We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
437
317
122
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
317
122
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities swimming pool western hotels mersey estuary family room leisure club executive room bit dated chester zoo restaurant staff north wales an update sauna and steam room lovely hotel double bed evening meal enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a family wedding. The wedding breakfast was very good, served in comfortable surroundings. However when it came to the speeches the PA system wouldn't work properly and we were treated to several high pitch screams from the speakers.

Judging by the smell of fresh paint the corridors had recently been redecorated, but there was no lift down to the level on which our rooms were located and the route included a fairly steep staircase.

Our rooms were comfortable and well equipped with en suite facilities. However we were all woken the following morning to the sound of the fire alarm. As if this wasn't bad enough, just as our hearts had stopped racing from the shock after the alarm had stopped it sounded again. By this time we were wide awake! The consensus among guests was that the alarm had been triggered by the steam from someone's shower elsewhere in the hotel. Now I've stayed in hotels around the world and this is a first: why hasn't this been identified as a hazard and dealt with by installing better steam extraction or less sensitive smoke alarms?

Breakfast consisted of a typical buffet selection, the highlight of which was the spectacular view across the Mersey estuary to Liverpool.

To be fair, you know what you're going to get with Best Western and this experience didn't disappoint in that respect: distinctly average.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Dear Simon C.
Many thanks for your candid review following your recent stay here at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.
We are pleased that you found the majority of what we have to offer good and in answer to your comment about the fire alarm system it is extremely sensitive as you would expect and the extraction system in the bathrooms are good however when a guest chooses to have the shower on full with the door open this is going to activate the alarms and we do our best to minimise disruption by investigating as quickly as possible.
We hope these problems will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Nice hotel 20 mins from Chester. Currently undergoing minor refurbishment although disruption was minimal, pleasant clean rooms with friendly staff. Made use of the the leisure facilities and pool which were good. Free wi-fi. Have stayed here before and will definitely use again. Evening menu not appealing to us as a family although nearby pub "Ring o Bells" serves great food, just make sure you book! Breakfast was a plenty!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank currygobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Currygobbler.
Many thanks for posting your great review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Best Western Forest Hills Hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be great value.
I will take pleasure in passing your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed as a family. food okay & reasonable price. Room v noisy with the heating unit next to it. Pool nice & warm. Saunas good. Rooms clean but very dated. Good value for money. Location very awkward due to narrow steep road.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank victoriasheppard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
I will pass your kind comments on to the team as well as investigate the noise you have reported.
For future information next time you visit the hotel there is an easier way if you follow the brown tourist information signs which take you up Simons lane.
Once again many thanks.
Kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Love going here. Good service from friendly staff. Good food,well cooked and served by attentive staff and good entertainment laid on. A pleasure to be there.special mention for Chris the Restaurant manager, runs things like clockwork

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foresthillshotel, General Manager at Best Western Forest Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear Al B
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us,
I will pass all your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel especially Chris who does a fantastic job for us within the Food and Beverage department.
We hope you will come and visit again very soon.
kind Regards
Kieran McCabe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews