We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$102
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
CheapTicketsUS$115
TravelocityUS$115
Orbitz.comUS$115
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,441)
Filter reviews
2,442 results
Traveller rating
620
771
450
258
343
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
620
771
450
258
343
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch awe single track road stunning views passing places three nights remote location residents lounge short break off the beaten track relaxing break full scottish haggis apartment peat sauna beatrice scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,442 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

We stayed here with friends on a 3 day break.
On arrival we found our room to be very cramped and claustrophobic. The hotel did change us to a slightly bigger twin room and this is where our problems began
There is a clean water issue here and all water that is consumed has to be boiled first, even to the point of telling us not to swallow any water having a shower, which we couldn't use due to poor water pressure. Bottled Water was provided.
We had to do our own housekeeping, I go away for a break not to start making beds.
Both mattress and pillows had no protectors, in these times of covid that is a no no
No blind on bathroom window
We had the most offensive smell in our room and were told it was outside and to keep our windows closed, this wasn't the case, we found if we didn't shut the toilet lid after flushing the smell was coming from the drains. Again with covid we like to open our windows for fresh air.
Continental breakfast was anything but, juice, tea/coffee, porridge, yoghurt, cereal and toast.
General housekeeping very poor, dirty window ledges, grubby carpets especially behind our towel rail.
The Hotel has a great outlook o the Loch, such a shame we had these issues.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank lynndM4820XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

Dear Mrs Denny, thank you for taking time out to post your review and I did reply to you yesterday to your Internal Survey review. We have our own private water supply and the water has a natural peat and mineral content and runs with a brown hue from the taps. It is perfectly safe to bathe in and, in fact, is fantastic for your skin and hair but must be boiled before drinking hence we supply as much free bottled water as our guests want. With the aftermath of Covid we are still fogging rooms so the only people that can access your accommodation is yourself so we cannot offer a daily service. However, we do explain this on arrival and with the pre arrival email and ask our guests to let us know if they want fresh linen and towels which we can provide on a daily basis. I know housekeeping addressed your issue on the protectors and, as explained in my previous email, the bathroom does not have a blind as it has curtains. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us as this is not our intention as we want all our guests to enjoy their break with us. Glad you liked the views of the Loch and, once again, thank you for taking the time out to send us your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2021 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a wee break from our busy lives and I contacted the hotel directly who offered us a great deal for 3 nights. I booked one of the apartments for the two of us and our beautiful dog then read the reviews on TripAdvisor. These made us think twice about going but am so glad we did. It rained constantly while we were there but that's just your luck and there isn't a massive amount of stuff to do but we still enjoyed some lovely walks. The hotel is plain and simple, staff really lovely, our apartment was clean, maybe a little dated but very comfortable and cosy. It was lovely and warm and the bed is very comfortable. The breakfast at the hotel is continental so we bought sausage, eggs, bacon etc and made our own. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedroom has a bath in it which my wife loved, all with a view of Loch Awe. The hotel has a lovely cosy bar and a very comfortable lounge, only criticism is was a little cold, both had open fires but neither were lit. The conservatory is where we dined for two evening meals and the food was pretty good, lots of choice. I would have liked them to have dog beds or blankets because she is an old lady and had to lie on the stone flags and a bowl of water would have been nice also. Overall a brilliant stay, the hotel is very remote but peaceful, it isn't luxury but is great

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank martinrS3515LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Hi Martin, thank you for your review and so pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay along with experiencing the lovely views of South Loch Awe and the walks around the area. As you are probably aware, we are in the process of updating and redecorating all the accommodation and have started on the Loch Side apartments. Once again, thank you for taking the time out to comment on your stay and we appreciate and take on board all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021

We needed a few days break with a bit of relaxation. Here we got it. The food, was good and plentiful, not al carte which suits us. The staff pleasant and helpful. The views lovely and secluded. You will need to have transport, but the sights around are fantastic so the drives are majical.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianhD902NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Hi Brian, thanks for this and so pleased to hear you enjoyed exploring. The views and drives are magical, especially at this time of year and glad you got to see them. I will pass on your comments to the staff as it is always nice to be appreciated. Thank you for taking the time out to post this review. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021 via mobile

Beautiful, stunning location and autumn colours were gorgeous. Restaurant food well presented and very tasty, including excellent takeaway pizza. The apartment we stayed in had lovely terrace with amazing views across the Loch and mountains; the night sky was fabulous. The apartment needed an upgrade which the hotel are currently undertaking. We had one issue which the hotel rapidly tried to sort and also recompensed us for. We were able to recharge our electric car every evening, and will certainly be visiting again next year.

Room tip: 2 Electric vehicle charging points available at hotel Hotel is accessed by single track road
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mcinnesfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Hi and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us which is much appreciated and so glad you enjoyed what Portsonachan and the surrounding areas have to offer. This is a magical time of year for us. I will let the Chef know what you said as it is always nice to receive compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2021 via mobile

The location was out of this world even at this time of year. The apartment was nice and modern however after following the booking instructions and phoning at least 12 hours before our arrival to notify them of our arrival time to find our room was still not ready 1 hour and 45 minutes after said time. There was no hot water in the apartment on the first night and no central heating. We weren’t informed of this even though there was small heaters waiting for us to suggest the problem was already identified. We returned after day tripping the following day to be told the problem had still not been fixed and offered another room. Which was of similar standard but not yet brought up to the standard or our original apartment so essentially a down grade. Which meant getting a hot shower for the first time in 36 hours. This didn’t turn out to be the case as we still never had hot water. Luke warm at best but working heaters this time and no sign of the portable heaters that we were informed that were in all apartments due to it being cold at this time of year. We were informed that the water was not fit for ingesting so they supplied a bottle of water for drinking. The water that came out of the tap’s in the bath was brown and cold so the prospect of enjoying a relaxing soak was out of the question.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank K5893UCjasont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Dear Mr Tocher thank you for taking time out to post your comments and glad you enjoyed the location. There are some stunning views and scenery at this time of year which we have posted on our FB page. We do apologise about any water issues and, as you noted, we are refurbishing and redecorating the accommodation which is a work in progress. We would love you to return to Portsonachan in the future so that we can restore your faith in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews