter reviews
2,430 results
Traveller rating
614
766
449
258
343
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
614
766
449
258
343
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch awe single track road stunning views passing places three nights remote location residents lounge short break off the beaten track relaxing break full scottish haggis apartment peat sauna beatrice scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,430 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2021 via mobile

Great location, great view, great food.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Loved the library, nicely decorated and quirky furniture made for a relaxing time.
Look forward to visiting again in a couple of years time

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2021

Hi Andrew. Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our quirky tastes. Will pass on your comments to our staff and Chef. We kook forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2021

Location is beautiful in an incredibly quiet setting well off the beaten track. Accommodation could do with some updating especially the bathrooms and possibly have a shower cubicle rather than a shower in a bath which was of poor pressure quality. The restuarant sells beautiful food but the service could be improved as many guests were unsure of seating arrangements and some of the staff within were not the most attentive. Overall we enjoyed our stay in one of the lodges as although basic it was warm and comfortable as had excellent heating.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank colinbA6496UC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

HI Colin and thank you for your comments and so glad you enjoyed our location, the restaurant and lodge. We are in the process of updating and refurbishing which is a work in progress which we are trying to get finished as quickly as possible. We do apologise for the wait in the restaurant and we are constantly recruiting which, in these somewhat still uncertain times, is not an easy task so thank you for your patience. We hope to see you back at Portsonachan in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2021

Cannot comment on rooms or our stay as we didnt make it past checkin.

We had booked a 3 night special 2 years previously, having seen the "glossy brochure " presentation at a food and craft event in Southport. Paid in full.

Due to covid restrictions, we had to cancel twice but eventually had to pick the dates we were advised were available to us. October 2021.

Having completed a 6 hours road trip through testing weather, including the long winding road along the loch to the hotel, we were eager to just get in and enjoy the rest of the day, though a little early we would check-in and go off for lunch somewhere until our room was ready .

As we walked in I immediately knew that this was a hotel totally lacking from any TLC.
Nevertheless,, 6 hours driving, we proceeded to check-in. Double room 3 nights including continental breakfast in a basic room was originally booked.

Only now to be told at reception we can only have a twin, but if we wanted a double we could pay extra. Not acceptable.
So the receptionist said she would have to speak to the manager. We agreed she did. In the meantime, we requested to use the toilets after our journey.
As I entered the gents, my heart sank at the poor state of general decor and cleanliness. I thought then, that if the ladies were as bad, this was not going to end well.
They were worse. You couldn't wash your hands as all the sink area was covered up with sheets, due to repairs being made to the ceiling (this was not pointed out to us at Reception). The disabled toilet had to be used. iI was also grubby,not smelling fresh and the toilet not even flushed.
I also quickly checked the restaurant and hotel bar. I couldn't believe it. This also had a sad, uncared and unwashed feel. Just depressing. The 70's glass tables in the restaurant were all smeared due to a dirty cloth being used to wipe them. The bar area had furniture which looked like it had come from a charity shop. Old dreary wicker bucket chairs, painted, out of place.
We went back to reception and said we couldn't stay, we were leaving, as the place had unacceptable cleanliness issues. We received no apology , no "wait I will get the manager". Nothing . Just "Oh, OK then". (Customer complaint handling training needed).
(If I didn't know better, I would think this hotel was owned by Brittania Hotels )

I had 25+ years in working in hotels, 20 of these as General Manager in 3-star establishments. We weren't glossy picture postcard hotels, but we were spotless with staff who cared about their workplace and customers alike, and we all ensured that first impressions were always positive.

This property is lacking any input from owners or management to sort out the cleanliness first, then the tired tatty decor and fixtures. This could be a fantastic hotel in the right hands. Sadly not at the moment. I would be very reluctant to eat anything here, and unfortunately, as there are only places to eat within driving distance, there is the other problem.
The lodges may be OK, but the hotel has major issues. On leaving we immediately went on Booking .com, and although we had to pay AGAIN, we fortunately found a wonderful guest house in Oban, which was beautifully decorated, absolutely spotless top to toe and a friendly welcome within 2 hours of leaving Portsonachan.WE will be staying there again.
This is how it should be to secure healthy occupancy and repeat business. It's not rocket science. Call in the Hotel Inspector.

Room tip: stay elsewhere, anywhere
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsonachan Hotel Reception, Owner at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2021

Dear Chris,
Thank you for posting your review, as you have commented that you were a hotel General Manager for over 25 years, I can only comment as follows,
If you knew check in was 4.00pm why turn up at 11.00am? Why try to coerce the receptionist into giving you a FREE upgrade to a Loch View Room? A notice was on the ladies toilets advising of redecoration and asking ladies to use the disable toilet instead. Breakfast had only just finished so the dinning room was in the process of being cleaned, the bar was not open. Our lounge and gents toilets have just been refurbished as other reviews have mentioned, I am very sorry the furnishings were not to your taste, but fortunately we do have a healthy repeat business as you can see from previous reviews with lovely comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff.
Kind Regards
Liz Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2021

I had a good room with a loch View from a side window. The heating was non existent in the rooms of others in the group. One very dangerous heater which sparked was provided in one of them. My very small travel kettle had such a short lead it couldn't be plugged in when on any surface and had to be boiled on the floor which is inherently dangerous. A small extension lead could have fixed that. My linen was stained and dirty 3 out of 4 towels were stained. I didn't mind bathing in the peaty water which was plentiful and very hot but a clean towel is usually a minimum. It wasn't an isolated problem as others in the group also experienced this.
Parts of the hotel are really lovely and we did have a pleasant stay but I'm not sure I would go back even though there is plenty left I want to do.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Hi Anne and thank you for your review of your stay which we do appreciate and glad you enjoyed some parts of the hotel and enjoyed the view of the Loch and hope you had some lovely walks. I have checked with the hotel and apparently there was an iron mark on the towels which were replaced immediately along with the heater once this was reported. This was an oversight on our part, which we do apologise for. We could have also given you an extension lead to make the kettle more accessible. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff are on site 24/7 and we keep spares of everything due to the location we are in so any requests can normally be addressed immediately. As you will have been aware we are in the process of updating and refurbishing which is a work in progress and we are sorry that you would not return. If you change your mind, just contact us direct and we will arrange something for you. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2021

Very comfortable room indeed and welcoming staff. We were a little underwhelmed by the menu which we expected to be a bit more high end than it was. No venison, no game, no local fish. In fact, half the residents seemed to be eating fish and chips. Maybe they just know their clientele. Apart from that, a lovely, if rather remote, place to say, right on the edge of Loch Awe.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2021

Dear Lydia thank you for your comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of reviewing our menu as restrictions are getting easier so will take on board your suggestions. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews