We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fossheim Hotel(Hemsedal)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hemsetunet(Hemsedal)
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Ulsakstolen(Hemsedal)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Harahorn(Hemsedal)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Skogstad Hotell(Hemsedal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
37
27
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
27
10
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsset menuan alternativefish burgerhalf boardspectacular viewslate checkski shophigh qualityomeletteski resortafterskiliftskierslopescoursesnorwayskibus
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

As this hotel is part way up the mountains and excellently designed, it is a glorious treat to spend time here and enjoy the spectacular views. Our room, the restaurant, and the bar all had great scenery. The hotel and restaurant staff are really friendly and helpful, and we particularly appreciated the help of Elin on reception in arranging our shuttles to our bus and arranging a late check out. It was great to be able to rent skis on site and ski from the door. The room was lovely and quiet and also well designed, with a lovely big window, comfy couch and bed and practical bathroom with powerful shower. The breakfasts are amazing - a delightful buffet and chance for eggs cooked to order. The only slight downside is that buses don't run at night so it is tricky to get out and try different restaurants, and as pescatarians on a budget we were a bit limited by the options, but we enjoyed everything we had and in some ways didn't want to go elsewhere anyway as the atmosphere, service and views were so nice.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Have just returned from an excellent holiday at the Skarsnuten Hotel in Hemsedal Norway . Firstly I would like to say that the customer service is excellent , all the staff were friendly and very helpful , nothing was too much trouble . The facilities are amazing too . The food was fantastic , plenty too eat at breakfast , cooked to order omelettes and lots of choice . We were on half board so had a set menu in the evening but this was amazing too , 3 courses and if you were unsure about it , they would try to find an alternative . The hotel has spectacular views and the afterski is good , they make amazing gin cocktails . You can ski out from the hotel and it's served by its own lift so easy to get back to . The rooms are comfortable and quite spacious so plenty of room for all your ski gear . They have there own ski shop at the hotel , but it is small so don't have masses of stock and a tiny boot room . Overall a fab place to stay and can't wait to come back .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank miss-stigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We visited Hemsedal for our annual skiing holiday. We stayed at the Skarsnuten for 6 days! We were 1000 metres above the resort in a modern lodge style building. Staff were all very helpful, wifi worked, the views were fantastic, you can ski in/out and the restaurant serves great food. The downside: infrequent transportation to and from town, rooms functional but could offer more privacy- windows to the carpark entirely exposed, ski-room needs sone heating as boors were dump each morning. We thought that a shuttle service would be major improvement and some more activities offered other than massage. We were also surprised by the lack of a steam room. On balance price was fair.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LikaHassiotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We are in Hemsedal for the first time and found this beautiful hotel at the top of Skarsnuten. The restaurant with pooltable is an experience for many reasons. Great "fika", service, atmosphere and the view from the terrace. We will be back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kallhed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This is a lovely hotel with amazing views across Hemsedal. We had two rooms in the main building for a week over new year. Our biggest problem was the noise at night. The rooms were under the restaurant and in the evening became very noisy until about 1 or 2am in the morning. The hotel was fully booked so they could not move us

The location on the hill is great but if you want to use the ski bus instead of skiing down then i would be careful. The ski bus only runs in the morning and later afternoon and when we were there it failed to turn up or was late on 4 out of the 6 days we were there. The hotel was very accommodating when this happened, giving us a lift down to the resort on one occasion. If you are a beginner skier then i would think carefully before booking this hotel.

The restaurant food was very nice. We used the half board option, the hotel did provide a kids option on request.

Whilst the noise and the issues with the skibus didn't ruin the holiday we wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the main hotel building if you want a good nights sleep
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews