We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dara Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a superior room for one night and decided to move to the muang samui next door. Similar price but worlds apart. The dara seems to have been a nice hotel once but judging by the room we stayed in it is in serious need of a refurb which appears to be what they are doing. Our room was dank, dusty and didn't appear to have been lived in for a while. The bathroom was a bit mouldy and generally the whole place felt very tired. Pool area wasn't that appealing either. We had come in off a late flight and so didn't bother to ask to move rooms. But would advise that there is better quality elsewhere for cheaper in the town.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank iharttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Loserville,
It has been a great pleasure being your hosts at Darasamui Beach Resort and we would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your kind feed back on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your comments very much. Your observations are our most valuable source of information, from which we can review our performance and implement any changes necessary to ensure that we achieve the standards of excellence that you expect and deserve.

Unfortunately this holiday we could not impress you and you have to move to stay at other resort, we are now working hard to improve our resort ambience and we hope we can take an other opportunity to welcome you back in not so distant future.

With best regards,

Ms.Kesorn Kharoeung
Resort Manager
Darasamui Beach Resort & Spa villa
email: rm@darasamui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    273
    82
    46
    38
See reviews for
130
321
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights and it was amazing- really enjoyed it. Great location, breakfast and our room was great- would definitely stay here again or recommend to friends

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loserville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Have stayed here for a few nights in the villa, beachfront, and next to the pool.
Service was very good, room was cleaned everyday. Plenty of sunbeds. Beach not good for swimming, but few minute walk to other nice beaches. Located at the center of Chaweng town, which is fantastic for nightlife!! Lots of clubs, restaurants, local shops, bars, and fast food!
Was the best location amongst three other Islands I've been!!
Staff were accomodating and very friendly. And if you're a breakfast person, they cook a different variety of food for breakfast which was good.
I've actually enjoyed my stay here, especially just relaxing at the beach and their poolside, and the nightlife in Chaweng!!! I would recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AraLoHart14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We hadnt planned to stay here but left Phuket due to awful weather and needed a lower priced place for five nights until we went to Chaweng Regent where we usually stay in Samui. Booked this at a good rate and was prepared for anything!

Very pleasantly surprised by Dara Samui, right on beach, clean and not too big or busy. Breakfast included and staff were very friendly and remembered our room number from the previous morning!

Location perfect and for the price we paid ( less than half per night than we usually pay in Samui) we were very happy,

Improvements I could suggest would be better TV and more channels and free in room wifi ( it's free on beach and in all common areas).

Please try this place- its not that bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoMelbourne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

i stayed here for 4 nights starting on 16th may 2012 in a villa closest to the beach ( about £150 a night).
the service was excellent, and the room was clean and comfortable. the position of the villa was wonderful, very close to the beach and pool.
the position of the hotel was ideal to go out in the evening.
only problem was the sea where the hotel is positioned is not ideal, but a short walk would take you to a good swim area. but the pool was excellent!

Room Tip: villa rooms were ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 km away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.1 km away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.3 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
1.1 km away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#14 of 104 in Chaweng
330 reviews
0.2 km away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#49 of 104 in Chaweng
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Samui Beach Resort

Property: Dara Samui Beach Resort
Address: 162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price range (per night): $133 - $575
Hotel Class:4 star — Dara Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dara Samui has beachfront location centrally located on Chaweng beach and walking distance to shopping and night life areas. Hotel offers free high speed WIFI in all rooms. Rooms size start from 42-128 sqm or 455 sq ft - 1380 sq ft with full Air Conditioned rooms. The hotel is a 4-star Thai Lanna-style boutique resort with 4 rooms categories. Relaxing, sports activities or shopping, whatever is your pleasure all are within easy reach at Darasamui. You never run out of things to do, unless you wish to. 2 Restaurants, 1 Bar,Swimming Pool, Beach, Sun Deck, Concierge and many more facilities are awaiting you... Try once at our Best Romantic Beach restaurant "Dara Serene" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dara Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa Hotel Chaweng
Dara Samui Beach Resort And Spa Villa
Dara Samui Beach Hotel
Dara Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing