We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
356
76
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
356
76
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner north bay scallops warm welcome outer hebrides friendly hotel great place to stay cooked to perfection seafood beautiful island breakfast was excellent dining room marion northbay barra ferry plane
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service from lovely friendly happy staff. Fabulous breakfast I had fresh fruit salad and yogurt with honey followed by smoked haddock and poached egg cooked to perfection it was so good I had the same on our second day. Spotlessly clean in all departments.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Skyegirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved everything about this small hotel. There was a warm welcome on arrival, the owner and staff were all very helpful and friendly, the bedroom was very comfortable and the food for both breakfast and evening dining was excellent.
There is a nice relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and I would definitely choose to stay here again on a return visit to Barra.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2021

We chose the Heathbank Hotel for the Barra part of our Outer Hebrides trip due to the excellent reviews and were really glad we did. Initially we had planned one night, but with a 2 night minimum stay, we’re so glad we stayed for two.

Marion and the team are doing a fantastic job, making you feel welcome and taking every precaution to ensure Covid-19 procedure compliance. Marion makes a great host and it was interesting speaking to her about Barra and places to visit.

As the hotel was full we could only get the small double room, which has a double bed against a wall, but we didn’t not find this an issue. The room had enough space and had stunning views. The bathroom was clean and modern with lovely towels.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and were not disappointed with the quality of the food and the size of the portions. It was fresh and very tasty. The bar has a good selection of drinks and Tresna made sure we were well looked after. In the evening you complete a form for what you would like for breakfast as it is made to order due to Covid restrictions around buffets. The selection was excellent and really set us up for the day exploring the lovely island of Barra.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kennyg509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021

We arrived from the ferry, and my wife was not feeling very well. As soon as we checked in the lovely owner, Marion asked what she could do to help, and this is how the whole 3 day break went. The small hotel is family run, spotlessly clean, fantastic food and bar area with a feel that this should be a four star hotel (not three) Cant wait to book again in the future. Thanks again to everyone for making this break special.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 879margiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

We had the best minimoon at the Heathbank Hotel. The hotel and rooms are beautiful and they have an amazing restaurant. I heard locals saying that it is the best restaurant in the whole island and I’m sure it is true. The staff is so lovely and friendly as well. We arrived by plane and the hotel was quite close to the airport and even we decided to walk everywhere, it is easily accessible also by public transport. Would highly recommend to couples of any age!

Date of stay: June 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ViajesdeJasmiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews