We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
2
3
2
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
3
2
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Please do not come here!

We are on a years trip around the world and stayed in various low budget places in Thailand....we do not mind low budget , cheap accommodation- but we do mind having gold rings stolen!

We stayed here after booking a trip around thailand in a bangkok travel agents- everywhere else on the trip was delightful.... we went to bangkok, krabi, phi phi, surat thani and finally koh samui.
Firstly I would not recommend coming to the island, the beaches are not as beautiful as other places in Thailand such as koh toh, phi phi, krabi...not much to do there....taxis are expensive compared to everywhere else and generally did not feel safe as a young lady here.

The bungalow we stayed in was riddled with big ants, however we had a lovely view from our room. the room was dated and could do with a good clean, but like i said before-we werent too bothered by any of this....the restaurant food was lovely and cheap...like other reviews have said, the beach isn't very clean, nor nice...and very windy and dirty.

On our last day of our time on the island we decided to do an island tour- not much to see, but we had a good laugh at how rubbish it was! Anyways, I had left my jewelery out in a rush and left the key for the cleaner. looking back i wish i had slowed down getting ready to go out and made sure everything was packed away- but still- you do not expect a cleaner or staff member to steal from paying customers....

we returned at the end of the day oblivious to this and set off for bangkok the following day- to open my bags in bagkok and find no gold jewellery. I am a young 23 year old girl who has nothing to her name apart from sentimental pieces of jewellery from her nan, dad and younger brother....so as you can imagine i was devestated. we rang the hotel from the hotel we stayed in at bangkok to have a very rude response after asking if anyone had seen the rings....she said that nobody would have taken the rings and why didnt i check before i left! I know all of this,and i wish i had checked before i left but just because i wasnt careful doesnt mean its finders keepers! Our trip around Thailand ended in tears and a trip to the police station..

please please please if you do go here or have already booked make sure you carry ALL your valuables on you at all times- no safe in room- only behind the reception desk- do not trust this.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank negcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Very simple accommodations with access to a beautiful beach, the restaurant is reasonably priced, and resort has motorbike rentals and message by the beach.

Room could look a little nicer, and walls might need to be repainted, towels bleached a bit more, but everything else felt quite clean.

Weather is a sight for sore eyes on the beach, it's incredibly windy and the waves are only fun for so long.

Service was great though, we were nice and patient with them, and when they found out we were on our honeymoon, and that my partner had come earlier that year, they treated us like friends, gave us a good deal on price, and a nice motorbike. (A motorbike is better then paying 100 baht for cab/taxi rides to and from resort and towns)

A nice family run business too.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomentoAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We are 6 friends from Latvia who stayed in Silver Beach resort for 5 days in beginnig of december 2010! Silver beach resort not the right place where to spend your holiday! The sea(ocean) was dirty all the time,the weather was very bad(all the time was raining),but the worst thing about this resort,the staff was very rood with as,very poor service! Bungalows are very old and with mouldy smell,it was really something hurrable! We will not advice to stay there,because there are more beatufil places in Thailand!

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Il0nka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 March 2009

I took a gamble staying here after resding some dodgy reviews.

The location is just off the main road but just far enough away from the hussle and bustle of Cheweng.

Managed to get the Superior room for even cheaper than expected after a bit of negotiating. The beach is only a stones throw away but be warned there is a beach pty every sat night. However while we were there it wasnt that busy.

The beds were great but the rooms could do with a little TLC.

Last mention has to be to the great staff who I got on great with. There is a securtiy guard of a nigth aswell who patrols the grounds.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dansilkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 November 2006

We planned to stay 1 week in this accommodation, but unfortunately checked out after one night.

This was because the beach bar played very very loud music until 3am every night. If this doesnt bother you, then otherwise this is a very good resort.

The rooms are very modern and spacious, with fresh stylish decor, TV with sky, fridge, modern bathroom, fan and a/c. You also have a large balcony.

There is a good restaurant with varied menu, a juice bar, a coffee bar, a crepe bar, and a beer bar.

Movies are shown on a big projector screen every night.

The resort is right on a beautiful beach, and just 15 mins away from the main pier, although the road is very bumpy, so dont try this walk with your suitcases on arrival.

Fan only 800-1000baht
A/c -1200-1500baht

They offered us a discount as we were going to stay a week, so always ask for this.

Overall the accommodation standards in Ko Samed are lower than other Thai islands we have visited, we found Silver Sands to be one of the very few that is up to Western standards. Thus it is very popular, book in advance if you want to stay here, 'just turn up' travellers could be disappointed that it is full.

(Budget travellers, beware coming here in high season, the National Park entrance fee is doubled. Overall the budget accommodation is lower standard, but higher in price. Silver Sands has been renovated, and there has been a price hike. Fan only never seems to be available...

Budget travellers should try the Koh Kaew Village (see the review for more details)

Date of stay: November 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews