We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Master Campers
Nearby Hotels
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe(Uda Walawe National Park)
US$89
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Happy Elephant Resort(Uda Walawe National Park)(Great Value!)
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalu's Hideaway(Uda Walawe National Park)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Superson Family Guest(Uda Walawe National Park)(Great Value!)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gayan's(Uda Walawe National Park)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silent Bungalow(Uda Walawe National Park)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansala Safari Resort(Uda Walawe National Park)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Trails(Uda Walawe National Park)
US$75
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe(Uda Walawe National Park)
US$608
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort(Uda Walawe National Park)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
135
12
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
12
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar caneelusive leopardsri lankaamazing experiencetwo nightscamping tripgourmet cuisinegreat chefgenuine interestmoney well spentnational parkdelicious lunchamazing safariamazing shotsgreat sceneryfried fishtoilet and shower
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

if you have been to an uber swish safari camp in South Africa, then this may disappoint you - but we loved it. The staff are exceedingly friendly, food is really very good (some of the best we have had in our year in Sri Lanka), the tents are a bit tired but ok, and the location ace. It's also kid friendly, with a nice fire light at night and the kids given marshmallows to roast.
The park itself is not massive, so one or two nights here is adequate. They also went out of there way to try and keep us away from the most touristic parts of the park..The team are very good at spotting obscure birds and game. All in all - good but not cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank paul5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Master Campers is great camping experience with safari at Uda Walawe park, they are a small outfit which strives to be helpful and welcoming, and the staff's enthusiasm, expertly led by Isuru, is probably some of the best we have ever experienced. Food is outstanding with copious amounts offered. Tents are fine with electricity available during the night for charging phones and cameras, and a much needed fan. Ensuite bathroom a little basic (though not enough to put us off) & a small cosmetic improvement in that area would make Master Campers absolutely tip top. Our Safari guide Prasad was again enthusiastic and outstanding at finding us copious amounts of animals and was such a fountain of knowledge, especially about elephants, his other day job being at the Born Free orphaned elephants foundation. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

WOW! Roy and his staff have nailed this, it's an absolute must do. Especially if you're traveling from Kandy to the south. We only spent a night but that was enough for our three small children but not for us.
Firstly the accomodation was a lot better than I expected. The mattress was more comfortable than the hotel we had stayed in the previous night and I was super happy to have a toilet and shower in the tent as well.
Secondly, the food was OUT OF THIS WORLD. My only advice is to arrive hungry as the lunch followed by the dinner are fantastic. The setting is also part of the experience and the guys make sure you get the 5 star experience.
The safari was sensationsal, I think what made it really great was Roy's never ending enthusiasm to identify and find all sorts of birds, reptiles and of course animals. He and his driver were super respectful of the wildlife and their habitat which was a great example to our children.
You cannot miss this experience people, it was just fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Master Campers experience from start to finish was tip top..!

Jay our driver picked us from airport and was with us through out our stay and he went out of his way to make sure we were happy and safe..! Thank you for everything J and Uditha for organizing the whole thing.


Camp was great. Best food we had in Sri Lanka..! Roy was very good guide who explained everything to us. Kids enjoyed the whole thing especially the safari and the food which was the best we had in Sri Lanka.


Thank you J, Roy, Uditha and Master Campers for the experience. It wouldnt have been possible with out your effort...!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank samuel_7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We had never been on a safari before and the 5* service of Master Campers blew us away. We were a party of 4 and the accommodation with A/C and the gourmet cuisine prepared by Roy made the experience incredible. The complementary wine as well as meals specially catered to meet the needs of our two teenagers were an added touch to the whole experience. We were even served Italian food one evening, which we never expected. Being close to the equator, it is warm and humid. However, the mornings were cooler and we were able to take advantage of the cooler weather and the tour guide, Roy (and Uditha), did a terrific job to adjusting to our schedule. We were able to see several elephants, hornbills, woodpeckers, buffalos, peacocks and monkeys. It is definitely an experience worth remembering and we felt that it was money well spent on a 3-day camping trip. We will certainly come back next time when we are in Sri Lanka. Also, the team was very helpful during the planning stages and responded to all our questions promptly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews