We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small intimate resort - and the "Garden Room"”
Review of Le Vasa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Vasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a small quiet intimate resort especially suited to couples. If you are wanting a large resort with crowds and a wide range of activities then you may as well look to Fiji. It has a good restaurant; the menu has a good range of local and international dishes, but typical of Samoa, prices are relatively expensive. As well as the pool there are some activities such as kayaks and fishing trips, but don't expect the paragliding and banana boats.
We stayed in the Garden Room and thought that this was excellent value for money and to the same standard and with all facilities as the fales; the room opens out onto lush tropical garden and it is relatively close to the pool and restaurnat without these creating a disturbance (remeber it is a quiet resort). By all means, take a fale if you think beachfront is worth $100 a night but why not put that towards dinners! Be aware that there are two Garden Rooms, the one advertised online and the other (which does over look a parking area) which is let out at short notice when other alternatives are not available.

Room Tip: As mentioned, go for the Garden Room if you do want value (besides, you aren't missing out on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you for your kind review and saying that we have a small quiet intimate resort especially suited to couples

We are happy you thought we have a good restaurant; with a good range of local and international dishes,. As well as the pool there are some activities such as kayaks and fishing trips, .
Thank you for your positive comments about the Garden Room that you thought it was excellent value for money and to the same standard and with all facilities as the fales; the room opens out onto lush tropical garden and it is relatively close to the pool and restaurant.
We hope that you will return one day to Le Vasa Resort in Samoa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Le Vasa resort is in a stunning position on a peninsula. This affords it ocean views in nearly every direction. The gardens are beautifully kept and an abundance of palm trees makes it a really pleasant place to be and delivers the atmosphere of a true tropical holiday. The pool is elevated and has very comfortable loungers and a fabulous outlook. Our oceanfront fale had a wonderful sunset view and was right on the water's edge giving us the exact setting that we were after. The fale was spacious and comfortable and had great airconditioning.
The restaurant is poolside and very tastfully decorated. The local Samoan waiting staff are mostly very sweet and eager to please. The food is nice but not comparable to the standard that you would find in an Auckland restaurant. We soon learned to ask what was not available when we sat down as invariably our first menu choice was not available. The food is very expensive and we ended up spending more on food than we did on accommodation. We kind of expected that, however had we not anticipated the doubling of the holiday cost we could have been a bit stressed as the bill mounted.
The main shortcoming we found at Le Vasa was the lack of assistance with planning anything outside the resort. The only real option we seemed to be offered was a taxi driver from the local village and my enquiries about boat trips, tour trips, cultural concerts and other excursions were impatiently listened to, I was told not to worry and then nothing eventuated. This is certainly not a resort with a concierge armed with brochures and a telephone eager to book you a tour. The manager was friendly but somehow seemed insincere as she made her dutiful daily stop at our table to enquire about our day but I acknowledge that we just didn't click and for many other guests the attempt to be friendly might be welcomed. I think we would have preferred some more substantial, and less careless advice, more professionalism and less of an effort to be our new pal. Unfortunately on our last day we were told that the airport was not airconditioned and that the only food option was upstairs when in fact through immigration was an airconditioned boarding gate and another 2 cafes. That inaccurate and carelessly given advice left a bad impression and meant we were uncomfortable and sweaty in a crowded humid airport departure hall for an hour longer than we needed to be.
Anyway, would we stay again. Yes I think so, it is just such a nice place to be but we would go fore-armed with pre-booked day trips, and not rely on the customer service at the resort and perhaps hire a car so that we could drive out for dinner in Apia some evenings.

Room Tip: I never saw the dreaded garden room but was more than happy with our oceanfront fale, it was really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jodunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeVasaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Thank you for saying Le Vasa resort is in a stunning position on a peninsula with ocean views in nearly every direction. That our gardens are beautifully kept and you felt like you had a true tropical holiday. Glad you enjoyed our restaurant, a fabulous outlook from the pool and very tastefully decorated. Wonderful sunset view from your oceanfront fale was spacious and comfortable and had great air conditioning and exact setting that you were after. Thank you again alofas from Le Vasa Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I recently had a chance to stay at Le Vasa and couldn't have been happier. From the time I was picked up at the wharf until they dropped me off, I felt pampered and cared for. The waterfront bungalows have all the charm of Samoa with the Western amenities I appreciate. The open air restaurant is staffed by friendly people and the food is among the best I've had in Samoa.

A bonus was getting to watch a beautiful sunset every evening. The staff were kind enough to make sure I had a beverage at my seat near the water. I also loved watching staff members practice singling and dancing in preparation for a culture show.

There's no beautiful white sand beach, but who cares? There's a huge, clean pool with plenty of chairs in both sun and shade. Plus since the resort is on a small peninsula there are spectacular views in every direction.

I enjoyed my stay at the resort so much I've already booked another stay. I can't wait!

Room Tip: If you enjoy privacy and the sound of the water, choose one of the beautiful ocean front villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Thank you for having a wonderful stay and taking the time to write about your experience. It is good to hear you felt pampered and well cared for. We appreciate you choosing Le Vasa Resort. We look forward to you booking another stay with us again time to enjoy another beautiful sunset and friendly people of Samoa at Le Vasa Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family of four (two adults and kids aged 4yrs and 18mths) thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Le Vasa Resort and wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived at 2pm, having spent a frustrating couple of hours at Aggie Grey's Resort trying to sort out a room booking (they lost our reservation and wanted to charge us an exorbitant rate for a one night stay). Many thanks to the lovely Susan at Le Vasa for being so helpful and friendly on the telephone and arranging for us to stay in one of the garden rooms at very short notice!

Le Vasa is a beautiful, tranquil spot, with lovely gardens and friendly staff. We were very happy with our garden room, which was very reasonably priced and had ample room for our family of four (1 double bed, 1 single bed and plenty of room for our portacot). We liked the traditional Samoan decor and appreciated having air con, ceiling fans and mosquito nets on the windows. It was also great having a fridge with free bottled water, coffee/tea making facilities and plenty of space to park all our luggage. The bathroom, while not flash, was spacious and fine by us.

The grounds at Le Vasa are very attractive, with huge palm trees and plenty of paths and grassy areas to wander around. We loved the pool and swam there all afternoon and the following morning. The restaurant area was very attractive and the food was delicious. It's a bit pricey, but you'd expect this at such a spot. The cocktails were delicious and they have an excellent happy hour.

I would totally recommend Le Vasa as a wonderful spot to spend a few days, either in one of the cheaper rooms, or to splash out on one of their flasher rooms, which are more in line with prices you would pay at Aggie Greys. Having visited both Le Vasa and Aggie Greys, we much preferred the more intimate, laid back and tranquil setting of Le Vasa.

A special thanks to Susan for helping us out at short notice and for her friendly and hospitable approach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShoreCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Thank you for saying Le Vasa is a beautiful, tranquil spot, with lovely gardens and friendly staff. We are pleased you were very happy with your garden room, which was very reasonably priced and had ample room for our family of four (1 double bed, 1 single bed and plenty of room for our portacot).
The Garden and maintenance staff will be so glad to hear you thought the grounds at Le Vasa are very attractive, with huge palm trees and plenty of paths and grassy areas to wander around. Happy you loved the pool. Thank you for your comments about the restaurant area that it was very attractive and the food was delicious. The cocktails were delicious and they have an excellent happy hour.
Thank you for totally recommending Le Vasa as a wonderful spot to spend a few days, and that you much preferred the more intimate, laid back and tranquil setting of Le Vasa. Thank you for saying we had a friendly and hospitable approach. We look forward to seeing you and your family again at Le Vasa Resort, Samoa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Having stayed at Aggies Resort last year I made a point of trying somewhere else close to the airport on Upolu.

My partner wanted to try La Vasa Resort so we booked for 2 nights before flying back to New Zealand.

This place is simply wonderful. It is roughly 15mins fro the airport or 10 mins from the ferry terminal if traveling to Savaii.

The rooms are impeccable, the decor very homely with a touch of cultural Samoa added to them. And oh so peaceful! We have stayed in a number of resorts around Samoa and we like to totally relax and forget about life back home. At La Vasa you can do this with ease.

Soraya the owner, and her manager Susan were just so friendly and accommodating throughout our stay and nothing was a problem.

The food is excellent and the restaurant is next to an amazing pool.

We will definitely be coming back to Le Vasa the next ime we are on holiday in Samoa. Highly recommended,

Thanks Soraya, Susan and the team at Lavasa


See you soon :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sushi_roseAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

We are so happy that you choose Le Vasa Resort and that you thought it was simply wonderful. It is roughly 15mins fro the airport or 10 mins from the ferry terminal if traveling to Savaii.
The housekeeping staff will be excited to hear you thought the rooms were impeccable, the decor very homely with a touch of cultural Samoa added to them and peaceful too! Thank you for sharing that you stayed in a number of resorts around Samoa and you wanted to totally relax and forget about life back home. At Le Vasa you did this with ease. Thank you for saying the staff and management were friendly and accommodating throughout your stay and nothing was a problem.
Great comments about the food being excellent and the restaurant is next to an amazing pool. Thank you for Highly recommending us and we look forward to your return to Le Vasa Resort, Samoa! See you soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Fatuosofia
34 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
32.6 km away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
33.9 km away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.3 km away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
416 reviews
18.9 km away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
6.5 km away
Sheraton Samoa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vasa Resort

Address: West Main Beach Rd, Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Cape Fatuosofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Price Range: $115 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Vasa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vasa Resort is a spectacular ocean front hideaway, set on 8 acres it's perfect for a romantic getaway and true relaxation. The resort is nestled in a peaceful and secluded setting and provides an authentic South Pacific experience with all of the modern amenities you desire. Le Vasa Resort features 13 private oceanfront fales and villas, 2 standard rooms, boat house, day room, an ocean view restaurant and bar, and an extensive selection of activities including fishing, diving and surfing all in a traditional village setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Vasa Hotel Apia
Le Vasa Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing