We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway in every way imaginable...”
Review of Jungle Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jungle Club
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Only one word to describe this place...and that is AWESOME! Often described as Samui's best kept secret...which, to be honest is why I'm a bit reluctant to leave this review! Because it's way off the beaten track (best to call them for a lift in the 4x4 from the bottom of the hill...always a fun and exciting ride!), it retains a feeling of exclusivity and once you're there you are made to feel like one of the family by the wonderful staff and owners. The staff here really are lovely and will bend over backwards to help make your stay as fun and relaxed as possible.

The location is fantastic...set in the heart of the jungle with the most stunning views over the island. The attention to detail in the design of the rooms, bar and pool areas are what you'd expect from a hotel with a much higher rating..so many photo opportunities! And the food is simply delicious, both Thai and European style.

In short...can't recommend this place enough to anyone...but i warn you... book a couple more extra nights there than you originally plan as you won't want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 451 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2010

We didn't stay at Jungle Club, so I cannot comment on the accommodation, but we ate here 3 times during our stay.

We were staying in Lamai, so we had to rent a scooter to get to Jungle Club and initially we were a bit worried about getting to the top of the hill with our little scooter. However once we noticed that all the staff were comfortably scooting up and down, we decided to give it a go and it wasn't so difficult after all. You just need to give it some accelaration!

Once you arrive at the top, you will be so glad you made the trip. The views are stunning, both day and night. The service was very laid back but friendly and when we arrived for dinner one night they suggested that we take the big gazebo on the hill that had the most amazing views of Koh Samui at night, from which we could see the fireworks and lanterns coming from Chaweng.

The food itself was really lovely- well put together (although no fuss) and lots of healthy options. The beer were served very cold in stubbie holders which I was grateful for, because often in Thailand we were served warm beer. My husband had a very nice lemon iced tea which came in a tall glass packed with ice to keep it cold.

One of the highlights with the food was the fried rice with pork which came with a chilli sauce to drizzle over and fresh lime to squeeze. The red curry was also delicious. For lunch one time I ordered a glass noodle salad with minced pork which was excellent, aside from the raw onion, of which there was a little too much for my taste.

This is a must-visit place while you are in Koh Samui. Make the journey to get there, you won't be disappointed, especially if you like chilled places with awesome views and relaxed vibes. For lunch we paid 350 baht for two mains and two drinks.... great value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieEvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

First and foremost, this place truly is beautiful, with fantastic scenery and a calm tranquillity. The resort has a laid back feel to it, with scattered tree huts and a well maintained landscape. Great for photos!

I have been travelling with my girlfriend (both 25) for 9 weeks across SE Asia. We were staying in a beach hut which cost 600bht. The hut was fairly basic with a fan, though no a/c or fridge. We had planned to stay two nights, though decided to check-out on the 2nd day for the following reasons:

We found the restaurant to be over-priced - you can buy only small bottles of water at the bar which cost 30bht. In the daily heat, you need about 4 bottles each. A typical thai dish, Pad -Thai/ Red/Green curry, costs around 150bht, breakfast costs approx 150 -200bht for toast, eggs and coffee. Once you add up your daily food/drinks bill, you feel like you have been dinning out with Ryanair. I will add that the food at the resort is nice.

The location of the resort means that it is only accessible by the Jungle Clubs own 4WD. No taxi or moto's can take you to the resort. The hotel provide a free service to the beach at 10am and 6pm, though they charge 100bht per person at all other times, which doubles after mid-night. We didn't like the fact that you were totally dependant on the resort staff, who, due to their excess numbers, were completely bored and liked to comment on everything you done. For instance, we were taking our laundry in back packs down to the beach front to get washed - 30bht in town compared to 80bht a kg at the resort, and the staff asked us if we taking bags to stock up on supplies (beer/water I assume). That’s not hospitality.

When we arrived in Koh Samui we called the hotel to check availability. Firstly they said they had only a 2900bht bungalow available and when I was thanking the staff member but informing him this was out of our budget, they told me a beach hut was in fact available. I asked the hotel if they would pick us up. They told us to get a taxi to the foot of their hill - any taxi driver would know the location. We assumed it was a significant distance away, as the hotel would have surely picked us up from town? This was not the case. We got a taxi for 200bht, which we were in for about 3 mins, before the Jungle Club picked us up in their 4wd at the foot of a hill. Upon our arrival, we had the pick of 3 beach huts, and we seen no signs to suggest the other two were filled later in the day. In the afternoon we get a lift in the 4wd back down the hill, when we were told to get out and get a taxi to the beach. We assumed the driver was then going to turn and go back up the hill, he didn't. In the meantime we decided to walk to the beach (approx 15 mins), and were shocked to see fellow guests drive past us on the back of the 4wd heading back to the resort. Basically, the driver directed us to get a taxi at the bottom of the hill, even though he was going to the beach to pick up other guests for a fee. Their is clearly some deal between the hotel and local taxi drivers to get as much cash out of tourists as possible. This was the final nail on the coffin for us. As I alluded to, Entrapment.

Ideally this resort should be all inclusive, so not to hit guests with hidden costs. The rooms are let cheaply to attract tourists, and then your left with no alternative but to buy over-priced products. If your not on a modest budget and don’t mind paying for taxis in and out of town, then you will enjoy the place. It truly is beautiful. If you back-packing, stay for one night just to see it, and move on to a cheaper alternative in town. The service of the staff is poor (when I asked for the wireless key, the staff member asked if I was staying at the hotel, I wanted to inform him I had just parachuted in, though I doubt he would have picked up the sarcasm - I assume he was buying thinking time to decide on a fee), though, don’t let this put you off enjoying the awesome setting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMF1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

With splendid views of Chaweng Beach and Lake and accessible only by 4WD vehicle, the Jungle Club is an oasis of tranquility away from the craziness of Chaweng. I stayed for 3 nights in a Jungle Hut. The hut was fairly basic with cold water shower and wall fan but very clean and spacious for what was approx. 20euro. The staff were very friendly and good fun, with ready suggestions and advice for those wishing to book trips or tours. The restaurant food was also very good and reasonably priced.
Don't let the perceived inaccessibility put you off - there is a free daily trip to and from Chaweng so if you don't care to lie by the pool or relax in one of the hillside lookouts you can spend the day at the beach.

The Jungle Club is a must for anyone looking for something that little bit different and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazeywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We had booked in for 7 nights after the write up in Lonely planet. We emailed from Koh Phanghan for a pier pick up which didnt show - but perhaps a mix up. We phoned from the taxi on our way (taxis cant get up the very steep hill need 4wd). So we waited with our kids and bags at the bottom of the hill and when it started to get dark I had to walk up the hill to try to find someone. When I got there the staff were sitting around with no one looking like they were leaving to get us any time soon. We had spoken to them from the taxi and it is hard to see how this was another mix up. We gave the benefit of the doubt, but the service was rubbish the whole stay (staff even rolling their eyes are a request for a bottle of water). Every order at the restaurant was got wrong as well.

The resort is really beautiful and they have clearly spent a lot of money on it, with really amazing views but lots of little things let it down, unfriendly staff for starters, no fans in the restaurant, limited shuttle service out of the Jungle and no fridge in the room.

We checked out after 2 nights (our kids couldnt sleep in the heat of the room), everyone else we met checked out early as well. There were mozzies everywhere and the place is really expensive - you have no choice but to eat and drink the very expensive and low quality food in the restaurant. They even charge 200 baht to use wifi on your laptop - nothing is included in the price but your room.

Might be good for a couple of nights for couples but dont stay here with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliep20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.8 km away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
4.6 km away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#27 of 104 in Chaweng
100 reviews
1.7 km away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
4.1 km away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
449 reviews
1.5 km away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Club

Address: Chaweng Noi Beach | Soi Panyadee school, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $21 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Club 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jungle Club - Chaweng Noi - Samui Island. Upon arrival at the Jungle Club, you will be welcomed by a kind French-Thai family who decided to follow their heart and settled in a coconut plantation overhanging the bay of Chaweng. A breathtaking panoramic view over the Gulf of Siam. We offer comfortable accommodations built using natural and traditional materials. Ideal to take a relaxing and rejuvenating break; nature, space, calm, freshness and privacy are all around the place. Discover our “chill out” restaurant and bar where traditional Thai and French Cuisine is served, or relax in the shade of a candlelight atmosphere while listening to cool international and local music selected by experts. The Jungle Club is often described as one of Samui’s best-kept secret. An experience not to be missed! Looking forward to welcome you as our privileged guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jungle Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Club Hotel Chaweng
Jungle Hotel Chaweng
Jungle Club Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing