We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
306
361
109
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
361
109
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanto domingoold townbell towerhistoric buildingoverlooking the squarethe underground car parksmall towncomfortable bedroomlovely hotelstandard roomlovely old buildingreception staffhot foodbuffet breakfastwine listwell worth a visityour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Lovely place and great staff. Parking was secure and nearby. The only downside was the evening meal was late for us so we opted for a local restaurant of which there were plenty available. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMarchena, Manager at Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for the time taken in give us your opinion about your stay at the Parador.
We apreciate it and Hope to see you soon at the Parador.
With our best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

On arriving at this Parador we were given a warm welcome by the receptionist, but this proved a false start as many of the other staff were not really interested in giving good service. The Parador itself, whilst being in an old 12th century hospital, lacks the magic of many of the other Paradores occupying old buildings. We had one of the most expensive rooms, but it was very noisy (thin walls, lavatory in room above flushing making us think the ceiling was boutique to cave in with a waterfall. In fact when my wife was in the bathroom the first time it happened she screamed out loud because she thought the ceiling was going to collapse! And on top of all that the bells in the clock tower next door were ringing the quarters all night long. Breakfasts were extremely dissapointing, food not replenished, greasy hot food, etc. Because breakfasts were so poor we decided not to eat dinner here but at the two very good restaurants on the other side of the square. The hotel as a whole seemed very soulless. We still love Paradores but will give this one a miss when next in the area.

Room Tip: Don"t bother with most expensive rooms
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keithamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

This was our 1st parador ro stay in and wow!It was wonderful.Very well run.Quiet,clean and comfortable.It was tricky finding the entrance off the main street,and we had to drive down a very narrow street.Once you unload your bags,they have a parking garage.Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank peggy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed as part of a group. Room was very clean, spacious and quiet.
The structure of the buildind and location are of historic importance locally. Staff did not seem to be very friendly but it was not an issue.
Our group had 2 included dinners and both were very good. Breakfast was a bit disappointing however. There was less variety than expected and attention to the freshness of the fruit lacking. First morning the watermelon was decidely well past use by date.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LauncestonUpnabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Stayed two nights at this very interesting venue. The hotel is reached though a pedestrian area which we initially could not get access to as there was a parade at the cathedral. Just park up outside and walk into the hotel if there is an event on at the time. There are two car parks at this hotel, one surface and the other is a garage below the hotel. The garage charges more, but you can get the lift straight to your floor. There may be noise in the mornings from the Pilgrims as they start very early on their route. Food is great but the dining is late as service doesn't start until 8.30pm

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trevorhewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews