We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, huge rooms, private jacuzzi - awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed at Sareeraya for Three nights and booked it after reading the great reviews on tripadvisor and the experience was special.

Location: Great location in the heart of koh samui located just at the starting of the happening chaewang beach area. The beach is just five steps away from this boutique resort.

Rooms: The location and the room is the USP of this resort. Rooms are huge with a bed which is good to sleep SIX people. Our rooms has a private deck with an attached open air jacuzzi which made the whole experience special. Bathrooms are huge as well with attention to detailing. Only thing missing from the room was that it didnot offer a view of the ocean - we could only see our private jacuzzi and pool from the room.

Food: The only let down is probably the quality and variety offered for breakfast. Even our room service food we ordered once was not great.

Value for money: This is maybe one of the more expensive accommodations on chaewang beach but it is still it is so much more worth it - if you want to stay at Chaewang - look no further.

I am coming back to Koh Samui and I am coming back to Sareeraya.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jainabhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor, your kind comments are well appreciated. We are very pleased you had a great time while staying at Sareeraya Villas & Suites and that our accommodations and services reached your expectations. We agree the location of our Hotel is superb, right on Chaweng Beach within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Suites on the first floor do not have sea views, but as you mention they come with fantastic open air Jacuzzis. Great to hear this particular room feature made your stay and experience special.

We regret for not exceeding your expectations with respect to the breakfast buffet. Each morning our buffet offers more than 60 items including a variety of breads, Danish and cakes, cereals, yougurts, fruits, juices and Asian & Western dishes, many of them changing daily and cooked to order. If there was something you were unable to order, please let us know and we can add it to our breakfast menu.

Thank you again for choosing Sareeraya Villas & Suites and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 632 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

Amazing hotel. Lovely staff very tentative can't do enough for you. Everything has been so well thought of. Will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Sareeraya Villas & Suites! We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We love this resort, that's why we chose to stay here again this year (stayed Feb last year) when we journeyed back for our friends'. wedding. We stayed on the 3rd floor again, but on the opposite corner and thoroughly enjoyed the experience 2nd time around. This resort is consistently good. Chaweng has had some changes and is getting bigger. We hired a car with friends who were staying in the heart of Chaweng at Ark Bar and toured around the island. This was a great experience which I recommend to everyone as you can do it in 1 day. We dined at La Lutecia, Fisherman's Village in Bophut, after cocktails at The Pier, before returning back to our accommodation. Our meal was absolutely perfect, the freshest seafood cooked to perfection and lovely staff. Wish we had longer stay....perhaps next time!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvcrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you once again for posting such a nice review of your recent stay! There are many options for guests traveling to Koh Samui and we are excited that you have chosen to stay with us on more than one occassion and that you consider us also for future visits. We look forward to extending you a warm welcome again in the near future!

Best regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We just got married at the Sareeraya. Lisa & Elisa couldn't have been more helpful with the wedding planning and on the day. Everything was perfect and more.
Food was out of this world, Hans and his team were also amazing.
Thank you everyone involved.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValerieSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear Newlyweds,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your praise with the TripAdvisor community! It was a great pleasure having you with us and to host your big day. We cannot thank you both enough for sharing your inspiration and excitement for life with us. We wish you all the best for your new life together and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Before I travelled to Koh Samui, I spent weeks researching hotels and eventually narrowed it down to Sareeraya (Chaweng) or Hansar (Bophut). I wanted to go with Hansar and my partner wanted to go with Sareeraya so we tossed a coin and Sareeraya won.

Before I start on this review, I want to say that it is my honest opinion and hope it helps people to make up their mind where to stay on Koh Samui.

Firstly, before arrival we had requested a 3rd floor suite. We were given the ground floor jacuzzi suite and after complaining, the very helpful staff offered to move us to the third floor on the 3rd day of our 6 night stay which we really appreciated. The main reason for wanting to be on the 3rd floor was so that we could overlook the beach but after spending a couple of days in the hotel we realised that even the 3rd floor rooms would have their view of the sea restricted by the trees, gardens and villas which sit between the suites and beach. In the end, we really liked our suite. After a day at the pool, it was good to go back and chill in the jacuzzi. We originally expected that the jacuzzi would be hot but it was (thankfully!) cold!

The jacuzzi was quite private (see photo). It sits in front of the outside decking and then joins a small pool which extends along the length of the building, in front of each of the ground floor suites. The only problem with it being so private is that the wall and greenery that surround it greatly reduce the amount of natural light which comes into your room. The room felt quite dark and not the light and airy environment that we were looking for.

The room itself was fine, although I wouldn't say it was up to 5 star standard. Both the front door and patio doors had large gaps between them and the floor. This felt quite strange and allowed insects to crawl in under the front door on a few occasions. Not great if you're as squemish as me but the curtains in front of the balcony doors were pretty heavy and I think blocked out most insects!

Some of the decor in the room was a little tired and not as spectacular as it looks on the hotel website. Also, the bathroom didn't have the sparkling clean feel that many top-end hotels have.

Next - the pool area. We arrived at lunchtime, but didn't manage to get a sun lounger until 4:30-ish when people started to leave the pool. The rest of the week was fine, you can easily get a sun lounger up until around 11:00am and some days there were always loungers available. The first impression though when you arrive and are unable to relax at the pool wasn't great. Also the pool is small. Once you put a family in it with some inflatable beds it doesn't leave a lot of space. I'm not anti-families, but there were more kids around than I'd expected.

In terms of the staff - good reviews. The pool bar and restaurant staff were fantastic. I can't convey in a typed review how friendly, helpful and courteous they are. I remember one in particular who deserves a mention - Panupong. He works at the pool bar and restaurant and always had a smile on his face and would do anything he could to help us.
Unfortunately, the friendly and welcoming approach to hotel guests doesn't extend further up the management hierarchy. On several occasions, we saw the general manager wandering around - as far as we saw, he never had a smile on his face. He never approached us to ask if we were enjoying our stay and came across as one of the most unapproachable people I have witnessed while travelling. We stayed in two 5 star hotels before we arrived in Koh Samui and in both establishments, a member of the management team approached us (more than once) to ask us how our stay was going and just to have a chat with us. Although not the be all and end all, it's another small sign that Sareeraya hasn't quite reached 5 star.

The hotel sits on the beach at Chewang and has an ideal location, away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre. We loved walking along the beach and there's a great beachfront bar/restaurant next to the hotel (head onto the beach and walk 60 seconds to the left). They do really good quality and cheap lunches but the best bit was sitting there late at night on a deckchair, with the stars above you and the waves lapping at your feet and sipping on a beer. It was fantastic. Unfortunately the Sareeraya seems to shut down at 11pm which I found a bit strange but this place on the beach (nothing to do with Sareereaya) made up for it.

Chewang itself is an interesting place! I was a bit down-hearted on the first night when we ventured to the centre and saw a neon, back-packer filled, strip of bars and restaurants. We went to Fishermen's village on the third night and realised we probably preferred the quiter, more chilled out nightlife there. The restaurants are great and not as noisy and crowded as Chewang. This is another reason why I may have preferred staying at the Hansar in Bophut as it's only a short distance from Fishermen's village.

Having said that, I became more fond of Chewang as the nights progressed. The beach is nicer than the one on Bophut and there are a few nice bars and restaurants to visit (Red Snapper restaurant was fantastic).

I seem to have been rambling on for ages!! In summary - I would definitely go back to Koh Samui. I would probably split my time between the Hansar and Sareeraya in order to get the best of the more refined nightlife in Bophut but the fantastic beach in Chewang. It would be good however, for the Sareeraya to spend a bit of time and money to truly reach 5 star status.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank al_mcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and concise review of your recent stay at Sareeraya Villas & Suites. We appreciate the time you have taken to cover all your experiences and agree most of the things you mention in your review, such as the ideal location of our Hotel and the friendliness of our staff.

On your arrival we were unfortunately unable to locate you to one of the sea view suites, but as you mention you were happy with the pool access suite on the first floor and did not want to move out on the third night of your stay. We agree the lightning in the room can be quite dim and in fact we are currently setting up additional reading lights to each room.

Regarding the insects, many guests tend to leave the balcony doors open, in which case mosquitoes can enter the room. We have just recently put a notice in each room to remind all the guests to keep the doors closed at all times so the amount of the insects stays as minimal as possible. Also, all the rooms have complimentary insect repellent and we have an ongoing pest control program, which checks for all insects to ensure the most comfortable stay for our guests.

In relation to our clientele base, the majority of our guests are couples, as we do not have kids club or other activities available for the children. Nevertheless some families choose to stay in our hotel and some seasons there are more families than others. We regret you had to wait for a sun lounger on your arrival day and that it gave you a slightly negative impression about our services. We have added additional long chairs on the beach to prevent further situations.

Thank you once again for your honest feedback, we are very glad that you had a nice holiday here in Sareeraya Villas & Suites and that the overall impression you obtained was a satisfying one. We hope to welcome you back at anytime in the future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#12 of 103 in Chaweng
2,639 reviews
2.1 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
0.7 km away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#4 of 103 in Chaweng
949 reviews
2.9 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
844 reviews
2.5 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $259 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing