We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocotal Beach Resort is Closed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocotal Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We recently tried to book a few nights at the Ocotal Beach Resort, we picked our dates to stay and the booking agency said those dates are not avilible.
Today well eating at Father Roosters that is next door to Ocotal Beach Resort, we walked over to see the beach rooms (we stayed here in 2008 and loved it).
Much to our surprise, the lower building is empty and the swimming pool is empty, see attached photos & security gaurds not letting nobody in.
Good luck Ocotal Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Ocotal Beach Resort is Closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gnorman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2016

Ocotal Beach Resort is a perfect hotel for couples or a honeymoon, I been there for relax and the views from the romos are just perfect. Next time I I´ll visit with my girlfriend, the place is amazing and the staff very nice.

Room Tip: Bungalows are perfect for families and rooms for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Great place to stay and dinner the view is super nice I recommend the rooms up on the hill with ocean view. the Place is just perfect to relax and sit down for weekend at night coco beach offer a lot to do.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Resort has been closed and supposedly has a new owner who plans elaborate renovations, but in Costa Rica, who knows? The best alternative to stay for a quiet beautiful and peaceful alternative to the mayhem in Playas del Coco is Bahia Pez Vela which is a 2015 Tripadvisor Travelers choice Award winner. Call 011-(506) 2670 0129

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

As has been stated before the place does not seem to be enjoying its glory years. It is a little run down or dare I say, in need of some deep cleaning. Not all bad, though! We did enjoy our stay. The hotel offers a beautiful view and the nearby Ocotal beach was stunning. Staff was not very helpful.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank passportsandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Ocotal
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
Hotel Villa Casa Blanca
#1 of 2 in Playa Ocotal
127 reviews
12.2 km away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
3.2 km away
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino
#7 of 11 in Playas del Coco
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Villa Buena Onda
Villa Buena Onda
#1 of 11 in Playas del Coco
344 reviews
9.7 km away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
737 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocotal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocotal Beach Resort

Address: Playa del Coco | PO Box 1, Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Ocotal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Ocotal
Price Range: $149 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocotal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocotal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocotal Beach Hotel Playas Del Coco
Hotel Ocotal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing