We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Cochon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2007

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon at Ti Kaye (6 nights) from March 19 - 25. The resort was exactly what I had read it would be. The majority of the staff is very warm and friendly. They do treat you as though you are part of the family. I particulary enjoyed the service of Theresa, Gus, George, Pilgrim, Sandy, Jessica and many more I could mention.
The resort is not a luxury resort, but for some reason you feel as though it is. I think it has so much to do with the staff and the personal attention you receive.

We did the fish fry on Friday in Anse La Raye and when we wanted to stay later, Gus stayed with us until we were ready to leave. The food was good and it was a lot of fun.

I am a bit confused as to why some people complain so much about the boats coming in to snorkel as I did not find them to be bothersome at all and we spent every day on the beach. It was never crowded. The visitors do not use the umbrellas nor the beach chairs provided by Ti Kaye. They do eat lunch at times at the beach bar/restaurant, but this never hindered us from getting a table or receiving good service.
Loved the beach and the vendors are respectful when you don't want to buy anything, they just appreciate it if you look.

We rented a jeep one day and drove around the island with a couple that we met from Philadelphia who were married the same day as us and it was perfectly safe. Hi Beth and Tommy!
We went to the Botanical Gardens and up to Castries for shopping.

We did find the food to be very good at Ti Kaye although the time between meals was sometimes slower than we were used to, but then again...who is in a rush on vacation? The drinks were very good especially the Ti Kaye Knockout and the BBC. Pilgrim definitely took care of us at the bar.

We took a water taxi at night to Rainforest Hideaway in Marigot Bay and found the food to be very good as well as the service. Taking a taxi by sea in complete darkness was definitely an experience I will never forget. I could see so many stars and glowing fish in the water. It was terrific.

We snorkeled off the beach at Ti Kaye and it was fun. There were a lot of fish and other sea life. I would highly suggest going to Anse Chastanet to the Marine Park Reserve to snorkel, there was much more sea life to be seen.

Stayed in Cottage G (Gwiyen) and our view was fabulous. We had the plunge pool, but it is not necessary, just a luxury. Loved the hammock and outdoor shower. It is amazing to take a shower outdoor and to be able to view the sea at the same time.

We also kayaked from Ti Kaye to a private beach. It was a wonderful experience. Not too far down the beach from the resort you can find a few beaches where you are all alone.

We will definitely go back to Ti Kaye in a few years. It really was a simple paradise that we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,225 - 1,229 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2007

After our 11 night stay it was like leaving friends behind especially because all the main members of staff remembered our names

We stayed here because of the price. The hotel hadn't jumped on the bandwagon and increased rates due to the Cricket World Cup. Whilst staying at the hotel we saw the England group stage games and the hotel were excellent arranging transportation to and from the hotel to Rodney Bay by boat. Water taxis are readily available and can be booked direct by the hotel. We made friends with Captain Alex and booked a lot of our other trips directly with him.

The rooms are large and when all the shutters are open, the cooling breeze airs the room beautifully. Fancy chilling out with a book? - just laze in either the rocking chairs or hammock on the balcony, perhaps sneaking a look at the view. Mosquito protection comes from candles, body and room sprays and are provided complimentary for evening comfort.

The downside of the hotel is the 166 steps to the beach but to be honest having the Beach Bar at the bottom does soften the blow.

The last few miles by road into the hotel resort can be bumpy but there are people on the case - the future should see a smoother ride. Most of our trips were done by boat just because it was a break from the norm.

The resorts webpage is a little lacking in terms of detail - there are things that really should be advertised, things that really would tip the balance in choosing between resorts in St. Lucia.

All in all, our time at Ti Kaye was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone, except the younger, more energetic (night clubbing) type of traveller. It really is a place where you can be as private as your want. There is just about sufficent variation in terms of resturants nearby to keep things interesting - the Rainforest Hide Away being the best.

Stay at Ti Kaye and I'm sure you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AnotherRumPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

My wife and I stayed at Ti Kaye for 10 nights ending March 7, 2007, and we very much enjoyed our stay. Ti Kaye perfectly met our expectations and fulfilled our need for relaxation and peace. (As a bit of background, we are American and experienced island travelers, having visited more than 15 different islands over more than 20 trips over the past 25 years. We've stayed in several different types of accommodations, ranging from private villas to guest houses to small hotels to large all-inclusives.)

Ti Kaye really is as good as the majority of the reviews on TripAdvisor report. So rather than give you a full review, I'll comment on just a few specific things:

1) This is not a fancy or opulent place. It is simple, low-key, and understated (the rooms may even be called downright spartan). It delivers by whispering, not shouting. Ti Kaye’s charm and overall excellence flow from its genuine hospitality, relaxed attitude, and lush surroundings.

2) Yes, many (not all) staff do remember your names after a day or so and address you by name thereafter. While I must admit that a part of me views this is a bit of a "gimmick", it is very powerful and really enhances the service and hospitality. After a few days, we felt like part of an extended family. And no, we did not tip exorbitantly (but we did tip fairly....typically an additional 10%).

3) We rented a car for two days, and in hindsight, would not do so again. Ti Kaye is a bit remote; the nearest other restaurants or "attractions" are a half-hour drive away, and many are an hour or more drive (via very hilly and windy roads, and yes, the final road to the resort is quite bad). Given this, we did only one trip per day; the first day we drove to Anse Chastenet for lunch and snorkeling, and the second day we drove to Marigot Bay for dinner. At the two-day rental of US$170, this was US$85 for each of these trips. A taxi would've been cheaper and less stressful. Of course, you may drive more frequently or for longer periods each day, so a car may be suitable for you.

4) To address a few negatives from some past reviews here:

a) Slow or confusing service at meal times: We found the service to be consistently excellent and crisp, even by non-"island-time" standards. Not once over the course of ten days and 20+ meals did we wait or become anxious. Staff was always available, often with nothing more than a glance in their direction, to assist.

b) Kitchen running out of food later in the evening: We ate late every night (only once before 8:00pm), and we never experienced a shortage, except for desserts.

c) Bugs in rooms: We had no problem at all.

Outside of my above comments, we agree generally on the overwhelming number of positive reports on this site. Is Ti Kaye perfect? Of course not; nothing is, but if you're looking for quiet relaxation, gracious hospitality, and even a bit of romance, in a casual and lush surrounding, then it's perfect for you.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vicnroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

My wife and I were looking for something quiet and off the beaten track on our first trip to the Caribbean. We also like good food and one of us is a diver/snorkeler.

St Lucia is of course very lush and green, though note that there is little of historic interet to see and the island is not hugely developed (at least around the middle and the south).

Ti Kaye was recommended to us by our travel agent and has a lot of pluses.

1. Certainly off the beaten track. Long, very poor road to resort
2. The welcome and the service are extremely warm and friendly. Excellent staff all round. Attentive but not too much so - and always smiling. Nothing is a problem
3. The individual cottages (with view of sea) are clean, simple and very pleasant, complete with outside showers, hammock and rocking chairs). They have aircon, but you don't need it in March
4. The views and the location are spectacular
5. The diving is fun and the snorkeling is perfectly acceptable (but don't expect Red Sea/Indian Ocean variety). The sea is also clean and crystal clear.

BUT

6. We were not warned that the beach is invaded more or less daily by hordes of trippers off the cruise ships who come to Ti Kaye (by sea) to snorkel. There were 5 large boats in the little bay at one stage. To avoid this, keep off the beach between 10.30 and 15.30!
7. The food, though heavily pushed in Ti Kaye's literature is at best average, particularly if you are used to city restaurant standards. Apparently, the chef from Sandy Lane that they mention is now only an advisor. For a night out, try the Rainforest Hideaway, 20 minutes by taxi to Marigot Bay. We found little else of quality nearby....
8. The clientele is fairly heterogenous. Wedding parties (3 in our stay), honeymoon couples, couples - more young than old (and largely American at this time of year). Not good for children or the elderly.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank sbwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

My husband and I stayed at Ti Kaye for 8 days in late February '07, and we were already talking about going back before the wheels of our airplane touched down on the frozen ground of Northern Ohio. I planned the trip based on a lot of online research, with TripAdvisor being extremely helpful.

We're both outdoor types - we have a weekend cabin surrounded by state forest so we can get out into nature. So we were really looking for something like that, only tropical. I have to say, Ti Kaye exceeded our expectations. Amazingly beautiful, lush grounds. Bougainvillea everywhere on the property in purples and pinks and salmon colors. Supersized ferns, and trees and tropical plants I couldn't identify adorned the landscape surrounding the cottages. Sweet little birds visited us on our porch - antillian bullfinches among them - and little lizards scampered about (yes, both made visits inside of our cottage from time to time). We also had many visits from Zeniada doves - their cooing was very relaxing as we sat in our rocking chairs on the porch sipping our wine and Pitons.

We never used the air conditioner, preferring to keep the french doors and shutters open until bedtime to let the ocean breeze flows through the room, and welcoming in the sounds of the jungle.

The sun set at 6:05, and the sounds of the many birds were displaced by the sounds of tree frogs and crickets at 6:35 on the dot every night. This night song lasted all night - what a wonderful way to drift off to sleep.

We went for the relaxation, to soak in the sun, and swimming - and Ti Kaye was the perfect place to experience all three. The beach was really wonderful, and the water was wonderfully warm. We had a few days with a pretty good surf (Paul, the chef told us this was unusual for Anse Cochon), but we loved the body surfing. The other days the water was calm and extremely clear. George and Terry were great. We'd bring down our towels and some reading material, they'd get us chairs and umbrellas, and we never had to get up again unless we wanted to swim. They'd bring us tropical smoothies, Pitons, rum punches - whatever we wanted.

Food + Drink - Paul knows how to create some pretty wonderful meals. We loved how he prepared the many fish entrees we ate, and the appetizers were delish as well. Pilgrim was a sweetheart, and he makes a mighty fine rum punch. The wine selection was very good - I tend to be kind of snobby about wine, and I was very happy with the choices. Breakfasts were excellent - the fruit was so sweet, the juices so yummy, and the St. Lucian gets our vote for the best breakfast on the menu.

We stayed in Ro Ro, which was a wonderful cottage with a great view and an excellent plunge pool. We used the plunge pool every day. It was a more expensive way to go, but we really enjoyed it.

The cottages are very private, but it's really nice how you feel like you're in a little community while you're there. We met many really nice and interesting people.

After some contemplation, we decided against doing many of the excursions, although we did go to the Fish Fry on Friday, and the Sunset sail on Saturday. Both were worth it. It was a nice way to end the vacation, as we left that Sunday afternoon.

We will return to Ti Kaye - it's a special place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Skaralyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Cochon
7.3 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
963 reviews
22.4 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
757 reviews
9.2 km away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,199 reviews
11.1 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
5.5 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ti Kaye Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ti Kaye Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box GM 669, Anse Cochon, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Anse la Raye Quarter > Anse Cochon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Cochon
Price Range: $403 - $867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ti Kaye Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Anse Cochon Bay Ti Kaye Resort & Spa is located on the serene West Coast and is simply known as Ti Kaye, (which means small house in the native creole patois language of Saint Lucia). With only 33 rooms, 2 bars & restaurants, the Kai Koko Spa and a 600+ bin 'Wine Kave' there is no better place for romantic relaxation - combined with some of the best snorkeling and diving to be found anywhere on Saint Lucia right off the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ti Kaye Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ti Kaye Village Hotel Castries
Ti Kaye Village Castries
Ti Kaye Village Resort St Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing