We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$125
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$125
TravelocityUS$125
Orbitz.comUS$125
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
55
84
51
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
55
84
51
18
21
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2019

We booked this holiday through BA Flight and Hotel, and it was very reasonably priced. We found the hotel to be great and just right for our needs. On arrival booking in was easy and we were taken to a second floor room which was what we requested. The room, bedding and towels were clean,. It contained air conditioning, a ceiling fan, a large bed, table and two chairs, sofa, tv, fridge/freezer (very large), kettle, toaster, microwave and cooker with hob and free wifi. We used a safety deposit box which was in a room off reception, very small boxes, but ok for money, passports and other paperwork. The balcony had 2 chairs and a table and one sunbed, it overlooked the gardens, where there were two swimming pools, one ornate with a waterfall and a bridge and a child's shallow pool., the other pool was for adults, a small rectangle with deep water. There was also another small child pool. The accommodation was very quiet, with some long term returners, we saw a few people but when we went to the pools there was only ever 2 or 3 people using them and always able to get beds and shade. The hotel provided pool towels and you could change them every day if required, we also took ours to the beach. The accommodation is on the Atlantic coast, right on the beach, however this was not recommended for swimming, so we walked the beach a few times, beach had a lot of seaweed and no facilities, it was very quiet too. A 10 minute walk from the hotel was the Caribbean coast and The Strip beach with several beach bars. When reading guidebooks before we went they said this area was the main tourist area and buzzing! We found the beach mostly quiet with a few sunbeds and umbrellas, but mostly empty. We visited a few of the beach bars, INON, had drinks, lots of locals, all friendly and great free wifi. Patsys where we ate chicken wings and bbq ribs and local food, very good and reasonable, also great free wifi. We booked a trip on the Scenic Railway at reception with Tropical Tours and this was excellent and she trusted us to pay for it after we went as she wasn't coming to the hotel beforehand! Receptionists Ophelia and Keithroy were always very friendly and happy to help us. We got around the island by taxi (around XC$30 each trip), visiting different beaches, reception were happy to book taxis for us, although there is a taxi rank just up the road. There are several restaurants around the hotel, although we only went to the GIAO Italian. Further up the road opposite the Marriott we went to Uncle Fats for a couple of evening meals and these were excellent. We also went to Sunset Café which is at the left hand side of The Strip, with beautiful sunsets, food local and ok, and a nice place to while away a couple of hours people watching, but one miserable waitress put us off going there again to eat. There is a small supermarket next to reception and a bigger one opposite the Marriott, mostly selling Canadian and American type foods, but a few Waitrose makes, nothing very local, so that was disappointing! We went into Basseterre and took the ferry to Nevis for a day and had a taxi tour around Nevis with Sam which was worth doing. We had a very happy holiday and are wishing we were still there!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz160455
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea J, General Manager at Sugar Bay Club Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2019

Liz 160455,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We love receiving feedback from our guests. It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful relaxing vacation. Thats what we are here for.

I will surely pass on to Opheila and Keithroy a thank you for their great service. Sounds like you definitely made the best of your trip and had some memorable experiences and even hopped over to Nevis.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2019

We stayed in a studio room on the first floor of the ocean block. The room was large with 2 double beds, which were very comfy. The room had a balcony overlooking the grounds and a little well equipped kitchen with fridge freezer, freestanding cooker with oven and hobs, kettle, toaster and all the pots, pans and utensils we needed.
The hotel had 2 nice pools and lovely well maintained gardens. It sits on the atlantic side of frigate bay but there is no direct access to the beach or sea. Frigate bay beach is an easy, flat 10-15 minute walk from the hotel, or you can use the beach at the marriott which is a similar distance in the opposite direction.
Reception staff were frirndly but the only thing we found strange about the hotel is that it didnt really have any communal spaces - no bar, lounge or restaurant as such. That said, there was more than enough choice right on the doorstep, including a small but well stocked supermarket, breakfast cafe, and range of world cuisines.
Frigate bay is a tourist area and caters well for this but theres not a lot to it beyond bars, restaurants, duty free shops and beach. We enjoyed the beach bars and swimming in the bay, there's some really good snorkeling to be had right off the beach, we even saw a turtle!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scamkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea J, General Manager at Sugar Bay Club Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2019

Hi scamkat,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We love hearing that you enjoyed our comfy beds and felt that your stay was of good value.
Our studios are great because as you stated they have a well equipped kitchenette which makes it so convenient for our guests who like having the option to cook or even just reheating tasty leftovers from dining out. We don't have a communal bar or lounge as we feel that there are so many other available options on the property and within walking distance as you have said. Sounds like you had a nice relaxing vacation and we hope that you choose us to welcome you back to St. Kitts on your future stay.

Warm Regards,
Chelsea


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019

I moved to St Kitts for work and was placed there when we arrived. We stayed in one of the units at the back just steps from the sea. It was a great experience. The children lived in the for the three weeks we stayed there.

Transportation is by taxi only by there is a taxi stand close by.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank fionaj8692018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea J, General Manager at Sugar Bay Club Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2019

Thank you fionaj8692018 for letting us know about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that it was a great experience and the children enjoyed it. We hope that you have a lovely time living on our beautiful island.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2019

My wife and I stayed in room 230 for 4 nights. We took a quick ten minute taxi ride from the airport for US$16. Check-in was efficient but we were surprised they took full payment on arrival plus a refundable US$150 deposit for possible damages - we did get all the deposit back when we departed.

The room was spacious with a tiled floor. There was a large king bed and lots of cupboard and storage space. Annoyingly the hangars were fixed. There were two wicker chairs and table and fridge. There was a microwave, but no plates or utensils apart from two spoons. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee. Tea and instant coffee were replenished daily but there were only two of each. Being prepared, we had brought our own coffee. There was a tin opener and bottle opener. There was no room safe though there are some deposit boxes at reception. Air-conditioning was efficient. There were two chairs and a table on the balcony. The room had electric plug sockets for both UK and US style plugs. The door had no security spy hole.

The balcony faced eastwards, towards the Atlantic, and so was windy. The waves crashed onto the beach all day and night. The patio door to the balcony had a broken fly net, which was replaced the day we left, though we had reported it as broken on our first morning.

Wifi was free but slow. OK for emails.

The area was quiet and we slept well. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly.

The bathroom had a large walk-in shower. Hot water was always available but sometimes took a long time to come through. There was also a washbasin and WC. Towels were changed daily. Toiletries provided were one shampoo, one moisturizer, plus soap. The bathroom had a noisy extractor which came on automatically when the light was on.

The two swimming pools were pleasant and usually quiet. Towels are available from reception.

There was no info about the hotel in the room, not even any info on TV channels.

The hotel was near two Rams supermarkets, the better one is opposite the Marriott which is about ten minutes walk. Prices are higher than the UK and there is much less choice. The best bit was buying wine and spirits at duty free prices if you showed them your flight itinerary to prove you were a visitor. There is a taxi stand within 100-200m. The Strip is easily walk-able, as is the much better beach on the Caribbean side, with much calmer waters. There are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance. Further afield then taxis or hire cars are vital. Bus services are irregular and do not run to a schedule. Brimstone fort costs about US$60 by taxi and gave us 60 minutes there - we managed to negotiate an increase from the normal 45 minutes. Note that you really need about 90 minutes. Basseterre is about a 60 minute walk.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea J, General Manager at Sugar Bay Club Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2019

Thank you for your in-depth feedback on your stay with us RossOrpingtin.

We do hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we are happy to hear that all of our staff were pleasant and friendly. Our staff at the front desk are available 24/7 to answer any questions about the property and its surrounding areas.

We do provide instant coffee as you have stated along with a coffee maker. Some guests choose to walk with their own coffee or purchase coffee when they are here, so we provide the coffee maker for this purpose. Please note that since your room did not have a kitchen, there are no plates or utensils provided. However, upon request we could have certainly been able to provide that for you.

Due to the fact that the island has to import most grocery items, the price can be higher than what you are accustomed to unfortunately. Happy to hear that you were able to make use of the duty free pricing, that's surely a plus.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again for reviewing your stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Chelsea



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

Happy greeting on arrival - room amazing - sea view even more amazing! basic decor but doesn’t matter as only in limited time but the cleanliness is second to none! Room cleaned and towels changed everyday! Have stayed in some top hotels in London who have not been cleaner than here!!! Staff very friendly and really helpful - definitely recommend a stay here! Thank you to all of you for making our stay amazing! See you soon we hope x

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea J, General Manager at Sugar Bay Club Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2019

Hi Gail C,

Thank you for this lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was a Fantastic one. We thank you so much for highly recommending us. Our housekeepers do a great job keeping our rooms clean on a daily basis. They work super hard and I will be sure to pass this wonderful feedback on to them. We hope to have you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews