We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place”
Review of Skarsnuten Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skarsnuten Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Skarsnuten is a cool designhotel on the top of Hemsedal. Spectacular view and very Nice decor in the lobby, restaurant & bar. Rooms are small and nothing special. Service up and Down. Weekends in Winter very busy With afterski. Not a Place to bring Your kids in Winter weekends. Food is very up and Down, they change concept almost every year and didnt manage to deliver high quality during the years.
But to have dinner With a view like this is Worth a try.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ToolBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017

As this hotel is part way up the mountains and excellently designed, it is a glorious treat to spend time here and enjoy the spectacular views. Our room, the restaurant, and the bar all had great scenery. The hotel and restaurant staff are really friendly and helpful, and we particularly appreciated the help of Elin on reception in arranging our shuttles to our bus and arranging a late check out. It was great to be able to rent skis on site and ski from the door. The room was lovely and quiet and also well designed, with a lovely big window, comfy couch and bed and practical bathroom with powerful shower. The breakfasts are amazing - a delightful buffet and chance for eggs cooked to order. The only slight downside is that buses don't run at night so it is tricky to get out and try different restaurants, and as pescatarians on a budget we were a bit limited by the options, but we enjoyed everything we had and in some ways didn't want to go elsewhere anyway as the atmosphere, service and views were so nice.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Have just returned from an excellent holiday at the Skarsnuten Hotel in Hemsedal Norway . Firstly I would like to say that the customer service is excellent , all the staff were friendly and very helpful , nothing was too much trouble . The facilities are amazing too . The food was fantastic , plenty too eat at breakfast , cooked to order omelettes and lots of choice . We were on half board so had a set menu in the evening but this was amazing too , 3 courses and if you were unsure about it , they would try to find an alternative . The hotel has spectacular views and the afterski is good , they make amazing gin cocktails . You can ski out from the hotel and it's served by its own lift so easy to get back to . The rooms are comfortable and quite spacious so plenty of room for all your ski gear . They have there own ski shop at the hotel , but it is small so don't have masses of stock and a tiny boot room . Overall a fab place to stay and can't wait to come back .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank miss-stigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We visited Hemsedal for our annual skiing holiday. We stayed at the Skarsnuten for 6 days! We were 1000 metres above the resort in a modern lodge style building. Staff were all very helpful, wifi worked, the views were fantastic, you can ski in/out and the restaurant serves great food. The downside: infrequent transportation to and from town, rooms functional but could offer more privacy- windows to the carpark entirely exposed, ski-room needs sone heating as boors were dump each morning. We thought that a shuttle service would be major improvement and some more activities offered other than massage. We were also surprised by the lack of a steam room. On balance price was fair.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LikaHassiotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

We are in Hemsedal for the first time and found this beautiful hotel at the top of Skarsnuten. The restaurant with pooltable is an experience for many reasons. Great "fika", service, atmosphere and the view from the terrace. We will be back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kallhed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemsedal
3.3 km away
Skogstad Hotell
Skogstad Hotell
#5 of 5 in Hemsedal
83 reviews
6.9 km away
Fossheim Hotel
Fossheim Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hemsedal
43 reviews
8.3 km away
Harahorn
Harahorn
#3 of 5 in Hemsedal
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Pers Hotel
Pers Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gol
192 reviews
39.4 km away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#5 of 13 in Geilo
430 reviews
39.5 km away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#7 of 13 in Geilo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skarsnuten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skarsnuten Hotel

Address: Holdeskaret, Hemsedal 3561, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hemsedal Municipality > Hemsedal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Price Range: $251 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skarsnuten Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skarsnuten Hotel, at 1000 m.s.l, has a magnificent view to mighty mountain Hemsedal. Skarsnuten is a design hotel, where nature plays a prominent part of the architecture. Large glass surfaces virtually let nature right into the buildings. Extensive use of glass, stone and slated stone in the lobby, bar and restaurant, plus modern steel constructions, contributes to the typical Scandivian touch of this quite new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Skarsnuten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing