We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip”
Review of Master Campers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Master Campers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed at master campers for one night. Roy and Uditha were amazing and it was a very special, unique atmosphere. Dinner under the stars was magical. They made such an effort with everything that we felt thoroughly spoilt.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank evanna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

if you have been to an uber swish safari camp in South Africa, then this may disappoint you - but we loved it. The staff are exceedingly friendly, food is really very good (some of the best we have had in our year in Sri Lanka), the tents are a bit tired but ok, and the location ace. It's also kid friendly, with a nice fire light at night and the kids given marshmallows to roast.
The park itself is not massive, so one or two nights here is adequate. They also went out of there way to try and keep us away from the most touristic parts of the park..The team are very good at spotting obscure birds and game. All in all - good but not cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank paul5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Master Campers is great camping experience with safari at Uda Walawe park, they are a small outfit which strives to be helpful and welcoming, and the staff's enthusiasm, expertly led by Isuru, is probably some of the best we have ever experienced. Food is outstanding with copious amounts offered. Tents are fine with electricity available during the night for charging phones and cameras, and a much needed fan. Ensuite bathroom a little basic (though not enough to put us off) & a small cosmetic improvement in that area would make Master Campers absolutely tip top. Our Safari guide Prasad was again enthusiastic and outstanding at finding us copious amounts of animals and was such a fountain of knowledge, especially about elephants, his other day job being at the Born Free orphaned elephants foundation. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

WOW! Roy and his staff have nailed this, it's an absolute must do. Especially if you're traveling from Kandy to the south. We only spent a night but that was enough for our three small children but not for us.
Firstly the accomodation was a lot better than I expected. The mattress was more comfortable than the hotel we had stayed in the previous night and I was super happy to have a toilet and shower in the tent as well.
Secondly, the food was OUT OF THIS WORLD. My only advice is to arrive hungry as the lunch followed by the dinner are fantastic. The setting is also part of the experience and the guys make sure you get the 5 star experience.
The safari was sensationsal, I think what made it really great was Roy's never ending enthusiasm to identify and find all sorts of birds, reptiles and of course animals. He and his driver were super respectful of the wildlife and their habitat which was a great example to our children.
You cannot miss this experience people, it was just fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Master Campers experience from start to finish was tip top..!

Jay our driver picked us from airport and was with us through out our stay and he went out of his way to make sure we were happy and safe..! Thank you for everything J and Uditha for organizing the whole thing.


Camp was great. Best food we had in Sri Lanka..! Roy was very good guide who explained everything to us. Kids enjoyed the whole thing especially the safari and the food which was the best we had in Sri Lanka.


Thank you J, Roy, Uditha and Master Campers for the experience. It wouldnt have been possible with out your effort...!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank samuel_7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uda Walawe National Park hotels
11.9 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#3 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#7 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
119 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Gayan's
Hotel Gayan's
#1 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Max Safari Villa
Max Safari Villa
#5 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
57 reviews
0.0 km away
Mansala Safari Resort
Mansala Safari Resort
#2 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
96 reviews
0.0 km away
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
Ruhunu Safari Camping Uda Walawe
#14 of 35 in Uda Walawe National Park
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Master Campers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Campers

Address: 39/2 Bandaranayake Mawatha | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 10100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: $788 - $1,162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Master Campers runs mobile safari camping sites just out side the wildlife parks of Sri Lanka (the most visited are Udawalawe, Yala and Wilpattu). On their Safaris Visitors will see the wonders of Sri Lanka's jungle while enjoying gourmet food and every amenity needed for camping in comfort and style. Our Camp sites and activities including safari game drives provide enjoyment for campers of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Master Campers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing