We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing luxury treat right next to Udawalawe National Park”
Review of Master Campers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Master Campers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We had a wonderful stay with Master Campers. We wanted for nothing - everything was taken care of and our guide Roy was incredible and spotting the most camouflaged of animals in the park! We absolutely loved our one night stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms were comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Our visit to Master Campers was nothing short of excellent. Every little detail had been considered. The food was fantastic - we had several of the best meals we had in Sri Lanka over a two week trip. The sleeping arrangements were great too - the tent was simple, clean and comfortable. The safaris were brilliant too - we noticed the other jeeps usually only had a driver, whereas we were lucky enough to have both a driver and a spotter. Uda Walawe is a great place to spot elephants and lots of other animals. We'd definitely recommend that anyone looking to visit Uda Walawe stays at Master Campers!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lawh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

One night at master campers with children was a beautiful experience that we ´ll never forget ! Wonderful camp, great confort in the tent, delicious meals Served, the best we never had in Sri Lanka (children were enjoy)... Fantastic safari with great organisation Roy Is royal and staf very friendly
Don't miss that !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 33WD-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Master Campers was a great experience! They were very helpful and responsive via e-mail during booking (I had to change our dates several times and Uditha was great). The camp was wonderful - clean, fairly modern amenities including air conditioning in the tent, and a nice view.

The actual safaris were incredible - Roy was very knowledgeable as a guide and we saw tons of elephants, crocodiles, birds, monkeys, buffalo, and a jungle cat. We were also the first vehicle in the park for the morning safari so that drive was very peaceful and beautiful.

The meals are great - the fish dinner Roy made (at the last minute because I forgot to tell them I don't eat meat) was probably the best meal we had in Sri Lanka. The service was friendly and attentive (I wish I remembered the name of the young man serving us at the camp but he was wonderful).

I was a little hesitant about booking this part of our trip because of the price but it was truly worthwhile and an amazing experience. Definitely worth the money for a really unique experience. I highly recommend Master Campers.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swoods101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed for 1 night at Master Campers, but wish we could have stayed longer. Every aspect of our stay was amazing. Uditha takes care to ensure you are excellently looked after. Our meals were absolutely delicious, the tents were comfortable, the setting amazing, and the safaris (aft and morning) fantastic. A real highlight of our time in Sri Lanka! Definitely recommend Master Campers to all!

Room Tip: Only 4 tents, all are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsarah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uda Walawe National Park hotels
11.9 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#2 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#7 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
119 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Gayan's
Hotel Gayan's
#1 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mansala Safari Resort
Mansala Safari Resort
#3 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
96 reviews
7.3 km away
Kula Kula - Wild Safaris and Luxury Camping Udawalawe
Kula Kula - Wild Safaris and Lux...
#18 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
12 reviews
0.0 km away
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
#14 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Master Campers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Campers

Address: 39/2 Bandaranayake Mawatha | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 10100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $795 - $1,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Master Campers runs mobile safari camping sites just out side the wildlife parks of Sri Lanka (the most visited are Udawalawe, Yala and Wilpattu). On their Safaris Visitors will see the wonders of Sri Lanka's jungle while enjoying gourmet food and every amenity needed for camping in comfort and style. Our Camp sites and activities including safari game drives provide enjoyment for campers of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Master Campers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing