We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming Hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting the Abacos. They are doing some extensive remodeling during the slow season, so they offered us a room away from the remodeling and it was wonderful. We never heard any noise from the renovations, and the staff made sure we were comfortable with the accommodations. Candice was so helpful and pleasant. She suggested great restaurants and helped locate areas of interest. The hotel is very clean, and it is among the shops and restaurants in Hope Town. We can't wait to go back to see the updated renovations. Thanks to Candice & Paul for a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheritaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    65
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
65
133
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This review focuses on the back of the hotel facing the ocean, where they have an outdoor restaurant ("The Reef") looking out over the water, a salt-water pool and nearby outdoor bar. The venue was so nice that we came and ate here and used the pool and beach several times during our stay. The food was good--I had a blackened mahi sandwich. At your table under a pergola you can sit either facing the ocean or facing the pool. The nearby bar serves bottled beer and mixed tropical rum drinks. The staff are friendly and helpful. One of them even brought us some mint from another island so we could make mojitos at our rental house. I have eaten in the hotel in past trips and the food was good there too. Some of our party went up to the indoor hotel bar called "Ray's Place" for karaoke and drinks a couple of nights. The hotel itself is right before you get into Hopetown, and you must go up several flights of outdoor stairs before you get to it, so it isn't wheelchair-friendly. It's a lovely, quaint and elegant place that we enjoyed visiting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Beach Cabana was a tiny bit smaller then expected, but the view made up for it 100 times over. Everything was great from them moment we arrived. The staff at the Beach bar were hilarious and kept us entertained night after night. Will be back as soon as I can, can not think of a more relaxing place to take a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leahislandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My (now) husband and I saw Hope Town on the TV show "Scrubs" a few years back when they took their vacation to Hope Town and the Janitor and Lady got married. After seeing that episode, and watching the behind the scenes on the DVD, we decided that we wanted to get married on Hope Town because it looked so beautiful. After doing some research, we found out that we could actually manage it and we would also get to share the experience with our closest family.

There were 7 of us total, and we all say the same thing about Hope Town; it was paradise. We stayed at the Hope Town Harbour Lodge, and our family stayed in the hotel rooms, while my husband and I stayed in the Guava cottage. The rooms had air conditioning which was nice. They, however, did not have a phone, or TV, but in all honesty, not a single one of us missed not having those amenities. We were so busy exploring the island, tanning on the beach, or having an excellent dinner, that there wasn't a moment to miss those items. If we wanted to find out what the rest of our family was up to, we'd just walk around until we found them. It was a breath of fresh air.

The staff, and everyone else on the island, were so friendly and helpful, you couldn't help but smile the entire time. The hotel helped make sure our wedding and small reception go smoothly and they answered all of our questions. The food at the lodge, along with everywhere else on the island, was amazing. I have never enjoyed food so much in my life until then.

It honestly felt like a dream. We went the beginning of May, and you would walk out onto a beach and maybe see another person. It felt like you were on your own private island. I am so pleased that I got to share that experience with our family, and that we chose to get married at Hope Town Lodge.

The town is so beautiful as well, because everything is painted bright colors, well kept, and the flowers that grow there are huge and luscious. The rest of the island does not disappoint as well. We rented golf carts and traveled across the island many times and it was all just amazing.

We plan on going back, (hopefully soon!) and we will for sure stay at Hope Town Lodge again. They helped make our wedding, and vacation, a trip that we will never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Cottage, which had a little extra space, a kitchenette, and a bigger bathroom than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Had dinner one evening. restaurant is nicely appointed, comfortable, air-conditioned.
Table service was competent, efficient and friendly.

the meal I had was disappointing wherein the main ingredient, lobster was in short supply.
wine choices were good. meal was expensive.

Beach bar is nice place to have lunch or drink overlooking beach. nice beach, snorkeling in front.

Hotel facility appears well maintained but I did not stay here. If you pick your meals carefully I believe you will enjoy a dinner here.

Room Tip: did not stay in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Town
9.3 km away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
34 reviews
21.0 km away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
0.0 km away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
0.5 km away
Hope Town Inn & Marina
Hope Town Inn & Marina
#1 of 4 in Hope Town
85 reviews
10.1 km away
Pelican Beach Villas
Pelican Beach Villas
#3 of 5 in Marsh Harbour
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Town Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Town Harbour Lodge

Property: Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Address: Queen Street, Hope Town, Elbow Cay
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay > Hope Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hope Town
Price range (per night): $186 - $495
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hope Town Harbour Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As it's locally called - "The Lodge" is quaint, essentially Hope Town's heart and soul. Aligning the renowned Hope Town Harbour iconically watched over by its historic candy stripe light house and then backing up to one of the most beautiful white sand beaches in The Bahamas - a more idyllic vacation spot could not be found. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hope Town Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Town Harbour Hotel Great Abaco Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing