We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort(Marigot Bay)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Marigot(Marigot Bay)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$578
US$289
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$457/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jade Mountain Resort(Soufriere)
US$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,583)
Filter reviews
1,583 results
Traveller rating
1,169
283
76
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,169
283
76
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishevery nightst luciamarigot baybotanical gardensrented a carlaid backpiton beermangocaribbean seapublic beachrainy seasonexplore the islandgros pitonanse le rayenatural beautyplunge pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,280 - 1,285 of 1,583 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2007

After our 11 night stay it was like leaving friends behind especially because all the main members of staff remembered our names

We stayed here because of the price. The hotel hadn't jumped on the bandwagon and increased rates due to the Cricket World Cup. Whilst staying at the hotel we saw the England group stage games and the hotel were excellent arranging transportation to and from the hotel to Rodney Bay by boat. Water taxis are readily available and can be booked direct by the hotel. We made friends with Captain Alex and booked a lot of our other trips directly with him.

The rooms are large and when all the shutters are open, the cooling breeze airs the room beautifully. Fancy chilling out with a book? - just laze in either the rocking chairs or hammock on the balcony, perhaps sneaking a look at the view. Mosquito protection comes from candles, body and room sprays and are provided complimentary for evening comfort.

The downside of the hotel is the 166 steps to the beach but to be honest having the Beach Bar at the bottom does soften the blow.

The last few miles by road into the hotel resort can be bumpy but there are people on the case - the future should see a smoother ride. Most of our trips were done by boat just because it was a break from the norm.

The resorts webpage is a little lacking in terms of detail - there are things that really should be advertised, things that really would tip the balance in choosing between resorts in St. Lucia.

All in all, our time at Ti Kaye was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone, except the younger, more energetic (night clubbing) type of traveller. It really is a place where you can be as private as your want. There is just about sufficent variation in terms of resturants nearby to keep things interesting - the Rainforest Hide Away being the best.

Stay at Ti Kaye and I'm sure you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AnotherRumPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

My wife and I stayed at Ti Kaye for 10 nights ending March 7, 2007, and we very much enjoyed our stay. Ti Kaye perfectly met our expectations and fulfilled our need for relaxation and peace. (As a bit of background, we are American and experienced island travelers, having visited more than 15 different islands over more than 20 trips over the past 25 years. We've stayed in several different types of accommodations, ranging from private villas to guest houses to small hotels to large all-inclusives.)

Ti Kaye really is as good as the majority of the reviews on TripAdvisor report. So rather than give you a full review, I'll comment on just a few specific things:

1) This is not a fancy or opulent place. It is simple, low-key, and understated (the rooms may even be called downright spartan). It delivers by whispering, not shouting. Ti Kaye’s charm and overall excellence flow from its genuine hospitality, relaxed attitude, and lush surroundings.

2) Yes, many (not all) staff do remember your names after a day or so and address you by name thereafter. While I must admit that a part of me views this is a bit of a "gimmick", it is very powerful and really enhances the service and hospitality. After a few days, we felt like part of an extended family. And no, we did not tip exorbitantly (but we did tip fairly....typically an additional 10%).

3) We rented a car for two days, and in hindsight, would not do so again. Ti Kaye is a bit remote; the nearest other restaurants or "attractions" are a half-hour drive away, and many are an hour or more drive (via very hilly and windy roads, and yes, the final road to the resort is quite bad). Given this, we did only one trip per day; the first day we drove to Anse Chastenet for lunch and snorkeling, and the second day we drove to Marigot Bay for dinner. At the two-day rental of US$170, this was US$85 for each of these trips. A taxi would've been cheaper and less stressful. Of course, you may drive more frequently or for longer periods each day, so a car may be suitable for you.

4) To address a few negatives from some past reviews here:

a) Slow or confusing service at meal times: We found the service to be consistently excellent and crisp, even by non-"island-time" standards. Not once over the course of ten days and 20+ meals did we wait or become anxious. Staff was always available, often with nothing more than a glance in their direction, to assist.

b) Kitchen running out of food later in the evening: We ate late every night (only once before 8:00pm), and we never experienced a shortage, except for desserts.

c) Bugs in rooms: We had no problem at all.

Outside of my above comments, we agree generally on the overwhelming number of positive reports on this site. Is Ti Kaye perfect? Of course not; nothing is, but if you're looking for quiet relaxation, gracious hospitality, and even a bit of romance, in a casual and lush surrounding, then it's perfect for you.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vicnroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

My wife and I were looking for something quiet and off the beaten track on our first trip to the Caribbean. We also like good food and one of us is a diver/snorkeler.

St Lucia is of course very lush and green, though note that there is little of historic interet to see and the island is not hugely developed (at least around the middle and the south).

Ti Kaye was recommended to us by our travel agent and has a lot of pluses.

1. Certainly off the beaten track. Long, very poor road to resort
2. The welcome and the service are extremely warm and friendly. Excellent staff all round. Attentive but not too much so - and always smiling. Nothing is a problem
3. The individual cottages (with view of sea) are clean, simple and very pleasant, complete with outside showers, hammock and rocking chairs). They have aircon, but you don't need it in March
4. The views and the location are spectacular
5. The diving is fun and the snorkeling is perfectly acceptable (but don't expect Red Sea/Indian Ocean variety). The sea is also clean and crystal clear.

BUT

6. We were not warned that the beach is invaded more or less daily by hordes of trippers off the cruise ships who come to Ti Kaye (by sea) to snorkel. There were 5 large boats in the little bay at one stage. To avoid this, keep off the beach between 10.30 and 15.30!
7. The food, though heavily pushed in Ti Kaye's literature is at best average, particularly if you are used to city restaurant standards. Apparently, the chef from Sandy Lane that they mention is now only an advisor. For a night out, try the Rainforest Hideaway, 20 minutes by taxi to Marigot Bay. We found little else of quality nearby....
8. The clientele is fairly heterogenous. Wedding parties (3 in our stay), honeymoon couples, couples - more young than old (and largely American at this time of year). Not good for children or the elderly.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank sbwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2007

My husband and I stayed at Ti Kaye for 8 days in late February '07, and we were already talking about going back before the wheels of our airplane touched down on the frozen ground of Northern Ohio. I planned the trip based on a lot of online research, with TripAdvisor being extremely helpful.

We're both outdoor types - we have a weekend cabin surrounded by state forest so we can get out into nature. So we were really looking for something like that, only tropical. I have to say, Ti Kaye exceeded our expectations. Amazingly beautiful, lush grounds. Bougainvillea everywhere on the property in purples and pinks and salmon colors. Supersized ferns, and trees and tropical plants I couldn't identify adorned the landscape surrounding the cottages. Sweet little birds visited us on our porch - antillian bullfinches among them - and little lizards scampered about (yes, both made visits inside of our cottage from time to time). We also had many visits from Zeniada doves - their cooing was very relaxing as we sat in our rocking chairs on the porch sipping our wine and Pitons.

We never used the air conditioner, preferring to keep the french doors and shutters open until bedtime to let the ocean breeze flows through the room, and welcoming in the sounds of the jungle.

The sun set at 6:05, and the sounds of the many birds were displaced by the sounds of tree frogs and crickets at 6:35 on the dot every night. This night song lasted all night - what a wonderful way to drift off to sleep.

We went for the relaxation, to soak in the sun, and swimming - and Ti Kaye was the perfect place to experience all three. The beach was really wonderful, and the water was wonderfully warm. We had a few days with a pretty good surf (Paul, the chef told us this was unusual for Anse Cochon), but we loved the body surfing. The other days the water was calm and extremely clear. George and Terry were great. We'd bring down our towels and some reading material, they'd get us chairs and umbrellas, and we never had to get up again unless we wanted to swim. They'd bring us tropical smoothies, Pitons, rum punches - whatever we wanted.

Food + Drink - Paul knows how to create some pretty wonderful meals. We loved how he prepared the many fish entrees we ate, and the appetizers were delish as well. Pilgrim was a sweetheart, and he makes a mighty fine rum punch. The wine selection was very good - I tend to be kind of snobby about wine, and I was very happy with the choices. Breakfasts were excellent - the fruit was so sweet, the juices so yummy, and the St. Lucian gets our vote for the best breakfast on the menu.

We stayed in Ro Ro, which was a wonderful cottage with a great view and an excellent plunge pool. We used the plunge pool every day. It was a more expensive way to go, but we really enjoyed it.

The cottages are very private, but it's really nice how you feel like you're in a little community while you're there. We met many really nice and interesting people.

After some contemplation, we decided against doing many of the excursions, although we did go to the Fish Fry on Friday, and the Sunset sail on Saturday. Both were worth it. It was a nice way to end the vacation, as we left that Sunday afternoon.

We will return to Ti Kaye - it's a special place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Skaralyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

Ti Kaye is an absolute jem, the perfect remote beach hideaway. We needed a break away from our modern hectic lives - we found paradise. What makes it is the staff. They are fantastic and make a beautiful holiday into something extra special. (More on them later)

Quick word before I describe our incredible holiday - I feel I need to put this matter straight for anyone considering Ti Kaye or anyone concerned if they have just booked.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but I have to strongly disagree with virtually every syllable of a recent review. If you do your research, you will no exactly what to expect from Ti Kaye - more importantly your expectations will be blown away! Please don’t go if you want disco till 4am and mediocre all inclusive fare, I guess some do...

The resort is approx 1.5 hours drive from the airport in the South of the island. Note: Be prepared for a bit of a wait in the customs area before you get through. Just one of those things...

Ti Kaye gives you the option to book transfers. We had a great driver, Claudius, who gave us an expert guide as we snaked around the island roads and got a good feel for what St. Lucia is about. The roads are windy and steep in places, the last mile into Ti Kaye, as has been reported before, is interesting. To be fair they are working on improving both this and a number of other roads on the island.

Our first impression as we arrived was a warm friendly smile from Kenny and a welcome cocktail from the one and only 'Pilgrim' - that man makes a mean rum punch and can also dance, but that’s another story...

The first room we stayed in was O-swea. This was only a standard duplex room but it was lovely. Everything worked fine; there was no TV - who needs it on vacation when you want to get away from everyday life? Great view and all the space you needed.

We were upgraded for the last 3 days to Ro-Ro. This was a fantastic cottage on its own with a plunge pool. We especially enjoyed sipping champagne in there after a hard days swimming and sun-bathing on the beach...

The food is very good. We eat a lot of fine fish and steak. It pays to make your table time reservations as soon as possible, especially if you want to request a special meal on the balcony.

The wine list is excellent, expertly picked by Cleus. He is a great guy. This has also been mentioned before but the attention to detail at Ti Kaye for customer service is over and above many quality 5 star hotels we've stayed at before. The personal touches matter, a number of the staff knew our names within 24 hours of arriving. Some had only seen us once, before we were on first name terms.

All the staff have a great attitude, a few that we were lucky enough to strike up a friendship with included Theresa (knows lots about cricket....), Lita, Jessica, always laughing, and Miss Smiles - The beautiful Dina.

The beach was just what we hoped it would be, I’m always sceptical of reality compared to glossy promotional photo's but this time the website does it justice. Lots of steps, a great workout running back up in the midday heat when your dearly beloved has forgotten her sun glasses but not that bad really.

The beach is clean and the Carib sea is clear and warm. It has the best snorkelling on the island, we certainly felt privileged having it as our own instead of having to take a special boat trip just to get a chance.

The beach dudes were quality. Terry and George looked after us and ensured refreshing coconut smoothies and ice cold Piton beers were delivered just when needed.

We came primarily to kick back and relax. This is the place to do this. We did do a couple of excursions though, the fish fry and the sunset cruise.

The fish fry is fun; you go to the nearby village of Anse la ray and try the local fare. A number of the Ti Kaye staff live here and we met and danced with them as the party livened up. It is well worth going and it supports the local community.

The sunset cruise is a good way to spend a couple of hours out at sea watching the sun go down and giving a greater perspective of the beauty of the island. We were also lucky enough to experience a rainbow as it developed from the backdrop of the green lush mountains in the distance.

We also eat out at the Rainforest Hideaway in Marigot Bay, a great restaurant on the waterfront about 30 minutes taxi from Ti Kaye. The food is special.

I'd recommend the massage, we found it thoroughly relaxing. They do it on your balcony, so to sounds of birdsong and the waves we drifted off into a state of peaceful bliss.

Overall - Ti Kaye is a perfect place to unwind, relax and totally forget about your everyday life. The setting is stunning, but what makes it are the people who work there. They made this holiday into a unique experience.

I have vowed before to go everywhere once only, I’ll be changing that vowel now. Looking forward to going back next year!!

Stayed: March 2007
14  Thank Trickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews