We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari experts...!”
Review of Master Campers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Master Campers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2016

This is our fourth visit to Sri Lanka and third to Master Campers. Went there just too see Roy the great guide and the majestic elephants. Unfortunately we didn't have time to stay overnight but We were accepted as a day tour booking because we are returning guests. That's what they told us as they usually don't accept booking on day basis.
We did a safari with Roy and was lucky to have Roy as our guide and chef because once again he made us a mouthwatering lunch which we still talk about.
Management beware I mite steal Roy as my personal chef in my country.

The camp site by the water in the middle of the sugar cane field is excellent..!
Thank you Uditha for arranging this trip to master campers and the usual driver Lalitha for our whole 1 week on such short notice..!
See you guys next year again hopefully...!!

Room Tip: Request the tent overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016

My husband and I visited Master Campers for our one year anniversary. For that we were willing to splurge a bit and I feel we got our money's worth. The airport transfer was a bit expensive but we didn't have to worry about finding the place. We were taken directly to the camp and given some time to rest. I don't know what other people think of the term luxury so fair warning, these tents are nice albeit basic. It is still a tent and is subject to nature. It is so peaceful in their camp and the food was excellent!!! They provided a seven course meal which kept me stuffed for the whole day. We spent time browsing the book in our room about local birds which proved very handy when we left for safari.

We did one afternoon safari and one morning which was the perfect amount of time for us. Udawalawe is still my favorite national park outside of Masaimara in Kenya. The open fields give you a great view of the surrounding area. You come around corners and find bunches of elephants. The park was not full of cars so you could be alone with the animals (to achieve this I would suggest going on a week day). Our jeep ended up breaking down and when we were picked up, the driver had seen two leopards just that morning. By deciphering monkey calls, they realized the leopard was about 2.5km away. We raced to the area and it ran across our path. We got to watch it for some time, absolutely magnificent. We would not have been able to achieve that without the guide.

Definitely recommend if you have the money!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Julianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Comfortable tents with excellent en-suite facilities. Great welcome. Comfortable vehicles for afternoon and morning safaris. Knowledgeable guides. Interesting location for bird watching. Dinner was provided in an area near the tents with lovely lights and a blazing fire. Excellent food.

Room Tip: Tents seem to be booked from the front 2 working back, so book early for front tents with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bicknela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We had an amazing stay at Master Campers. From arrival, we were very well looked after and the service was incredible. Roy was the most amazing guide...the things he could spot from so far away was amazing! We also found out he was the very talented chef that prepared our delicious meals - dining out on delicious food under the stars was an amazing experience. The accommodation was very luxurious and the camp was hidden away which meant it was very peaceful and quiet. An amazing experience that I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lauren_W27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Staying at Master Campers gave us the opportunity to see nature in the wild and camp by a lake....I must say Roy, the guide and cook and general fount of information was extraordinary and made our trip....he knew so much about the animals .....he was so enthusiastic as well about the Park and the animals and especially the bird life, I can't praise him enough. Also, he is the Cook and he can do a very good curry and he has a big smile as well....this National Park was stunning ....if you like wild life and all the unexpected things that a tour through such a park produces...I want to go back to Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: all tents access the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uda Walawe National Park hotels
11.9 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#3 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#7 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
119 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Gayan's
Hotel Gayan's
#1 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Max Safari Villa
Max Safari Villa
#5 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
57 reviews
0.0 km away
Mansala Safari Resort
Mansala Safari Resort
#2 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
96 reviews
0.0 km away
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
#14 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Master Campers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Campers

Address: 39/2 Bandaranayake Mawatha | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 10100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $785 - $1,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Master Campers runs mobile safari camping sites just out side the wildlife parks of Sri Lanka (the most visited are Udawalawe, Yala and Wilpattu). On their Safaris Visitors will see the wonders of Sri Lanka's jungle while enjoying gourmet food and every amenity needed for camping in comfort and style. Our Camp sites and activities including safari game drives provide enjoyment for campers of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Master Campers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing