We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great trip

We had a great trip despite the rain umbrellas provided saw otters and Kingfisher/ swans Skipper... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rasberry9
,
Milton Keynes
Peaceful river journey, beautiful wildlife including otters

A peaceful and beautiful journey with amazing wildlife views including several minutes of an otter... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
C5645FNpata
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
70
11
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
70
11
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A peaceful and beautiful journey with amazing wildlife views including several minutes of an otter swimming very near the boat in and out of the reeds.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank C5645FNpata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

nice peaceful way of seeing the river. We opted to
walk back along the footpath on the pub side on the recommendation of the skipper.
Big mistake! There was no way off this path and after an hour or more of walking we had to paddle through flooded muddy areas or turn back. Plus, although it ran alongside the river we could not see past the reeds over head height on both sides. It took us 2 1/2 hrs. So recommend you go back the shorter route on the other side.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Voyager05968667849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

A small boat with room for about 12 passengers sails between The Lido at Beccles and The Locks at Geldeston. The journey each way is about 45 minutes. A relaxing and enjoyable trip, particularly on a warm sunny day. We’ve done many river trips over the years - I wouldn’t say this one is spectacular, but it is worth doing if you enjoy boat trips and are in the area. There is no commentary during the trip - personally we would have liked some, but appreciate that is not to everyone’s taste. Check out the timings beforehand from their web site and pre book. We opted to go ‘there and back’ from The Lido, but it would work well to go one way, enjoy a meal (either in Beccles or at The Locks in Geldeston) and then return. Parking at The Lido wasn’t easy on a hot August Saturday so bear this in mind when planning your timings.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019

We took the Big Dog ferry at 3:00pm, with the 3 mile journey up river to the Lock Inn at Geldeston taking around 45 minutes. After a late lunch and a few drinks, the return journey departed at 6:00pm. As the sun began to lower in the sky, we were in for a real treat as we encountered several kingfishers darting around our boat. This is a very pleasant mini cruise through unspoiled natural scenery. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Beccles.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Donkenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019

This was a great way to get to The Locks for lunch. Very relaxing and peaceful. On the way back we even saw two Kingfishers!! You get the ferry from Beccles which is a lovely starting point.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank rhoda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews