We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but can be noisy”
Review of Skarsnuten Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skarsnuten Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This is a lovely hotel with amazing views across Hemsedal. We had two rooms in the main building for a week over new year. Our biggest problem was the noise at night. The rooms were under the restaurant and in the evening became very noisy until about 1 or 2am in the morning. The hotel was fully booked so they could not move us

The location on the hill is great but if you want to use the ski bus instead of skiing down then i would be careful. The ski bus only runs in the morning and later afternoon and when we were there it failed to turn up or was late on 4 out of the 6 days we were there. The hotel was very accommodating when this happened, giving us a lift down to the resort on one occasion. If you are a beginner skier then i would think carefully before booking this hotel.

The restaurant food was very nice. We used the half board option, the hotel did provide a kids option on request.

Whilst the noise and the issues with the skibus didn't ruin the holiday we wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the main hotel building if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I visited over New Year.
The Skarsnuten hotel is modern and well equipped. We stayed in room 4006 which is a Superior Double with a valley view. (Crystal Ski)
The double sofa bed was used for my 11.5 year old daughter. The sofa bed was ok at best but not really suitable for a weeks' stay for an 'almost' teenager. Had there been one available, I would have taken a suite.
For two, the room was spacious and comfortable. Shower room had L'Occitane toiletries with hair dryer and heated floor. Kettle, fridge and TV.
Food in the restaurant was outstanding. We were half board so took the pre paid menu which gave no choice of dish. However, the waiter explained the courses fully. If you didn't want what was offered they were happy to supply an alternative. Go with what they supply; it's splendid.
My wife is gluten and egg intolerant, with prior notice to the hotel before our arrival, she was catered for very well with little repetition.
Our daughter ate the menu most of the time. When she was not willing to experiment - a pizza or alternative was always offered.

The apres ski was great with a DJ several afternoons. Pool table and air hockey for the kids, but I feel the hotel responds better to adults. Kids are welcomed and catered for, but not a great deal for them to do.
On the whole though - Very please with the hotel.

Skibus only runs in the mornings till 10.25 with a break then back on at 16.15. Needs more. If you want to get to the hotel from the bottom of the slopes, and the lifts are out, which happened a few times this week due to wind, you're knackered. Skatsnuten can come and get you, but not with half a dozen of skis .


Be prepared for the high food and drink prices. £50 for a carafe of house red (which was fabulous though) £15 for a gin and tonic. £100 plus for Verve Clicquot.

Lunch on the slopes set me back £65-£70 for three of us, every day. Skigarden was our favourite and offered gluten free pizzas.

Nowhere to buy wine or spirits. You can buy lager in the Spa at Alpin Lodge. Very strict alcohol laws. Don't get yer hip flask out ! You'll get asked to put it away or worse still have it taken honest ! (Outside of permitted hours )

Ideal for skiers. If you are the type who ski in the morning and shop or spa in the afternoon - Hemsedal is not for you. It appears to us that it is a resort under development. In years to come there will be things to do. But for now - its skiing or reading your book.

It's also pretty cold with little direct sunshine. So make sure you prepare for the cold, it's not Alpe d'Heuz !!!



Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jeremyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for this fine review. I see that both the resort and the hotel have somethings to work with here and its always good to get an honest review so we can try to make things even better.
Kind regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Me and my wife celebrated our wedding at Skarsnuten 02.-04.09.16 with 102 guests and had a dream weekend! All of the planning ahead, implementation, service, food and rooms were top notch! The hotel delivered 100% to expectations and more. We can highly recommend Skarsnuten to parties that require good organization, service and delicious food!
Again, thank you so much for having us!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4th floor have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We stayed at Skarsnuten for three nights participating in a wedding and the location and views is unbeatable. The hotel worked very well for a wedding, good communication and service upfront and during our stay.

The wedding dinner was enjoyable, though I think the starter was acctually too complicated, but the main really delivered, and paired with good wines.

I think the childrens meny in the lunchrestaurant also should encounter some more "standard" options like pancackes, not to every childs taste as it is now, and too expensive to experiment.

The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable.

One thing we disliked though, was to stand in line over an hour in the hotels ski rental - should have been at least one more person working there.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MEfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

The restaurant signed Geir Skeie is unfortunately not delivered at the level one would expect. Food is sometimes featureless, and not of a higher quality than of a mediocre restaurant. The impression is that they have to many seasonal workers that don't know what they're doing. One of our servers didn't know the menu, the drinks, and couldn't tell us what we were eating. Well she could have gotten away with it with a smile, but unfortunatly she didn't. Fortunately there are some staff that still manages to impress. The same goes for the bar. If you can't make the drinks, then don't, ask for help! The bar has a distinctive and wonderful menu for gin-drinks, but very few who can make them. I would think it is important that all guests experience the same, but here you can get everything from heavenly drinks to the contrary. The bartender with the beard was incredibly knowledgeable and very professional!! The breakfast buffet was particularly inviting. It had been a good experience if not the scrambled eggs for two consecutive days (Monday and Tuesday) were exposed to salt shock! It was not edible. Sad was also the fact thate the roast beef for two consecutive days was sour (Monday and Tuesday). The breakfast host was made aware of the roast beef, and it is a pity that the same thing happens the day after. Our experience the first days in the restaurant made sure that we chose to eat elsewhere. Skigaarden located in the slopes delivers several notches better experience, presentation and taste in their a'la carte restaurant. One would expect at least that level also at Skarsnuten. If one does not want their guests to have expectations, one should take away Geir Skeie from the poster, nor call the restaurant for cafe. Then the guests won't be that disappointed. We probably will return to Hemsedal, but we're uncertain about our total experience at Skarsnuten Hotel. And it really is a pitty, bacause all the surroundings, view, interior ++ i fantastic. But that doesn't help does it when the restaurant fails in so many ways. Thanks again to the few staff that helped make our stay better!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swoosh_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Daglig leder at Skarsnuten Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Sorry that we didnt lived up to your expectations this time. We are always struggle to try to get the best staff and train them within 4 months but this is always a challange for a seasonhotel where we only keep the staff during a short period. We will of course try to make both the recruit and training for the staff even better next season, but i totally agree with you that everyone should put on a smile while working:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemsedal
3.3 km away
Skogstad Hotell
Skogstad Hotell
#5 of 5 in Hemsedal
83 reviews
6.9 km away
Fossheim Hotel
Fossheim Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hemsedal
43 reviews
8.3 km away
Harahorn
Harahorn
#3 of 5 in Hemsedal
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Pers Hotel
Pers Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gol
192 reviews
39.4 km away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#5 of 13 in Geilo
430 reviews
39.5 km away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#7 of 13 in Geilo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skarsnuten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skarsnuten Hotel

Address: Holdeskaret, Hemsedal 3561, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hemsedal Municipality > Hemsedal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Price Range: $248 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skarsnuten Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skarsnuten Hotel, at 1000 m.s.l, has a magnificent view to mighty mountain Hemsedal. Skarsnuten is a design hotel, where nature plays a prominent part of the architecture. Large glass surfaces virtually let nature right into the buildings. Extensive use of glass, stone and slated stone in the lobby, bar and restaurant, plus modern steel constructions, contributes to the typical Scandivian touch of this quite new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Skarsnuten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing