We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$114
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$114
Hotels.comUS$114
CheapTickets
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (2,443)
Filter reviews
2,443 results
Traveller rating
620
771
450
259
343
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
620
771
450
259
343
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch awe single track road stunning views passing places three nights remote location residents lounge short break off the beaten track relaxing break full scottish haggis apartment peat sauna beatrice scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,443 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2021 via mobile

Everything was perfect from the booking process, to the location, to the accommodation and to the staff!
The communication with the reception staff was superb from the outset. We couldn't get exactly what we wanted on the dates we wanted but they did everything in their power to sort us an alternative.
The location is simply stunning...on the banks of Loch Awe. It's a great base to visit Inveraray, Oban, some islands etc...there is so much to see and do! We took our 2 dogs and they loved it as much as we did. There are fantastic local dog friendly walks.
Our lodge was clean and cosy....staff were telling us the 2 bed lodges are being renovated next year...so it'll be extra perfect.
Reception and waiting staff were attentive. The food was absolutely excellent...my husband is still talking about the sea bass lol.
The decor in the hotel is so cute and we loved sitting in the lounge, in front of the fire with a drink after dinner.
It was an amazing stay from beginning to end. Thank you!!!!

I've read some negative reviews about the place but my advice would be to make your own mind up and visit the Portsonachan Hotel and lodges. You genuinely won't be disappointed. We definitely will be back in the new year.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dionneABBOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2021

Hi and thank you for taking the time to send your review which we do appreciate. I will pass your praise onto the staff and chef and so pleased you enjoyed what we have to offer at Portsonachan along with the location and views.. We look forward to seeing you again next year. All best wishes for the festive season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2021

The hotel is in a stunning location although very remote, but you need transport, which we had, you just need to be very careful on the road.
The hotel itself needs some TLC, it has a lovely lounge to relax & most of the staff were very helpful & welcoming.
We were ok with the breakfast supplied, & had 2 evening meals which were very good & reasonably priced.
We normally have a small break with friends leading up to Xmas to visit the various local Xmas markets, & we are not overly fussy regarding the sleeping accommodation as we are not in there all of the time, however certain issues on this occasion have occurred, firstly there was no working radiator in the room only a very small oil filled radiator which was inadequate (so they were aware of the problem but didn't wish to inform us of this) & as it was at the end of November the room was quite cold. There was no heating in the en-suite & as they didn't change the towels daily they remained damp for the duration of our stay. The shower fixture was loose & the bracket holding the shower hose was also broken both of which were reported, only the bracket had had an attempted repair. The room was not very clean & the bathroom floor was grubby, the light fitting had 1 bulb working out of 3. With all the above mentioned it could be such a lovely place if a bit of time & money was injected into the hotel.

Room tip: Ask questions as to what your expectations would be
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephencZ1267JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

Hi and thank you for posting your review and so pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and the location we offer. We are redecorating and updating all the accommodation which is a work in progress and glad you liked our lounge., We could have provided you with extra heaters for your room as we have a stock of extra supplies along with fresh towels. We are still fogging the rooms so that means you are the only people that can access the rooms but we do inform guests that if they need additional linen/towels then to let us know at Reception and they will be provided. I have addressed maintenance and housekeeping on your comments so apologies if you experienced any inconvenience. We do hope you return to see us again and, once again, thank you for your feedback which we do value. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

We stayed here with friends on a 3 day break.
On arrival we found our room to be very cramped and claustrophobic. The hotel did change us to a slightly bigger twin room and this is where our problems began
There is a clean water issue here and all water that is consumed has to be boiled first, even to the point of telling us not to swallow any water having a shower, which we couldn't use due to poor water pressure. Bottled Water was provided.
We had to do our own housekeeping, I go away for a break not to start making beds.
Both mattress and pillows had no protectors, in these times of covid that is a no no
No blind on bathroom window
We had the most offensive smell in our room and were told it was outside and to keep our windows closed, this wasn't the case, we found if we didn't shut the toilet lid after flushing the smell was coming from the drains. Again with covid we like to open our windows for fresh air.
Continental breakfast was anything but, juice, tea/coffee, porridge, yoghurt, cereal and toast.
General housekeeping very poor, dirty window ledges, grubby carpets especially behind our towel rail.
The Hotel has a great outlook o the Loch, such a shame we had these issues.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank lynndM4820XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

Dear Mrs Denny, thank you for taking time out to post your review and I did reply to you yesterday to your Internal Survey review. We have our own private water supply and the water has a natural peat and mineral content and runs with a brown hue from the taps. It is perfectly safe to bathe in and, in fact, is fantastic for your skin and hair but must be boiled before drinking hence we supply as much free bottled water as our guests want. With the aftermath of Covid we are still fogging rooms so the only people that can access your accommodation is yourself so we cannot offer a daily service. However, we do explain this on arrival and with the pre arrival email and ask our guests to let us know if they want fresh linen and towels which we can provide on a daily basis. I know housekeeping addressed your issue on the protectors and, as explained in my previous email, the bathroom does not have a blind as it has curtains. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us as this is not our intention as we want all our guests to enjoy their break with us. Glad you liked the views of the Loch and, once again, thank you for taking the time out to send us your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2021 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a wee break from our busy lives and I contacted the hotel directly who offered us a great deal for 3 nights. I booked one of the apartments for the two of us and our beautiful dog then read the reviews on TripAdvisor. These made us think twice about going but am so glad we did. It rained constantly while we were there but that's just your luck and there isn't a massive amount of stuff to do but we still enjoyed some lovely walks. The hotel is plain and simple, staff really lovely, our apartment was clean, maybe a little dated but very comfortable and cosy. It was lovely and warm and the bed is very comfortable. The breakfast at the hotel is continental so we bought sausage, eggs, bacon etc and made our own. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedroom has a bath in it which my wife loved, all with a view of Loch Awe. The hotel has a lovely cosy bar and a very comfortable lounge, only criticism is was a little cold, both had open fires but neither were lit. The conservatory is where we dined for two evening meals and the food was pretty good, lots of choice. I would have liked them to have dog beds or blankets because she is an old lady and had to lie on the stone flags and a bowl of water would have been nice also. Overall a brilliant stay, the hotel is very remote but peaceful, it isn't luxury but is great

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank martinrS3515LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Hi Martin, thank you for your review and so pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay along with experiencing the lovely views of South Loch Awe and the walks around the area. As you are probably aware, we are in the process of updating and redecorating all the accommodation and have started on the Loch Side apartments. Once again, thank you for taking the time out to comment on your stay and we appreciate and take on board all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021

We needed a few days break with a bit of relaxation. Here we got it. The food, was good and plentiful, not al carte which suits us. The staff pleasant and helpful. The views lovely and secluded. You will need to have transport, but the sights around are fantastic so the drives are majical.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianhD902NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey W, Marketing at Portsonachan Hotel & Lodges On Loch Awe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2021

Hi Brian, thanks for this and so pleased to hear you enjoyed exploring. The views and drives are magical, especially at this time of year and glad you got to see them. I will pass on your comments to the staff as it is always nice to be appreciated. Thank you for taking the time out to post this review. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews